We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Gaylord B&Bs / inns

Ray's Retreat Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Ray's Retreat Country Inn to your Saves list
9311 Old 27 South, Gaylord, MI 49735
Hotel amenities
Ray's Retreat Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Gaylord B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaylord
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davison, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel from the outside looks like a hotel to avoid but upon entering it has some surprises. First let me say this is a hotel that charges $50.00 for a room over the July 4th weekend. So if you are expecting immaculate then go somewhere else. In reality you actually get more then you pay for. I will start... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

When I called we were told it was one of the old rooms. This we didn't mind, but told them that it had to be clean-was assured it was. When we arrived, we confirmed we were ok with old, but had to be clean and again was assured it was. The carpet was so dirty the entire room smelled, there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

We were shocked with this review. We do not do our own housekeeping. If our guests do not let us know the condition of their room we are unable to make any changes. Although after this review we are making a point of checking the rooms after they have been cleaned. Anytime someone has a problem with cleanliness we want... More

Mackinac Island, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room was old, but clean and the beds were comfortable. We really enjoyed the hot breakfast that comes with the price of the room. We stayed 2 nights in one of the upstairs rooms. Its not bad for the price and I am fairly picky.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because of the location. the room was so dirty you had to sleep with 1 eye open..the shower was crumbling down and full of mold. there was feces splattered on the walls around the toilet and the bathroom sink did not drain. of course the refrigerator is not plugged in and it is full of mold and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

It is a fact of life that we cannot please everyone. It saddens us that someone this unhappy would not have said anything to us. We would have been offered to remedy her complaints. I don't understand why anyone would stay THREE nights in such conditions, and turn in the key without saying one word to either my husband or... More

Bay City, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Upon first glance, Rays Retreat appears to be like any other roadside inn. But once you look at everything, its a homey, pleasant place with extremely friendly owners that will do anything and everything to make sure your stay with them is comfortable. Every morning they serve a hot breakfast (homemade) between 7:30-9:30 included with every room which gives it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cass City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed one night to attend family reunion in Gaylord. Liked being on the back side, away from road noise. Back side has a friendly gathering area around a campfire plit with adequate seating. Bird feeders. Really good place to have a group gathering. Quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very friendly staff, you'll be in good company for breakfast. No maid service, a little on the rough side of things. The newer addition is more modern and accomodating. The owner is currently updating the original building. Dog friendly, group campfires in summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

We apreciate each and every person who comes to stay with us. We have been working to update the downstairs rooms. We always advise customers who choose to stay in a downstairs rooms that these are the 'retro' rooms. Due to being older rooms they are smaller and 'dated'. We always strive for clean rooms. We would ask any customer... More

elyria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

this was our first vacation in 27 years without kids,very happy we chose rays.thank you mike and ann

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
White lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed at rays for a golf outing. I stayed in the old part. All of my friends stayed at the Hampton inn. I will never stay at rays again. The room was dirty. The bed was like sleeping on a sheet of plywood. The shower was just old. Like a old prison bathroom. If you need to check out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

room was dirty. i would have gone elsewhere but was too tired to drive anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ray's Retreat Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ray's Retreat Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Retreat Country Inn

Address: 9311 Old 27 South, Gaylord, MI 49735
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Also Known As:
Country Inn Gaylord
Gaylord Country Inn

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gaylord with
any amenities