We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Grand Rapids hotels

Holiday Inn Express South

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
52%
Ranked #29 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ShannonB1014 South Lyon, Michigan
  • Overview
  • Reviews (105)
  • Photos (54)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    18
    10
    24
See reviews for
57
7
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here for a night on our way to Traverse City and loved it! The employees were very helpful and courteous. All the housekeeping said good morning to us. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The pool and water park was fantastic for my 8 & 10yr old! They didn't want to leave! The lifeguards were not too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unexpectedly we needed a room the night I called the Holiday Inn Express. The lady on the phone said I was in luck (this was 10:30 PM night of) and they had a room left. I grabbed it and arrived around 11 PM. The parking lot was packed so we had to park at the business next door. The man... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll start by saying that there are times in business where things do not go as well as the leadership would hope. This was the case in a previous visit. The difference is in how that leadership responds to the event. Look at the various reviews of ALL hotels on this site, then read the management responses....Most, if not all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The rooms are spacious and moderately clean. Bed comfort is below average - a bit too soft. Lighting is poor in the main foyer area. The fridge and microwave are a bonus. Wifi is above average and the TV has HDMI inputs. Breakfast food is poor, especially the coffee, weak and tepid in temperature. Use the in room coffee maker... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review

Dear m44, Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased with your kind comments regarding our WiFi service and room amenities. It is always our priority to provide comfortable and great experience for our valued guests. It is truly regrettable that we have failed your expectations when it comes to the breakfast served.... More

Bolingbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our teenage son for 2 days. It was a little pricey for overnight stay on a Saturday, price different from Friday stay, we stayed 2 nights. Our son did not use the Waterpark inside the Hotel, it's more for younger kids. My only complaint was to improve their housekeeping like dusting the room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General Manager G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do always appreciate our guests' feedback. I do apologize about the dust in your room, we will alert housekeeping to this issue and make sure it is resolved quickly. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and thank you for complimenting our staff. We hope to see you and your... More

Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were able to check in early (2:30) on a holiday weekend. Hotel was beautiful and room was very clean. Receptionist was friendly too. Water play area was phenomenal! Kids screamed each time we had to leave. The pizzas were delicious (we should have gotten a larger size.) Breakfast was great as well. Best of all the hotel had an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General Manager G, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We do appreciate your feedback and we so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to go above and beyond for all of our guests and we are delightful to hear that your family had a blast. Looking forward to seeing you in... More

Bronson, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed overnight with the kids so they could play in the water park. Sort of late check in time (4 p.m.) but I do understand it was spring break and the room needed time to be cleaned. My issue is, I found long black hairs in our bed and yellow stains!! So much for a clean room. Water park was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General Manager G, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review

Hi Lacie F, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and I am very sorry we did not meet your needs. I will make sure I pass down this to housekeeping management so this gets handled and won’t happen again. I hope you come back and give us... More

Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Had trouble with my room and management did not seem to care. No competence my room was given away, I asked for an early check in but did got there at 6pm and room was still not ready. Room was dirty, found hair on the bed and in bathroom. Hot tub too small. Rules were not enforced and people drinking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General Manager G, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review

Good Morning Cary G, Thank you so much taking the time to review. I am very sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory. We do apologize that your needs were not addressed in a timely matter. We would love for you to stay again. Please contact the hotel and we can see what we can do for your... More

Portage, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our family visited this hotel for a mini winter getaway and to also celebrate an anniversary. The front desk staff greeted us warmly and provided us a complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary. We were able to check-in early, our children were greeted and offered some ice cream. The room was very clean. The remote to the TV wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General Manager G, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review

Good Morning Robin B, Thank you so much taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all the great feedback. We are constantly trying to find way to improve the hotel so this information is very helpful. We hope to see your family back very soon. More

Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I can't imagine a better place to stay with kids. My family enjoyed the 10,000 sq ft indoor water park. The air, water, and general space inside the water park was comfortable and the area well maintained. The hotel room seemed larger than an average hotel room. Upon check-in I was pleasantly surprised to be informed that there was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Good Morning Robin B, Thank you so much taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all the great feedback. We are constantly trying to find way to improve the hotel so this information is very helpful. We hope to see your family back very soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South

Address: 6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#25 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids South, . Home of The Big Dip' 10,000 sq. ft. water park. We are conveniently located adjacent to the Crossroads Banquet and Conference Center (full bar service) (4,000 sq. ft.) perfect for the small corporate meeting or up to 280 person wedding and social receptions. Also within minutes of major attractions, downtown Grand Rapids, Gerald R. Ford Museum, Metropolitan Hospital, Fredrick Meijer Gardens, Van Andel Arena and DeVos Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids-South represents the latest in design standards. Come stay with us and experience a new level of accommodations and service. This hotel offers 79 guest rooms which include two- room suites, two- story spiral staircase room and Jacuzzi suites. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Hotel amenities include free deluxe breakfast bar, 10,000 sq. ft. indoor water park (open Friday-Sunday or special events*) featuring a three story, double figure eight water slide, activity pool, and a whirlpool. The hotel has a business center open 24 hours, game room, fitness center, 2,000 sq. ft. of meeting rooms, 100% non-smoking rooms, hearing and visually impaired and handicap accessible guest rooms.To reserve birthday parties please contact the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer