We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 East Lansing hotels

Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center

219 S. South Harrison Road, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI 48824
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center to your Saves list
Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in East Lansing
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014
fastcar66 Cleveland, Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (137)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    42
    33
    12
    11
See reviews for
25
15
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed two nights the end of May due to a relative's wedding. Just keep in mind, this is a college town and this hotel caters to many, many people all year. The rooms are very small, but we managed okay as we are not large people. When I walked into the tiny bathroom, I did not see a tub,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Kellogg and were able to take advantage of the many things there are to do in the Greater Lansing Area. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit the MSU campus. More

Indiana
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
163 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Swim at the nearby MSU outdoor pool. Walk across the street for dinner at the Brody Food Court ($9). Enjoy the botanical gardens nearby. Covered parking. Watch the Canadian news on the cable tv. Yes the rooms are small and the bathroom (and shower) different. This was a womens dorm back in the day. The $5 annoying resort fee (I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We appreciate your recognition of the uniqueness of our wonderful campus hotel and your praise for our staff and hope to be able to serve you again in the near future. More

Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The "standard rooms" are very small compared to modern hotel rooms, ask for a "Luxury" room if space is important to you. This is an older property the desk clerk said it was originally built in the 1950s for the University to train future hotel and restaurant managers. That being said a majority of staff are college students. The Shuttle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with the services you received during your recent stay at our hotel. We are a university hotel and although we are an older building, we have have been diligent in updating our facility. We had limited space with which to work when we were renovating our rooms and designed... More

Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The room was fine. The bathroom is a bit strange. It had a shower in the corner with no place to capture the water--it sprayed on the bathroom floor which was tilted a bit so the water tended to drain in that direction. But it also wet pretty much all of the bathroom floor. I'm familiar with this kind of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. The standard bathrooms are on the small side, but we do have larger rooms with tubs which can be requested when making your reservation or at the time of check-in if available. More

Syracuse, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel has excellent staff. Everyone I met was very nice. There is only one restaurant in the hotel which was a little pricey and really didn't have any casual eating options. The rooms do not have tubs just a small corner shower. The floor of the shower is the floor of the bathroom. Also the heating/cooling doesn't work well.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your interaction with our staff. We put customer service as our first priority and it is wonderful to receive this type of feedback. In regards to casual eating, we offer a small plates menu in our restaurant lounge for those with lighter appetites. Thank you for taking the time to post your... More

Traverse City, MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are Spartans and attend a lot of MSU events. However, we always stay a the Kellogg Center as the staff, rooms, breakfasts, bar are amazing. The cost is a little higher than other hotel, however, worth it. Parking is right there inside. The bathrooms are small and a little unique, but, it's all part of the charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future. More

Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Recently, stayed at the MSU Kellogg Center while my wife was involved in a conference. I worked from the rooms while she attended her meetings. The rooms are tight to say the least with double beds. Very little room to move around the room. Bathroom is small with a unique corner shower (no enclosure) and curtain. Visitors need to remember... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again in the future. More

Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Second stay at this hotel for a conference. Again, the level of dust in the room is excessive. The room has the feel of not being so clean. The room is very small and efficient - sort of Japanese in design. The shower is just a corner of the bathroom and the whole floor gets wet. The saving grace, again,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping department and used as we continue to train our staff and fine-tune our services. More

Manalapan, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Was visiting Michigan State with my daughter and the hotel is smack in the middle of campus. The hotel was average at best. Out dated, rooms were very small and the bathroom was like a shoe-box with the shower head coming out of the ceiling with a drain on the floor (no tub). Staff was very pleasant, but you’re really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry you found our room design unsatisfactory but we have tried to utilize the space in the most efficient way possible. We do have larger rooms with more conventional bathrooms which can be requested at the time of your reservation or at check-in... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This property is on the campus of Michigan State. I was here for about 9 days for the World Dwarf Games in 2013. The first part of our stay we had a spacious room with a huge bathroom and tub, which was nicely laid out. The problem was that the housekeeping was atrocious after day 1. Surfaces were not cleaned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecca S, Manager at Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at the Kellogg Center. I want to apologize for the problem you encountered with your guest room. It is our goal to provide the best guest experience possible, and it is quite apparent this goal was not met. Your comments were shared with our housekeeping department... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center

Address: 219 S. South Harrison Road, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI 48824
Location: United States > Michigan > East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Hotel And East Lansing
Kellogg Hotel East Lansing

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
160

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer