We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Homestead

1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
The Homestead
Share an Experience

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    94
    66
    37
    35
See reviews for
132
132
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (357)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (174)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I had my wedding here in June of 2014 so I don't write negatively of The Homestead easily. Many of my family members were over charged for their rooms. The Homestead refused to reimburse them except for one family member. The rooms were dirty and trashed upon arrival. Guests were not allowed to check in on time. No attempts to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in Little Belle complex for an extended weekend with just the two of us. Very intimate setting in and out of the suite. Small Cottage style setting with the feel of privacy. The check in was simple and quick and the room exceeded our expectations. We did spend an afternoon at the spa. While pricey it was well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Supposedly one of Michigan's best destinations, The Homestead was found lacking in the housekeeping area. The linens were not changed from the previous guests: one bed had hair on the sheets, the other bed had a booger stuck to the sheet. The coffee maker didn't work and unfortunately the hair dryer didn't either. The location of this resort is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lake City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

the view from the hill was worth the trip, the staff at Beppi's very friendly, and the staff everywhere on the property was happy and upbeat. the rooms were more than adequate for a ski weekend with kids but we were no in our rooms much. the property is very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We have stayed at the Homestead several times over the last several years. Every time it seems to be less and less of a place to stay. Rooms are out of date, restaurant service is mediocre and just not a pleasant expereince.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pinckney, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

This getaway was for our whole family to be together up north for a few days before Christmas. We had heard wonderful things about The Homestead but we were quite disappointed with our stay. I thought there would be a number of activities going on at this time since kids were out of school - WRONG! Nothing going on at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheHomesteadMI, Public Relations Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were not properly informed of the resort's operating schedule during the pre-season periods before Christmas. We typically open for skiing with all restaurants and shops on property available at that time. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the surrounding towns and do hope you would reconsider giving us another... More 

Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This was our second stay at The Homestead. Both times we have been there in the late fall and it is very quiet at the resort. The prices are also very affordable this time of year. We stayed in Fiddler's Pond and our rooms were big, comfortable and clean. Beds are great, room had a fireplace and mini-fridge and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the property during a quiet time of the year and the surrounding area. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

TC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Old furnishings, broken bathroom tile, poor amenities in room. LOUD noise all night kept us from sleeping well despite our close proximity to the office. The staff gave a very insincere apology for our poor stay, but no other reconciliation. I have had better stays at many other hotels with better prices. This place is not worth the hype.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Stratford, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Excellent resort layout. Overall timeshare feel. Beautiful views, great pools. Wish there was a greater variety of food on-site, and a better stocked store for food and supplies. Town of Glen Arbor has a ton of great food and shopping. Would probably rent something in town if I were to head back to Glen Arbor again. Overall, I feel about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed at The Homestead in a two bedroom unit in "Stony Brook Lodge." The views were spectacular. The pool deck offered exceptional sunset views of the bay. The unit itself was dated- furniture and bathroom could use a refresh. The resort property as a whole is gorgeous, but dated! This isn't really a "full service" resort, so we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question