We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 East Lansing hotels

Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 East Grand River Avenue, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gatehouse Suites East Lansing to your Saves list
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
59%
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jennifer G Algonac, Michigan, United States
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    12
    15
    13
See reviews for
28
17
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algonac, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Penthouse 2, I was amazed by how much room there was. We really appreciated that the kids had their own bedroom, and bathroom on an entirely different floor. Staff was very friendly and helpful, room was clean, pretty landscaping and view of the river. Great location, 1/2 mile from the East dorms at Michigan State. Some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here as we were moving him into East Lansing for a new job. It was a great place to land -- not fancy, and could use a little buffing (and the landscaping could use some attention, but the staff was very helpful. Walking distance from a number of restaurants and pubs, and very convenient to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duncanville, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The suite was awesome - everything we needed and having the extra room to move around in was great. Bed was good - on the firm side for sure. Room smelled good, was clean and updated. We were there the Thurs/Fri nights leading up to MSU fall move in. The hotel was quiet and the staff was very nice. House... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property is a mess. Trash and debri every where. The first room we were checked into, smelled like mold and mildew. The second room wasn't much better but we had no where else to go because all rooms in the area were booked for the fall move in at MSU. The house keeping staff doesn't work on Sunday so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was basically a former Residence Inn not far from the Michigan State University campus. It was not bad for the money and clean. It was basically a suite type room typical of a Residence Inn. This was during the summer so it was not particular basis except for some foreign student who appeared to be visiting the campus. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kevin S, Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay here at the Gatehouse Suites East Lansing and would come back to stay with us again. We would love to have you back! Thank you for the review and we hope to see you here again in the near future. More

Oakland, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Worst Hotel ever. I was there for a business in my stay wasn't good at all it was horrible, dangerous it's not safe at all people partying, fighting in its out of control I will never tell anyone to stay this hotel specially a family or anyone in the entire time I was there I never saw a managers never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am really sorry for the experience you had while here at the Gatehouse Suites. There is absolutely no reason why you should have not had a pleasant stay with us and for that I apologize dearly, If there is anything that I can do for you please do nnot hesitate to give me a call. Kevin Smith General Manager... More

Elgin, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were supposed to have a king size bed, but there was so much confusion at check in (new management, lost other people's reservations, they had to go somewhere else - lucky them!), we had a studio with a queen bed. The bathroom had not been cleaned, there was a used/dirty wash towel hanging from the shower rod, toilet was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Spacious. Amenities as an apartment- end of good items. Grounds are fair, parking is poor. Close to MSU why they charge so much. Rooms look neat but poorly kept up. Stained chairs. Dirty walls and doors. The pool was NOT maintained at all, in the middle of June...it is Was filthy and unsanitary. No care about even trying to clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The room was covered in dog hair. The sheets were torn and dirty. Electrical outlets were broken with exposed wiring. The sink had no stopper. The toilet broke and backed up. Once we couldn't wait any longer for maintenance who never showed up to fix the toilet, we asked for our money back. Management said they were fully booked and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I spend a couple of days at this location last week. The room had everything from dishes to a dishwasher. All I had to do was bring in food and I was ready to rock. A full kitchen is important to me since I am on the road a lot and prefer to cook my own meals and save myself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gatehouse Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Address: 1600 East Grand River Avenue, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Location: United States > Michigan > East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatehouse Suites East Lansing 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Gatehouse Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
East Lansing Residence Inn

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in East Lansing with
any amenities