We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
83 Monroe Center St. NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Hotel amenities
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kim H Vancouver, Washington
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
49
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night. My mom and I went to a show at The Intersection just a couple blocks away and wanted to stay close, totally walk-able. If you want to check out the city on foot, this is the place to stay! The staff was extraordinarily friendly. At checkout, we asked for breakfast spot and were not disappointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing us and writing such a nice review. It's great you were able to enjoy the city on foot, and we are so excited you are looking for an excuse to come back! Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to make a future stay even more enjoyable! Jack Peaphon... More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great stay at the CityFlats. The location was perfect, we could walk everywhere and we never even used our car during the stay. I was concerned about the parking situation, but it was not an issue at all - the parking lot is directly accessible from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and they nailed everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing CityFlats! We are so glad you had such a nice time, and hope to see you again soon!! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a Valentine's weekend getaway with my wife. Hotel was decently easy to find even with Grand Rapids' one way streets. Front counter was very informative and professional. We had a top (5th) floor room that was at the end of the hallway. Very modern, clean, and minimalist. First night was great, quiet and the bed is one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay (at least before the noisy neighbors). Please let us know if there is ever anything more we can do for you! Happy Travels! More 

Berkley, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

City Flats is a nice trendy hotel. The rooms are clean but the light switches are strange in that they do not control the light you expect, plus certain ones have to be turned on to make other switches work. It may be by design as it is an Eco friendly hotel, but it was strange non the less. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review! We appreciate the feedback and are very glad you had a nice time and were able to enjoy the lounge. Cheers! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved staying at CityFlats, the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is simple, modern, and fun! I'd have to say my favorite part of my stay was the comfort of the bed/sheets/blankets...Amazing! I stayed overnight in preparation for my nursing board exam the following morning, and was looking for a relaxing experience to destress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! Great to hear you had such a relaxing night stay before a big day in GR! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

troy, michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

This is a nice, small hotel in a convenient location in downtown Grand Rapids. The problem is the hotel does not have the amenities it should and there are some problems with the rooms. Amenities: CityFlats does not have valet parking, instead you have to park in a parking structure behind the hotel and walk through a tunnel connected to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review. We are truly sorry though that you were disappointed with your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments along to our management team to remedy some of the issues (in regards to our staff not properly explaining a few things). We take all of these comments to heart and use them... More 

Portage, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We met another couple for dinner and drinks in early February. Had a very good experience. Awesome drinks and I can't get the tenderloin sliders out of my mind!! The staff were very friendly and willing to recommend drinks and food for us. We intend to stay at the hotel soon and enjoy the lounge/restaurant once again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our restaurant! You can't beat those tenderloin sliders can you?! Hopefully you will be able to enjoy a weekend away soon! More 

Gowen, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I truly love staying at City Flats. Not only is it the hippest place to stay in Grand Rapids it is also affordable and offers the most comfortable sleep that I have ever experienced while traveling. They have the softest linens and I get a deep refreshed sleep everytime I stay. The rooms are always spotless and the food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so excited you love staying with us when you visit GR. If there is ever anyhting we can do to make your stay more enjoyable in the future, please let us know! Thanks again, Jack Peaphon jack.peaphon@cityflatshotel.com More 

Macomb, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We stayed the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. This is our second time to Grand Rapids, and loved how much closer this hotel was to everything! We were in walking distance of every attraction we planned to visit. The hotel is beautiful, clean, with an exceptional staff. We liked that it was a smaller hotel, it just seemed a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids for your anniversary! Congratulations! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay so much, especially the room. Please let me know if there is anything we can do for you in the future! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We wanted something different than a typical chain hotel and within walking distance of the GR Public Museum and restaurants for a night away. This is exactly what we found. It does get pricey when you add parking and taxes but you shouldn't need a cab or have to drive. It was relatively quiet too, even with room facing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. If you ever need anything please let us know, and you can check out our special CityDrem mattresses at shop.cityflatshotel.com! Thanks again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question