We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ray's Retreat Country Inn

9311 Old 27 South, Gaylord, MI 49735
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaylord
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ray\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    3
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Flint, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great stay here at this hidden gem. Hot breakfast was excellent and it felt like family with everyone and owners socializing. Plus you'll enjoy the bonfire pit with patio. No other hotel has this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Lyon, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

You get exactly what you pay for. Read all the reviews below, from 5 star to 1 star and they all have merit. We rented the "80's" decor, downstairs room. It wasn't 80's decor as expalined, it was carpet from the 80's that hadn't been vacumed in 8 weeks. But we had a good idea what we were getting into,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry your expectations were not met when you stayed two nights with us. We are always very careful to explain to new customers that the downstairs rooms are 'retro' ... the older rooms. I can guarantee the room had been swept and is swept between each stay. The carpet is in need of replacement. We hope to... More 

Davison, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel from the outside looks like a hotel to avoid but upon entering it has some surprises. First let me say this is a hotel that charges $50.00 for a room over the July 4th weekend. So if you are expecting immaculate then go somewhere else. In reality you actually get more then you pay for. I will start... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

When I called we were told it was one of the old rooms. This we didn't mind, but told them that it had to be clean-was assured it was. When we arrived, we confirmed we were ok with old, but had to be clean and again was assured it was. The carpet was so dirty the entire room smelled, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

We were shocked with this review. We do not do our own housekeeping. If our guests do not let us know the condition of their room we are unable to make any changes. Although after this review we are making a point of checking the rooms after they have been cleaned. Anytime someone has a problem with cleanliness we want... More 

Mackinac Island, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room was old, but clean and the beds were comfortable. We really enjoyed the hot breakfast that comes with the price of the room. We stayed 2 nights in one of the upstairs rooms. Its not bad for the price and I am fairly picky.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because of the location. the room was so dirty you had to sleep with 1 eye open..the shower was crumbling down and full of mold. there was feces splattered on the walls around the toilet and the bathroom sink did not drain. of course the refrigerator is not plugged in and it is full of mold and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

It is a fact of life that we cannot please everyone. It saddens us that someone this unhappy would not have said anything to us. We would have been offered to remedy her complaints. I don't understand why anyone would stay THREE nights in such conditions, and turn in the key without saying one word to either my husband or... More 

Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Upon first glance, Rays Retreat appears to be like any other roadside inn. But once you look at everything, its a homey, pleasant place with extremely friendly owners that will do anything and everything to make sure your stay with them is comfortable. Every morning they serve a hot breakfast (homemade) between 7:30-9:30 included with every room which gives it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cass City
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed one night to attend family reunion in Gaylord. Liked being on the back side, away from road noise. Back side has a friendly gathering area around a campfire plit with adequate seating. Bird feeders. Really good place to have a group gathering. Quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very friendly staff, you'll be in good company for breakfast. No maid service, a little on the rough side of things. The newer addition is more modern and accomodating. The owner is currently updating the original building. Dog friendly, group campfires in summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

We apreciate each and every person who comes to stay with us. We have been working to update the downstairs rooms. We always advise customers who choose to stay in a downstairs rooms that these are the 'retro' rooms. Due to being older rooms they are smaller and 'dated'. We always strive for clean rooms. We would ask any customer... More 

elyria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

this was our first vacation in 27 years without kids,very happy we chose rays.thank you mike and ann

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#2 of 14 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
5.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#7 of 14 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
23.9 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#3 of 11 in Grayling
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities