We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    46
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
27
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Marquette
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at 5 pm, no air was on. Turned air on to 60. At midnight called front desk, hot in room, told they would check into it and call me back. No call received. Still hot in room at 1 pm. Still no call back, hot in room, cannot sleep. I stay at Holiday Inn whenever possible, but am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can... More 

Lowell, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice, the staff was so helpful . We had a very clean room the staff was helpfull and friendly made our stay very nice we sWAM IN THE POOL WE USED THE CONFERENCE ROOM TO MEET FAMILY AND TO MAKE PREPARATIONS FOR MY SON'S WEDDING

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Mary, Wow! It sounds like you had a blast here with us. Congratulations on your Son's recent marriage! Thank you for the fantastic review, we appreciate you! See you again soon! Warmest Regards, More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a nice Hotel and the staff were very friendly. It was outside the city but very easy to get into town. There were not any restaurants near the hotel you have to go into town for that and the town was pretty much closed by 6:00pm

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Jeannie, Thank you for the fabulous review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to see you again very soon! Warmest Regards, More 

Fennville, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Things happen in life. Sometimes the best gauge of a hotel is how they respond when things don't go perfectly. During our two night stay, there was an issue with several of the rooms card keys. The front desk lady named Mimi handled things very promptly and efficiently, with a smile and professionalism. Later, at the very end of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello TommyHug, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing and personable review. It is reviews like this that make my job so much better! I will pass along your praises to the staff members you mentioned. We truly never know what will happen in life; but with a great team and fantastic guests like... More 

Clawson, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed this past week and found staff to be very helpful. Made no reservations and was able to book a room for the first night. I decided I would extend my stay there and the staff was able to move things around so that I could stay additional 2 nights in the same room. The area has a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hi Marian P, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy to hear your children were able to enjoy our pool area! Thank you for informing me of the issue you had in our hallway with the construction workers, I will make note of that for the future. I hope you choose to come back and... More 

Lansing, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Day 1 Upon checking in late Sunday evening after an eight hour drive I immediately unpacked, set up my electronics, and then went for a shower. As I looked up from spreading out the bath mat I was greeted with several long strands of dark hair, think shoulder length on an adult, both on the wall of the shower and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Devin, I am so disappointed to hear that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. I am very sorry for the housekeeping discrepancies and the way it may have inconvenienced you during your stay. I will be taking immediate action! I guarantee this will never be an issue at our property ever again. I wholeheartedly appreciate your feedback, if you... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We stayed here two nights on vacation. It was a stopping point for our visit to Houghton and Copper Harbor. Conveniently located near businesses and the Hwy, but far enough away to avoid road noise or distractions. We found the hotel to be new, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and breakfast well stocked. I would certainly stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello, What a great review, thank you for taking the time to share. It sounds like you had a fabulous time here on the Keweenaw Peninsula. We cannot wait for your next adventure, hope to see you soon! Warmest Regards, More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

$120 a night for a Holiday Inn Express is a bit much given the rural location. Room was clean but had a slight dingy odor. Receptionist was very friendly and the lobby looked clean and new. I would stay again, but $120 is the upper limit I'd pay for this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Dear Patrick9063, I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to read that you have regarded our rooms and lobby to be clean and new and our reception staff to be friendly. On the other hand, I am disappointed to read that issues regarding the smell in your room and... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Were there just one night looking at the University for our son. We arrived late and the hotel desk was friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub which were both outstanding, clean and well kept. Our room was great, clean and modern. The included breakfast buffet in the morning was great and had choices for everyone.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Bob B, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our many amenities, fantastic! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us in Houghton. Please, come back and see us again soon. Warmest Regards, More 

michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

This hotel was remodeled recently and is very comfortable and updated. The receptionist gave us recommendations of where to eat and was very pleasant. I would most definitely stay here again when in the area. (There is a Culver's just across the parking lot, too.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello rockinrobbins, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. We absolutely adore having you here with us! We hope to see you very soon. Have a fantastic rest of your week, talk to you soon! Warmest Regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Franklin Square Inn
Franklin Square Inn
#5 of 7 in Houghton
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Houghton
Travelodge Houghton
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
24.2 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay