We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Grand Rapids hotels

CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids

83 Monroe Center St. NW, Grand Rapids, MI
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids to your Saves list
CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
84%
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Paul A Washington DC, District of Columbia
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
37
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A real gem in Grand Rapids. Nice food, good bar and great rooms. Would absolutely stay here again. Great staff who were very friendly and informative. Don't forget to check out the bars and restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Paul. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel so much. Thanks again and safe travels! More

Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for a night last week when we were on our anniversary trip to Grand Rapids! It was a very nice hotel! Loved the way its decorated and love the fact its eco-friendly. Our room had two huge windows and the bed was very comfortable! I really loved the paint colours and the lights shinning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your Anniversary Christine! We are grateful for your review and so thrilled you loved your room. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More

Troy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

What a delightful hotel...a real gem. And I just stumbled upon it while searching online for a hotel in Grand Rapids. It felt like we were staying in a museum of modern art. My wife and I, and our two daughters, stayed in a room overlooking the street. We liked everything about it -- comfy beds, the modern furniture, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled you had such a great time with us! Yes, the exposed brick is from the original building, along with some other things like reclaimed wood, and the sign over the bar. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you in the future. Safe travels! More

Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The rooms was very comfortable and modern. It was pretty close to everything downtown. There is no parking and no valtet but there is parking within a couple blocks. They do have wifi but cell service was poor in the room. it was a nice place but I would probably stay down by the river next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We actually have a parking lot connected to our building, we are so sorry you weren't made aware of it! If you ever make it back to GR we would love to have you visit again and see some other room types, thanks! More

Midland, Michigan, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had 2 couples staying for the night, so we booked a room with 2 double beds (we could only get one room). There is no valet, but there is a parking garage behind the hotel, you have to drive around the block to get into it, but it's pretty secure. The room was nice, only a shower in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of walking to all of the great spots downtown. Have a great summer and we hope to see you again soon! More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

If you're looking for a modern, cosmopolitan feel in the Grand Rapids area, your search has ended. Heck, if you're just looking for a great hotel in West-Central Michigan, there's really no competition. It's not as stuffy as the Amway Grand...not as boring as a big chain. The staff is helpful, the decor/design is unbeatable. CityFlats might even make you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us! With each room being different hopefully you get to experience something new and wonderful the next time you are back! More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

A very trendy modern decor in good downtown location. Parking $14 daily. We left after one might of two scheduled. No AT&T phone service or WiFi would work in room. The 1 window faced a brick wall (could have requested 'front' if we had been told when booking). Bedding was unusually warm and room thermostat took hours to readjust itself.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at CityFlatsHotel and writing a review! We will pass your comments along to our team. With our LEED certification we put in the master power light switch by the door, but you are still able to control each light in the room with their individual switches. Safe travels and have a wonderful summer! More

TravelFotog77
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I love this type of hotel (modern, stylish, eco-friendly) and was excited to stay. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to my expectations. The location is great if you want to be downtown, close to restaurants, the arena, etc. The beds were incredibly comfortable and, for the most part, staff were friendly. The breakfast items were excellent and enjoying by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, we are sorry to hear your expectations didn't meet up with our standards. Our general manager is working with our housekeeping team to see why they cleaned your room though your do not disturb sign was up. As for breakfast, we have a complimentary continental breakfast during the week and that is what used... More

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our first room at this hotel was an inside room and the windows were higher up. I'm 5 feet and could only look up to see out. All I could see was buildings. We were moved to a room facing the street that was much better. This room was also bigger. If you stay here request a room over looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and preferred a room on the street side. Hopefully your travels bring you to Grand Rapids again in the future. More

Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I really liked the bed, everyone was nice and it was a treat to be right downtown. As a former long time resident of Grand Rapids, until 1986, I am impressed by the changes to the downtown social scene. Craft beer and trendy eateries are the norm. There are lots of things outside downtown area including the Lake Michigan beaches.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids

Address: 83 Monroe Center St. NW, Grand Rapids, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your CityFlats Hotel - Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Grand Rapids with
any amenities