We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Grand Rapids hotels

Red Roof Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
69%
Ranked #32 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
nada z Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Photos (21)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
14
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was the worst hotel I've ever set foot in. The front desk person was friendly when I checked in, but that's about the only positive thing I have to say. When we pulled into our parking spot, some guests on the second floor balcony were setting off fireworks which then landed on a car next to us. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This Red Roof Inn was very accommodating to our group. Yes there was room for improvement in the rooms them selves (old stained chair and carpet… slow draining shower) but with that being said we showed up with a rather large group needing 5 rooms. They let us check in very early (like 11 am) and didn’t charge us anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel gets high marks because of the room set up and the manager, but there is room for improvement. My room had numerous, easily accessible wall plugs, strong, reliable free internet, desk with decent chair, new flat screen tv with upgraded cable package, fridge, good quality micro-wave, faux hardwood floors, granite counter in the bathroom and a comfortable bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff was unfriendly, not very welcoming, nor accomodating. Property was in major disrepair... Room was even worse... Bathroom light flickered "Bates Motel" style... Floor creaked badly, heard every step the guest upstairs took... Paint was PEELING in bathroom (possibly lead based paint!!! O_o The bath tub was stained and small... AND finally the bed... IT WAS HARD AS A ROCK,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the RRI after a day at Michigan's Adventure. The rate we got was pretty good, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There were basic amenities like fridge and microwave in the room, but no iron or board. Tired and in need of a good night's sleep, this was perfect. My aunt roomed a few doors down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

FIRST IMPRESSION: The office looked great in the pictures and when you see it driving into the property-- But don't let that deceive you! The rest of the property was very poorly taken care of. There were landscaping bricks out of place like they were just thrown on the ground outside our room. Cigarette butts cluttered the ground. The company... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean room - no carpets - great idea!! The paint had some peeling problems in the bathroom, but for $77, I really can't complain a lot. Room was quiet, bed was comfortable and I had a good sleep. The front desk clerk was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cherry Tree, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently visited the Reed Roof Inn in Grand Rapids , Michigan. The room we had was in terrible shape. There was no toilet paper in the bathroom. The bedside lamp had no light bulb. The paint was peeling in the bathroom and on the ceiling of the main room. It was only after I contacted Customer service that I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steve D, I am sorry to hear that we had given you the worse service you have experienced and I hope that you do not let this experience point you away from other Red Roof Inn locations as each is run by a different management and staff. I have addressed the issues with housekeeping to ensure that they are... More

New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got stranded due to flight cancelation. Dirty. No phone. Poor service. They cancelled an early morning shuttle to the airport with out telling me. Smelled like smoke despite it being no smoking room. Terrible

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert B, Wow. I am terribly sorry to here that your stay here was stinky and dirty. As a manager that is something that is never pleasant to hear, as I take pride in my property and we are obviously missing some key points here. I hope that someday we are able to renew your faith in our property... More

South Charleston, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stopped here for one night on the way through town. The Room they gave us was probably a previous smoking room. It's been recently renovated but the carpet was stained and so was the bedding. The shower flooded the bathroom floor. The staff was very friendly. Area appeared safe with lots of restaurants and shopping. Appeared to have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am sorry that your room had previously been smoked in, as that is not a pleasant smell for anyone. I have recently purchased a product that eliminates odors such as these, to remove any unwanted scents. I also do apologize for any stains you saw on both the bedding and carpet as I will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 5131 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Red Roof Inn

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Grand Rapids with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
107

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer