We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
83 Monroe Center St. NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Hotel amenities
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Christine G
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    34
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
50
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Every time I'm in GR I have to stop in to the CitySen for their happy hour. Delicious appetizers and great drinks. Had a blueberry lemonade martini, so fresh and light could have had several more. Great job! Outdoor seating is a great way to enjoy the weather and passerby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for always stopping in to CitySen Lounge when you can and for writing a review! We are so happy you enjoy our daily happy hour. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful place to stay right downtown within walking distance of lots of fun places. Rooms were very nice and the most comfortable beds!! If you want to experience a hotel that's a little different from your regular chain hotels, this is the place to go. Everyone was very friendly. Nice little restaurant with good food. We sat outside having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed our brand and look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Thanks! More 

Manchester, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had 5 rooms for an event, only two were the same layout, it was fun to see the different layouts and views. A nice mix of raw brick walls and a modern design look also. An open bar and restaurant on the first floor was compact but seemed spacious. One small con is we had issues with the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing CityFlatsHotel for your group, we are so glad you enjoyed all of the different room types! Hopefully we will see you again in the future, thanks! More 

New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay here. Brittany at reception was super friendly and made an excellent dinner recommendation. The room was really nice, I appreciated the lighting and furniture. I will definitely stay here on future visits to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We will pass along your compliments, I am sure Brittany will be thrilled to hear them! Thanks again! More 

Kent City, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We've stayed here several times when in Grand Rapids and have never been disappointed. The rooms are great, albeit some are on the smaller side since it is a smaller building but every inch is used to make the rooms comfortable and functional. Staff has always been prompt, courteous and professional. City Flats is our first choice when staying in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed our brand and choose us when coming to GR. Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon! More 

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Excellent location , BEAUTIFUL rooms, phenomenal staff..... our stay was the BEST ever! This will be a yearly tradition for the GILBERT/ NIDEFSKI family.... room 505 had a terrific view. We enjoyed dinner at XO Asian Cuisine which was just steps away.... and then off to a laser light show "Dark Side of the Moon" at the Grand Rapids Public... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your staycation, it really means a lot! We are so happy you got to take some time with the family, please let us know if there is anything we can ever do for you! More 

Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Stayed for one night. My mom and I went to a show at The Intersection just a couple blocks away and wanted to stay close, totally walk-able. If you want to check out the city on foot, this is the place to stay! The staff was extraordinarily friendly. At checkout, we asked for breakfast spot and were not disappointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing us and writing such a nice review. It's great you were able to enjoy the city on foot, and we are so excited you are looking for an excuse to come back! Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to make a future stay even more enjoyable! Jack Peaphon... More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We had a great stay at the CityFlats. The location was perfect, we could walk everywhere and we never even used our car during the stay. I was concerned about the parking situation, but it was not an issue at all - the parking lot is directly accessible from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and they nailed everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing CityFlats! We are so glad you had such a nice time, and hope to see you again soon!! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Stayed here for a Valentine's weekend getaway with my wife. Hotel was decently easy to find even with Grand Rapids' one way streets. Front counter was very informative and professional. We had a top (5th) floor room that was at the end of the hallway. Very modern, clean, and minimalist. First night was great, quiet and the bed is one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay (at least before the noisy neighbors). Please let us know if there is ever anything more we can do for you! Happy Travels! More 

Berkley, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

City Flats is a nice trendy hotel. The rooms are clean but the light switches are strange in that they do not control the light you expect, plus certain ones have to be turned on to make other switches work. It may be by design as it is an Eco friendly hotel, but it was strange non the less. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review! We appreciate the feedback and are very glad you had a nice time and were able to enjoy the lounge. Cheers! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities