We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Houghton Lake hotels

Comfort Suites Lakeside

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Clearview Drive, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Suites Lakeside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Lakeside to your Saves list
41%
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Houghton Lake
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
keeruss Byron, Michigan
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    17
    18
    40
See reviews for
56
22
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Byron, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice hotel, clean, friendly staff and a really nice hot breakfast bar. I was here for work for three days and it was very enjoyable. There is fresh water in the lobby when you return from working all day and the restaurant has awesome food with a beautiful view from anywhere you sit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goodland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Completely enjoyed the stay here. we had a Jacuzzi room that we had a beautiful view of the lake. the staff was very accommodating. The breakfast in the morning was superb. We are looking forward to our stay there next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was right on the lake, and if you reserve a lakeside room, it is much better than parking lot view. However the first floor rooms are musty and have wet carpet. Rooms were not clean at all, but aside from that, room was spacious and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. The issue of wet carpet and musty smell was brought to the attention of housekeeping. We do hope that you would consider giving us another chance to provide you with exceptional service and amenities. Thank... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Pros: Great views of the water Pools, spa, and body slide Breakfast is served every morning eggs, sausage patties, waffles, and the norm. The Cons: Rooms are shabby- carpet has been patched, they still have old wall a/c units ( ours happened to be less than one foot away from the bed) - I had to nudge my husband... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We apologize for the issues that occurred during your stay. All departments have been notified of these issues and we are taking actions to correct all of them. We will be using this feedback for training purposes to better serve our current and future guests. We do hope to see you again.... More

Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Ok, there are not many hotels in the area and we needed a place to stay. Rate was $149. per night. It is on the water with a beach, has a inside water slide/pool/sauna, free breakfast. I saw some jet skis docked in the water, I think guests bring them. TV was old, but place was clean, free hot breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the lakeside room! We do hope to see you again soon! Thank you More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked a two room suit over looking the water for one night. Some of the reviews I read made me a little nervous. We travel often and are a custom to hotels that have a certain quality and cleanliness to them. The older reviews brought these issues up more than a couple times. However, we found our room to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again soon. Thank You More

Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
89 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is our third stay at this hotel & it is always very clean and it is right on the lake with a large dock to tie up a boat. It is also pet-friendly. It has a small water park which we've always skipped as we don't have children traveling with us. The hotel is probably the best in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Houghton Lake. We are glad to hear that this was your third time back! We would like to apologize for the issues you did encounter in the restaurant. The information you have provided will be brought to the attention of the Management in the restaurant. We do... More

Fenton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is a nice clean typical tourist hotel. The rooms are a very nice size. Larger than expected. A few things were wrong with our room. But were taken care of quickly. The fridge was not working when we checked in. And the air conditioning wasn't cooling. This hotel is lake front but does not have a beach It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Houghton Lake we do appreciate all feedback. We are glad that the issues you did encounter in your room were taken care of quickly and you were able to enjoy the room. We hope to see again in the future! Thank You Jennifer More

Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Firstly, I have to say I am VERY picky about where I stay. I generally opt for Marriott/Sheraton types, but obviously that isn't a choice in the great north. My parents booked two rooms in May for July 3-5 and I was nervous because from what I understand, this hotel is in receivership/bankruptcy (or is for sale or something to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brooklynn B, Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with your bill, this will be brought to the attention of the front desk staff. We are glad you did enjoy your suite! We are currently in the stages of revamping our property in hopes... More

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just stayed for 4th of July holiday weekend, overall not a "bad" place..it was nice having different things to do under 1 roof (water park, arcade, restaurant,etc) However don't be in a hurry if you eat at it. The workers seemed stressed and it really wasn't that busy. Then our room cleaning consisted of trash being pulled and a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklynn B, Manager at Comfort Suites Lakeside, responded to this review

We would first like to thank you for reviewing your stay with us over the Holiday weekend. Secondly we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. All the issues that were mentioned in this review will be brought to each departments attention. We do hope that you would consider staying with us in the future! Thank You! More

Do you own or manage Comfort Suites Lakeside?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Suites Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Lakeside

Address: 100 Clearview Drive, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Lakeside Hotel Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Comfort Suites

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Comfort Suites Lakeside