We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Homestead

1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
The Homestead
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    137
    99
    71
    39
    37
See reviews for
142
140
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (383)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (196)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Cary, Illinois
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here in 2013 during the offseason and got a great deal. We might have been the only people staying we didn't see anybody! Our room was fantastic; huge and clean with a jacuzzi tub and a lot of space. We had a very quiet and peaceful stay made better by the discounted room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our second trip to The Homestead. This year we rented a big house and my extended family stayed there. We had a lovely stay, we really did. We travel with three kids, so having the resort amenities is really nice. We can easily grab breakfast on the property and the staff at CQ's is so friendly. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 3 nights at the Stoney Brook in a one bedroom #25 3rd floor with lakeview! Our own pool (for the building). Beautiful accommodations! Wifi worked well. Nothing at all to complain about! We had such a good time we extended out stay to The Inn #11 with wooded patio and steps from the Lake. Already looking into reservations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is set in a picturesque environment, but the service has been lacking. The sheets are scratchy as are the blankets, the cover intended for the sofa bed looks like it has been used since the 90's. We called for more pillows and were told we had to wait until the next day when housekeeping is open?!?!? We called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Macomb, Michigan
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were taking a summer trip along the west side of the state and one of our stops was Glen Arbor. We were excited to stay at The Homestead, as we had heard great things, but we were pretty disappointed after our stay. 1. We stayed in Fiddlers Pond (Thursday-Saturday) which is conveniently located across the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
UpNorth1069, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Homestead for your stay. We were disappointed to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. Nonna's restaurant would have been open every night during your visit, and Beppi's just on the weekend nights. CQ's Cabin is open for breakfast each day and then Cavanaugh's the deli and general store is open nightly... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read so many reviews before booking this resort so I thought I was prepared for everything and knew the pros and cons. I was not expecting the ritz but Bottom line- given the price tag per night, I was disappointed. The resort grounds, setting and common areas are absolutely stunning and the restaurants are very good. The kids loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
UpNorth1069, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. The condominiums and vacation homes are privately owned and furnished. Each of the units fall into a category: Grand, Classic and Simple. The Grand quality are the only units that have air conditioning and the most up to date amenities in terms of... More 

Detroit
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a few days free while our kids were at camp, so we planned a fun weekend for two at The Homestead. We had stayed there for a family trip about 15 years ago and had positive memories, so we thought it would be a fun choice. While we enjoyed our visit, it was definitely a mixed experience. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
UpNorth1069, Front Office Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn of the service failures that you encountered during your stay. We have been working this past week to rectify the wifi and data transmission issues that have just recently developed. In addition, we will share your experiences with our associates with the purpose of continued guest service training. We do hope that you would give... More 

Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We changed a three night reservation to one night. When I reserved, the agent told me quite specifically that the room had an outdoor deck. We had the one room type at Fiddlers Pond that had no patio. The only restaurant on property that was opened was a drive and a walk. Not convenient. Called for ice, told me where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UpNorth1069, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay. Our resort is certainly not an urban hotel with the amenities and conveniences of the ice makers and vending just down the hall. Your comments will be passed along so that improvements can be made with the level of service offered to guests at Cavanaugh's. Thank you for... More 

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed at The Homestead, at Stoneybrook in a 2 bedroom waterfront condo. Had been told that this property was renovated last year and so was probably one of the best at The Homestead. As it is very expensive, I expected no less. After a very long wait in line to check in we drove to our condo. The property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
UpNorth1069, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you, once again for reaching out. We are sorry that you were disappointed in the accommodations and service. We are in the process of implementing a mobile check in process that would allow an agent to assist a guest via iPad, anywhere in the lobby or on the porch, not just at the Front Desk counter. We are hopeful... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is for anyone who wants lots of fresh air, likes to be active and near nature, but wants hotel amenities. A great respite from city living. Was on a trip as a couple. This is a big property; there are several "hotels" within the Homestead. We stayed at "Fiddler's Pond." 1. ROOM: Opted for the deluxe room at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
UpNorth1069, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for providing some wonderful tips for future visitors. It sounds like you really enjoyed your visit and took advantage of the beautiful amenities and restaurants. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the near future...for skiing, if not before! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
20.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
24.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
21.4 mi away
Cambria Suites Traverse City
Cambria Suites Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
19.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scenic Hill Resort
24.1 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 40 in Traverse City
5.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities