We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2701 East Beltline Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015
shelley s Big Rapids, Michigan
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    76
    107
    78
    38
    35
See reviews for
126
54
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (334)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids
See the most recent reviews
Big Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Stayed for one night and found the room clean and acceptable. Has a full kitchen and a fireplace. You have to get firelogs from the front desk. Would be nice if it was a gas fireplace instead. Bed was very comfortable but pillows were tiny. Make sure if you have issues with stairs to mention that when booking. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Katie H, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Glad to hear you were comfortable with your sta. Unfortunately one downside to having an exterior entrance hotel there aren't any elevators. Sorry to hear there wasn't an alarm clock/radio in your room. I can assure you that all rooms (now) have a clock/radio in the room next to each bed. If you're ever in the Grand Rapids area please... More 

Michigan Center, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Wow - where to start....Poor design for winter travelers, as the 2nd floor room doors are just above the 1st floor, and they use deck boards. As snow melts or use of salt, the water drips into the doorway of the 1st floor. I had 3 inches of ice, in a 3-foot circle of my door. It had been a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie H, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bad experience with us during our last stay. We try our best to keep up with our Michigan winter conditions, since your stay we've updated/remodelled most of our rooms and are still finishing up the rest. If our fireplaces were "gas/electric" then we would state that they are in fact "Gas Fireplaces" or "Electric Fireplaces" we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Grand Rapids hotels

Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

To say the hotel rooms have a draft would be an extreme understatement. The furnace was on the entire time during the visit and the room was still cold throughout.

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie H, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your room was drafty, if the staff was notified of this issue we would have taken care of the situation right away. Best Regards, Katie More 

Mt. Pleasant, MI
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Room was reasonably priced and had everything we could ask for. Stocked kitchen and full size fridge were such a bonus!

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Katie H, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review!! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!! Best Regards, Katie-General Manager More 

Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

A litany of hiccups: 1 - floor lamp burned out; requested via phone it be fixed that next morning so it would be done by the time I returned; it was not; was told right away; it was not; I called to request no interruption till the following day; he showed up anyway. I would suggest the front desk follow... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie H, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review

I apologize for the experience you had while staying with us and the miscommunication between co workers that inconvenienced you while you were working. Some times when you place a room key by anything with a magnetic strip it gets demagnetized (i.e. cell phone, credit card, driver's license), we have also replaced the ceiling in the bathroom in 1214. Best... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

This is a belated entry from our trip in 2013 - DO NOT STAY HERE - we were driving in from Chicago and had informed the hotel that day we would be arriving around 11:30PM. We were even pleased to receive a call from the hotel that afternoon confirming our late arrival. But when we arrived, the person handling the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katie H, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience that you had when you tried to stay with us! We are under new management. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our Sister property at Red Roof! If you are ever in the area I hope that you would come visit us again. Best Regards, Katie-General Manager More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This place was in looser terms a whatever place. Housekeeping was invisible the rooms weren't all that clean nor great nor smelling fresh... The staff was very indifferent towards me and at check out I asked if I needed to go to the front desk for anything important or just be able to check out through the phone and she... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie H, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review

I apologize for the experience you receive during your stay! I would like to assure you we are currently under new management and in the process of making our rooms better. I hope that if your ever in the area you will visit us again. Best Regards, Katie-General Manager More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

It was after a heavy snow and the walkway to the room from the parking lot was not cleared. Also, the bed was difficult to get onto for a short person with a cane, but it was a very nice room, good staff. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie H, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you had a hard time getting into the bed. We try to keep up with these Michigan winter conditions the best we can, I apologize for the walkway not being cleared properly. Best Regards, Katie-General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay