We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Regis

3071 West Grand Boulevard, Detroit, MI 48202
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Regis
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St. Regis
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    50
    43
    18
    22
See reviews for
13
44
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
There are newer reviews for St. Regis
See the most recent reviews
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We booked the St. Regis on our way downtown. I knew from reviews that parking is $20 and that the hotel valets it. Downtown parking costs money, so it's nice to know what you're getting into ahead of time. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was clean and neat but with a few things that needed TLC (ie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Fantastic I ma happy you had a great experience. Thank you so much for your comments. We know you have a lot of choice on where you may choose to stay and we are grateful you chose the Hotel St. Regis. I also appreciate your comments regarding your guest room. I will definitely share your recommendation to the appropriate department... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

We did not get off to a good start; I booked an online reservation for the weekend of a wedding because location was close to venue. Bad location - 15 minute drive from downtown. When we checked in they had no record of our reservation despite my online confirmation. Did have a room available. The room had a queen bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on you most recent stay. In the not so distant future the city of Detroit will enjoy a new rail system called the M-1 rail. This train will take you from our back door right to the heart of Detroit. It will connect New Center to Cobo Convention center, the ball parks and many other... More 

Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We had a comfortable weekend at the friendly and well-run St. Regis, located a few steps away from two of Detroit's grand architectural masterpieces -- the Cadillac Center (former General Motors headquarters) and the Fisher Building. You'll be minutes by bus away from Wayne State University and the Detroit Institute of Art. Construction on nearby streets is impeding access right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We often receive great remarks on our location and the benefits associated with being so close to the DIA, Fisher theater and many other notable landmarks. Soon we will be able to add the convenience of the M-1 rail system that will take you from the New Center area to the Comerica park, Ford... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

I came to Detroit for a wedding, and stayed at this hotel because it was part of a 'wedding block'. However, it was still a nice-looking place, so I wasn't worried. There were issues from the moment we arrived. The valet attendants were either rude or unprofessional--while waiting for our valet ticket, we watched one pull up a (very nice)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valued comments. I and the team truly appreciate your feedback and we will use it to improve the service we provide to all of our guests. It can be challenging when we inaccurately forecast the number of guest we anticipate for a particular day. Our goal is to always be staffed at a level... More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

If I were you I would stop reading reviews now and just book somewhere else. We were just here for the USAV National Volleyball tournament and I've never experienced such horrible service. First, I booked my room online and paid for it but they had no record of my credit card but somehow I still managed to have rooms. Second,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that your experience was not up to our usual standards. I will share your thoughts with our staff in an effort to improve our customer service. Please know that we truly appreciate your business and if you would like to contact me directly to discuss the specifics of your stay I would... More 

Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

To me, this hotel feels like someplace that used to be a haunt of the rich and famous, but now perhaps caters to more modest guests. It's a lovely building, some areas could use some maintenance to be in tip-top shape, but nothing that impacted my stay. All of the staff was very helpful and friendly. For example, when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your complimentary remarks. The Hotel St. Regis was built in 1966 and at the time it was the most expensive hotel per guestroom in the nation. You are correct we have catered to many dignitaries and corporate executives for many years. Our great city is making a significant transformation and we are excited to be... More 

Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the St Regis one night in may 2015. When you drive up it looks impressive, valet only parking at 20 dollars a night. Although the check in was easy and people were trying to be friendly and polite the valet and reception staff came across as quite and im searching for the right description here "not so cultured".... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts. I want to let you know that we have upgraded our Wi-Fi and to date everyone is now able to utilize our Wi-Fi service through out the facility. We also have corporate customers that are currently streaming and all is well. Stay tuned for other property enhancements. Our goal is to make the Hotel St.... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

The room was fine and the location was convenient but what is so secret about this parking lot that they require guests to pay for valet parking? The valet attendant is as elusive as the WIFI that I need to work... and if the security guard assumes the job at night then who's watching the building? The receptionists overlook my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We take ever concern very seriously. Downtown parking is customarily associated with a parking charge whether it is valet or self parking. We insure that our rates are very completive with the other hotel operations in the area. Also I am happy to share with you, we have discovered the issue with our Wi- Fi.... More 

Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

You can walk through the tunnels to the Fisher Theater without going outside. We went for a show and found the hotel very convenient. We avoided the $20 valet parking by driving to the lot directly behind the valet lot behind the hotel. It's $12 per day on weekdays, but free on the weekends. Basic room with old 25" Zenith... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts about our property. We are a boutique hotel that has worked very hard to keep the historic charm associated with a property that was built in 1966. We have a great relationship with the Fisher theater. Many guest will have dinner in La Musique prior to a show. There are several parking options that are... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

I have stayed at the Hotel St Regis 5-6 times since February 2015 for business at Wayne State University. The hotel's public rooms are beautifully decorated, somewhat art deco, although the hotel was built in the 1960s. The restaurant has great breakfasts. Valet parking is a nice touch. Rooms are very clean and spacious. Front desk staff are accommodating and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Excellent, Thank you for your positive comments. I will share them with our hospitality team. Our goal is very simple, we want every guest to leave happy and satisfied. We do all that we can to anticipate our guest needs and should we fall short we do the very best to recover to insure they are happy when they leave.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
2.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
7.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
3.0 mi away
The Corktown Hotel
The Corktown Hotel
#17 of 34 in Detroit
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay