We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

3.0 of 5 1600 East Grand River Avenue, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    14
    17
    15
See reviews for
30
19
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and were extremely pleased. Now, the furniture is scratched up, there was no iron (but there was an ironing board), not enough serving ware for our family of four, and no log in the fireplace. There was one major problem - not enough hot water. One person, maybe two could get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Daer Tricia, We are working really hard to the improve the overall appearance and comfort of our property. I want to deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. These issues has been addressed with our staff and will be handled more effectively in the future. Thank you ofr taking the time out to review our... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We came up from my brothers wedding and stayed in a suite. We flew in from Texas so it was nice to spread everything out in the room. We paid about $80 a night and were told at check in that you needed to request housekeeping on the weekends for a tidy. When we travel we hardly ever need it,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time here at the Gatehouse Suites East Lansing. We try our absolute best to accommodate every one of guest to the best of our ability. Congratulations to the bride and groom! We look forward to having you with us again in the future. More 

Gladstone, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We have stayed here a few times and have always had great service and accomidations. We will definately be booking a room in the future. we love the fact that the hotel is walking distance to the campus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Gatehouse Suites East Lansing. I am glad that the service you received was great. Our location is a big plus, everything you need is just a short walk away! As always, we look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for taking the time out to review our property. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

Room was very large with a full sized fridge, dishwasher, microwave and electric stove. Shower was nice but toilet didn't flush well. Took 3 flushes. Fireplace was useless. Told on check-in that there wasn't any wood. Fireplace allowed huge cold air drafts which caused heat to run constantly. Lots of space, dishes, wine glasses, coffee maker. That was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Gatehouse Suites East Lansing. I am glad that the service you received was great. Our location is a big plus, everything you need is just a short walk away! As always, we look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for taking the time out to review our property. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This place was a great location to be able to walk to the Michigan State campus however I would rate it as just average. We paid about $200 a night and no housekeeping was done. I guess I usually just expect that especially when paying that amount.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Our hotel is in a great location, very close to MSU and many of its attractions. We have been working very hard to turn average into awesome. We'd love to have you back to experiences the changes we have made since your last stay. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us improve moving forward. It really means a... More 

Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

My wife and I needed to be in East Lansing in early October for a last minute family matter and unfortunately it coincided with a MSU home football game. All our usual hotels were booked (at the more reliable brand hotels) and we were left with having to book a "penthouse suite" for $360 per night on the weekend. Let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am really sorry for your most recent experience here with us. It is unacceptable to drop the ball the way we did. It is never our goal to have a guest leave our property feeling taken advantage of and for that I apologize. We are working hard to ensure no other guest has to experience the same during their... More 

Travelers are raving about these East Lansing hotels

Peoria, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Booked three rooms for football weekend. Our tv didn't work, WIFI didn't work, no housekeeping on weekends. Had coffee one morning but since no one comes to clean, had to go to office for coffee. Tracked in leaves from trees all around, so rooms all had leaves all over the floors and not even a broom to sweep them up.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With your feedback along with others we as a staff and management team are working hard to make each and every guest pleased with every stay. I am sorry you did not have a good experience. If by chance you are ever in the East Lansing area again... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in what looked to be a great room. Come to find out the box spring was broken and the staff new about it. They told us they would replace it in the morning and took us until we went and complained again to receive it. When they came to fix it we realized the mattress was completely soiled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am really sorry for the events that took during your most recent stay here with us. We strive to provide a comfortable, pleasant place to stay each and every time and this time we failed. We have worked long and hard to make sure maintenance and our front desk staff handles these issues in a timely manner. Again, I... More 

Algonac, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We stayed in the Penthouse 2, I was amazed by how much room there was. We really appreciated that the kids had their own bedroom, and bathroom on an entirely different floor. Staff was very friendly and helpful, room was clean, pretty landscaping and view of the river. Great location, 1/2 mile from the East dorms at Michigan State. Some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am pleased that you were satisfied during your time here with us. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Thank you for the kind words. More 

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My partner and I stayed here as we were moving him into East Lansing for a new job. It was a great place to land -- not fancy, and could use a little buffing (and the landscaping could use some attention, but the staff was very helpful. Walking distance from a number of restaurants and pubs, and very convenient to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Welcome to East Lansing! I am happy we were able to provide you guys with a comfortable place while you made your transition to Lansing. Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts on our property. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gatehouse Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Address: 1600 East Grand River Avenue, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Location: United States > Michigan > East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatehouse Suites East Lansing 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Gatehouse Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
East Lansing Residence Inn

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay