We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Ionia hotels

American Inn & Suites Ionia

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   423 Brown Blvd, Ionia, MI 48846 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Hotel amenities
American Inn & Suites Ionia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added American Inn & Suites Ionia to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ionia
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Becky G Lansing, Michigan
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
9
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We celebrated our 34th anniversary on Nov. 1, 2014 and chose the American Inn and Suites in Ionia, Mich. to stay the night. It was a most pleasant experience. We had a nice suite with the Jacuzzi. VERY NICE and refreshing. The staff was very nice and accommodating and the room was very clean. A nice restaurant was right on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saranac, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My trip sucked we talked to the manager about a pool party several weeks ahead of time. We got there to check in and the pool was out of order.They new we are coming but failed to notify us. We had several guests coming. We had to try to find a last minute place with a pool near by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ionia, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

we stayed at the motel for 3 1/2 months because of a house fire. when we arrived the staff was very friendly & bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable. rooms were clean, roomy, and the bed was very comfortable. no backaches the whole time!!! we took advantage of the pool & hot tub...nice! the ionia free fair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We had a Jacuzzi room. (rm #127) The room itself was near spotless, the Jacuzzi was as clean as I have ever seen one (we usually always gt a Jacuzzi room when we travel). a couple things I would change, the room carpet ran right up to the edge of the Jacuzzi, there should be tiles that there because the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. They are pet friendly and there is a field next to the hotel to exercise your dog. There is a good restaurant just across the parking lot. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Recently returned to Ionia for a class reunion. Hotels are very limited in Ionia. American Inn is best choice. The staff was friendly. Generally the hotel and room were clean. We paid extra for a "whirlpool" room. Not worth the extra $$ The pool area was pleasant as was the outside patio. The whirlpool in the pool area is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here while going to the Ionia Free Fair, and it's the perfect location - a two minute walk to the fairgrounds. The hotel itself was decent overall. It's a pretty basic, no frills place, but it's clean with a polite staff and an excellent value for the price. The breakfast was also decent, but nothing extravagant: waffles, cereal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

this was one of the worst hotels i've ever stayed in. Its worst than most motels. A/C did not work and they would not give us another room. Also, the "owner" had my son change a light in the pool. Which was very dangerous since he is only 11. Never will recommend this hotel to my worse enemy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear of your experience at our property. Please be aware what you experienced is not normal operational procedures. I was made aware of the A/C not working in your room and maintenance was sent to your room immediately. When the A/C was not made operable, it was explained to you. We were unable to transfer... More 

Lapeer
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel I have stayed in ever. The carpet was dirty and buckled up, the towels were torn up and we were limited in the number of towels. The fitted sheets didn't fit and crept up throughout the night, I spent the first hour of my stay looking for the dead animal in my room because the smell was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for your experience at our hotel. I would also like to apologize for my staff. A guest should never feel they are restricted in amenities ever. We actually encourage our guest to contact the front desk with any requests or comments and require our staff to full fill those requests within our means and to... More 

Corpus Christi, Texas, Usa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The lobby and pool looked very nice. That's where it ended. I read some of the reviews from 2 and 4 years ago and at least in the room we stayed in, nothing has changed. The carpet was buckled, sheets and towels so thin you could almost see through them and the fitted sheet was so worn it crept up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to American Inn & Suites Ionia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn & Suites Ionia

Address: 423 Brown Blvd, Ionia, MI 48846 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Ionia County > Ionia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn & Suites Ionia 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your American Inn & Suites Ionia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay