We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Houghton Lake hotels

Comfort Suites Lakeside

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Clearview Drive, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Lakeside to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Lakeside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
41%
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Houghton Lake
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Rieba Michigan
  • Overview
  • Reviews (124)
  • Photos (23)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    17
    17
    40
See reviews for
56
21
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Pros: Great views of the water Pools, spa, and body slide Breakfast is served every morning eggs, sausage patties, waffles, and the norm. The Cons: Rooms are shabby- carpet has been patched, they still have old wall a/c units ( ours happened to be less than one foot away from the bed) - I had to nudge my husband... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We apologize for the issues that occurred during your stay. All departments have been notified of these issues and we are taking actions to correct all of them. We will be using this feedback for training purposes to better serve our current and future guests. We do hope to see you again.... More

Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok, there are not many hotels in the area and we needed a place to stay. Rate was $149. per night. It is on the water with a beach, has a inside water slide/pool/sauna, free breakfast. I saw some jet skis docked in the water, I think guests bring them. TV was old, but place was clean, free hot breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the lakeside room! We do hope to see you again soon! Thank you More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a two room suit over looking the water for one night. Some of the reviews I read made me a little nervous. We travel often and are a custom to hotels that have a certain quality and cleanliness to them. The older reviews brought these issues up more than a couple times. However, we found our room to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again soon. Thank You More

Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
89 hotel reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our third stay at this hotel & it is always very clean and it is right on the lake with a large dock to tie up a boat. It is also pet-friendly. It has a small water park which we've always skipped as we don't have children traveling with us. The hotel is probably the best in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Houghton Lake. We are glad to hear that this was your third time back! We would like to apologize for the issues you did encounter in the restaurant. The information you have provided will be brought to the attention of the Management in the restaurant. We do... More

Fenton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a nice clean typical tourist hotel. The rooms are a very nice size. Larger than expected. A few things were wrong with our room. But were taken care of quickly. The fridge was not working when we checked in. And the air conditioning wasn't cooling. This hotel is lake front but does not have a beach It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Houghton Lake we do appreciate all feedback. We are glad that the issues you did encounter in your room were taken care of quickly and you were able to enjoy the room. We hope to see again in the future! Thank You Jennifer More

Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Firstly, I have to say I am VERY picky about where I stay. I generally opt for Marriott/Sheraton types, but obviously that isn't a choice in the great north. My parents booked two rooms in May for July 3-5 and I was nervous because from what I understand, this hotel is in receivership/bankruptcy (or is for sale or something to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brooklynn B, Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with your bill, this will be brought to the attention of the front desk staff. We are glad you did enjoy your suite! We are currently in the stages of revamping our property in hopes... More

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just stayed for 4th of July holiday weekend, overall not a "bad" place..it was nice having different things to do under 1 roof (water park, arcade, restaurant,etc) However don't be in a hurry if you eat at it. The workers seemed stressed and it really wasn't that busy. Then our room cleaning consisted of trash being pulled and a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

We would first like to thank you for reviewing your stay with us over the Holiday weekend. Secondly we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. All the issues that were mentioned in this review will be brought to each departments attention. We do hope that you would consider staying with us in the future! Thank You! More

Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Gosh, we were so excited about staying here last month . . It looks nice, doesn't it? Reminds me of a resort! Unfortunately, the view may be great, but the stay wasn't. Our first clue was walking in the room and seeing a big old television set sitting there. These days -- that's a red alert. On closer inspection, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

We would like to apologize for the issues that were mentioned during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding the issues so they can be addressed with the correct departments with in the hotel. This will provide a learning tool for all; as we are always striving to meet and exceed our... More

Muskogee
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed here first week in May. Traveled from Oklahoma, drove straight through arrived after 10:00pm. The bedding smelled soo bad. We called down to the front desk and they had no one to make up the bed. But if we wanted we could come get some clean bedding and make the room ourselves. We did because we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

We would like to apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations during your stay with us at the beginning of May. All of the issues that you endured will be brought to the attention of our entire staff in all departments. We will take the information that you have brought to light and use this a guide to further... More

Homer, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Called in October 13 for a group of 8 rooms (33 people 17 children and 16 adults) for February 14. We were very specific about being TOGETHER in a block. Also was specific about needing a meeting room. Manager acted like it was no problem and was reassuring about the availability of the block a meeting room. Upon arrival (same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Comfort Suites Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Suites Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Lakeside

Address: 100 Clearview Drive, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Lakeside 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Lakeside Hotel Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Comfort Suites

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Houghton Lake with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a full service resort located on beautiful Houghton Lake. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
29

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Suites Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer