We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Grand Rapids hotels

Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
77%
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
InternationalTr0tter Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    93
    26
    14
    8
See reviews for
26
53
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Courtyard for two nights for a business trip. I normally stay at the Prince Conference Center; however, I had an event downtown to attend and figured I would try this place at. The rooms were very very nice; however, I woke up a few times in the night to a baby crying and someone's alarm going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott Team, I would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent visit as well as thank you for your valuable feedback! I am happy to hear that you decided to try our Downtown location, however, am disappointed that it did not live up to your expectations.... More

Indiana
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
33 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'm a Marriott junkie, so a Courtyard is a Courtyard is a Courtyard. The rooms at this one were a little older, but still very nice. No view from my window, but I didn't really care. Had an issue with my TV and they promptly sent someone up to fix it. They were almost to capacity because of some concert,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Courtney, On behalf of the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott Team, I thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay! We are delighted to hear that you were able to rest peacefully and receive a quick response time in regards to your television issues! We hope to see you again soon and should you decide to visit Grand... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a great stay! The staff was so helpful and kind. The in hotel restaurant was delicious! (We were very excited it included a Starbucks!) The room was clean and quite lovely - nicely decorated. We were able to utilize the tunnel to walk to DeVos for an event which was awesome to not have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our stellar staff and beautiful guest rooms! I am happy to hear that you were able to utilize our skywalk and could not agree with you more in regards to our Bistro, as Starbucks is a must each morning! We now have our Pumpkin Spice Latte available, which you... More

Mahwah NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Marriott is smaller in options offered than the JW Marriott a couple of blocks away. But you know, that didn't bother us. The service I believe makes the place shine. We were visiting our daughter and needed a place to stay. The Courtyard was in the middle of everything in Grand Rapids....walking to different sites was no problem. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear CityRobin, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Grand Rapids and all it has to offer! We recently were named Beer City, USA for the second year in a row and always try to place the latest craft beers on tap within our Bistro, to accommodate all guests taste! The breakfast package is an excellent option for guests... More

Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last weekend for our anniversary trip to Grand Rapids and it was great! Our room was huge and clean with a whole wall of windows!!! Very comfortable bed. The staff gave a us hand written card for our anniversary along with 2 entrees and drinks! It was so nice and unexpected! We used the pool and gym... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Christine L., On behalf of our entire team, I could not be happier to hear that your stay with us was a superior one! It sounds as though your Anniversary getaway was a success and I am honored that you chose our city as your destination. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service we provide for our... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was dirty. Mold in bathroom shower. Maid didn't even clean out the fridge from probably 3-5 weeks prior when some guest left a "leftover" sandwich in it that had literally turned into a "science project" due to how long it had been there. Worst experience EVER in 35 years of traveling. It's not worth a single star. Stay away!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Carx123, Thank you for staying with us for your visit to the city, and please accept my apologies for your experience. We take your feedback seriously and will use it to continually improve our execution in cleanliness and customer service, as the experience you are describing is far below our standards. Thank you again for choosing us and sharing... More

Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reserving the room on Priceline and it stating the hotel was pet friendly,after checking In and returning from dinner, we were literally accosted in the elevator with the front desk attendant sticking her foot in the door and yelling at us that we have a dog. Our dog is a 4 lb maltese...A big scene was made right there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Barb K, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your visit to Grand Rapids, and I apologize for your disappointment with your experience with us. We strive to have the highest of standards in both service and facilities for our guests, and wish we could have provided you with an outstanding experience. Since it is indeed our... More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Since our favorite hotel, the Amway, was fully booked, we stayed here overnight. It was okay, but no 'wow' factors. The beds were comfy, but I felt short-sheeted. The room was quite warm and the AC was very loud. So loud I hesitated turning the thermostat cooler because it would go on more. We used room service for dinner. That... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for choosing to stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to give us valuable feedback regarding our guest rooms! We are happy to hear you treated yourself to Room Service during your stay, as it is always fun to dine in! We would love to have our Engineering Team look into your... More

Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful weekend in Grand Rapids at the Courtyard. We were greeted at the front desk by a very sweet clerk (I think her name was Jaclyn). Alexis helped to make our anniversary celebration very nice by accommodating our room request. The breakfast was good. The hot tub had way too much chlorine. We loved the hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the entire Courtyard Team, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to the Downtown Grand Rapids area. Thank you as well for taking the time to acknowledge our fantastic team along with our wonderful breakfast offerings. I appreciate your feedback regarding the hot tub area... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great location , great staff , great rooms. Looking for a relaxing and tranquil experience we we headed to the pool area and that's where the disappointment began. When you enter the pool area you'll notice a mismatch of plants between fake plants that they look like they got from a yard sale and live plants that are near death.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carrie S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Tony, On behalf of the Downtown Grand Rapids Courtyard by Marriott Team, I would like to thank you for spending your recent visit to the Grand Rapids area with us. I was delighted to read your kind words regarding our great location, staff and guest rooms! We pride ourselves on not only our level of service and accommodations but... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Grand Rapids with
any amenities