We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Ionia hotels

American Inn & Suites Ionia

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   423 Brown Blvd, Ionia, MI 48846 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Hotel amenities
American Inn & Suites Ionia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added American Inn & Suites Ionia to your Saves list
57%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ionia
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014
barongsd Detroit, Michigan
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
7
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We had a Jacuzzi room. (rm #127) The room itself was near spotless, the Jacuzzi was as clean as I have ever seen one (we usually always gt a Jacuzzi room when we travel). a couple things I would change, the room carpet ran right up to the edge of the Jacuzzi, there should be tiles that there because the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. They are pet friendly and there is a field next to the hotel to exercise your dog. There is a good restaurant just across the parking lot. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Recently returned to Ionia for a class reunion. Hotels are very limited in Ionia. American Inn is best choice. The staff was friendly. Generally the hotel and room were clean. We paid extra for a "whirlpool" room. Not worth the extra $$ The pool area was pleasant as was the outside patio. The whirlpool in the pool area is in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here while going to the Ionia Free Fair, and it's the perfect location - a two minute walk to the fairgrounds. The hotel itself was decent overall. It's a pretty basic, no frills place, but it's clean with a polite staff and an excellent value for the price. The breakfast was also decent, but nothing extravagant: waffles, cereal,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

this was one of the worst hotels i've ever stayed in. Its worst than most motels. A/C did not work and they would not give us another room. Also, the "owner" had my son change a light in the pool. Which was very dangerous since he is only 11. Never will recommend this hotel to my worse enemy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear of your experience at our property. Please be aware what you experienced is not normal operational procedures. I was made aware of the A/C not working in your room and maintenance was sent to your room immediately. When the A/C was not made operable, it was explained to you. We were unable to transfer... More

Lapeer
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel I have stayed in ever. The carpet was dirty and buckled up, the towels were torn up and we were limited in the number of towels. The fitted sheets didn't fit and crept up throughout the night, I spent the first hour of my stay looking for the dead animal in my room because the smell was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
americanmgmt, Manager at American Inn & Suites Ionia, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for your experience at our hotel. I would also like to apologize for my staff. A guest should never feel they are restricted in amenities ever. We actually encourage our guest to contact the front desk with any requests or comments and require our staff to full fill those requests within our means and to... More

Corpus Christi, Texas, Usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The lobby and pool looked very nice. That's where it ended. I read some of the reviews from 2 and 4 years ago and at least in the room we stayed in, nothing has changed. The carpet was buckled, sheets and towels so thin you could almost see through them and the fitted sheet was so worn it crept up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Byron Center, Michigan
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here and are very happy with the establishment. The rooms have all been upgraded with new carpet and furniture. They rooms are very clean and the beds are quite comfortable. The Owner and staff have always treated us with respect and were happy to help if we ever had a issue. I would recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I come here all the time. We come here so much the manager basically treats us like celebrities lol it's great. We come here because it's a nice location with an Oliveras right next door and there is also a movie theatre and other places. We come here for the nice clean pool, nice clean hot tub,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Exceptional front desk staff. Clean comfortable rooms. Next time we shall book a suite and stay longer than one night. The children really enjoyed the pool. I enjoyed the deck area outside just off pool area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to American Inn & Suites Ionia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn & Suites Ionia

Address: 423 Brown Blvd, Ionia, MI 48846 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Ionia County > Ionia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn & Suites Ionia 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your American Inn & Suites Ionia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay