We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
4990 W Houghton Lake Drive, Houghton Lake, MI 48629
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
Add Photo

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    29
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
46
29
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Dearborn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The location is great ... everything faces right onto a private beach on Houghton Lake. The room was very good sized, the bed was comfortable. I took my wheel-chair bound father there for his 88th birthday. They have ADA compliant rooms and bathrooms, including some with roll-in showers. The staff was very, very friendly and very helpful. The continental breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Reading past reviews on Trip Advisor led me to this location, so it only seemed fit that I continue with the others in saying, that this hotel is by-far the very best hotel in Houghton Lake, Michigan. After checking into the Beachfront Hotel on June 20th, my husband and I experienced the fastest, smoothest hotel registration ever! The checkin lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We needed a place to stay for one night, due to attending a family memorial service. What a great place to stay! We were greeted upon arrival by an extremely friendly and helpful front desk woman. We were early and needed to get in the room to freshen up before the service. She accomodated us by letting us have an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly :-) however, once we checked in then went down to the beach an employee came out and told us the owner was complaining about us having our dog on the beach :-( So yes, she got to go, but no, she didn't get to play in the water. Needless to say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beachfronthoughton, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Beachfront Hotel for your night away in Houghton Lake. While we are all pet owners/lovers at the Beachfront Hotel, we are required to make sure our pet policy is followed to ensure the safety of all our guests. We are not able to allow pets on the beach specifically because we want to ensure our... More 

Leelanau County, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stopped here during the week prior to Memorial Day weekend. My fear was that I would not find an available room. I was wrong. Several rooms were able. And what a gem of a hotel. It may not look like much from the street, but that is where the surprises begin. I got a room with a beautiful view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

We traveled from Fenton, Mi. ( Abt 2.5 hours from Silver Lake to Houghton Lake)..My wife and I were greeted by Samantha (my wife has a knack for remembering names)..As we arrived at the hotel on empty (our car and our energy level) we were greeted in the parking lot by an employee in uniform with a smile (we travel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased to know you were happy with your decision to stay with us, but even more excited to have you return during your next trip to see your family. Also thank you very much for the heartwarming personal mention, like your... More 

Rockford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We arrived early and were instantly told our room was not ready, which was fine, just kinda rude of the person behind the counter. Room was great, 4th floor, facing parking lot with balcony. Hot tub was nice, plenty of hot water!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Beachfront Hotel for your Valentine's Day getaway. While we strive to allow guests to check into their rooms early if they are available, there are some instances when this exception can not be offered prior to our guaranteed check in. We do greatly appreciate your patience and understanding of this... More 

Redford mi.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Nice,clean, quite place to stay. Would like to return during boating season as hotel has own dock & there is a boat launch down the street. Worth dragging a boat up to on our next fall color/lighthouse cruise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us. We are glad you were pleased with your visit and do hope that you decide to return with your boat. Our 14-section private dock provides plenty of space for boat parking and with our covered bbq area and beach bonfires, we are sure you will love your return this... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Stayed here while visiting friends, although off-season it was extremely quiet. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Views of Houghton Lake were very nice. Pool area was kept up well. Standard Continental breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting Houghton Lake, and hope to see you again in the future. Thanks for the new posted pics too! More 

Prudenville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We checked into a jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi tub is small and the toilet is right on top of it! There's NO privacy between them..We were not in the room but ten minutes. We asked to get our money back politely to a woman and said it wasn't going to work for us. She called Melissa over who checked us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I do greatly apologize for your stay not being as great as you would have expected it to have been. While I do understand your disappointment in the decision my staff member was required to make, hotel policy was expected to be followed in this situation. Had your room preference... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay