We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Regis

3071 West Grand Boulevard, Detroit, MI 48202
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Regis
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St. Regis
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    49
    42
    17
    19
See reviews for
12
43
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Troy, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On June 5, our school had our prom was at Hotel St. Regis. We chose this hotel, because we had a good experience last year, and it's close to our school; many of our students do not have access to transportation. This year's experience was the total opposite!!!! The so called owner of the hotel was ghetto, unprofessional, rude and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts as it relates to your banquet event. Our goal is to insure that all of our banquet guest have a great experience. I understand that you had some concerns and I would be happy to discuss those with you at your earliest convenience. I would also like to note that I had many conversations with... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check is went very well. But you can tell by the old furniture in the lobby that's it's old as dirt. The first room wasn't clean so I went back to the front desk. I told the guy that it hadn't been cleaned. He says, "it should be!" No apology. He gave me a different room on a different floor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate you taking the time to inform us of some of the challenges you have experienced. I will us this information in an effort to improve our customer service. The New Center area is actually going through a very positive transition. Many of the buildings are being renovated in time to take advantage of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Detroit hotels

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good price for large spacious rooms with all ammenities. You must try the New Centre Eatery directly opposite the hotel for breakfast. Hotel ordered taxis for us right to the door, cheap short ride into dowtwn for Comerica Park and the famous Coney Island restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. We often hear from our guests that they really enjoy the location due to the fact you can walk to the Fisher Theater and or take in a free show at the New Center outdoor park right across the street. While there is a bit of road construction around us the crews for the... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Valet parking only and its $20 a night, but it's in a (seemingly) secure lot, so add that to your room price. Staff was very nice, room was clean and the building is very cool. Great location and is minutes from the DIA (which you need to visit) Not many cons from what I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments. The new Center area is really starting to be frequented by more and more people. Those that want to go to a show or just spend the night and take in the neighborhood. Our staff work really hard to make sure all of our guest have a great experience. We look forward... More 

East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked the St. Regis on our way downtown. I knew from reviews that parking is $20 and that the hotel valets it. Downtown parking costs money, so it's nice to know what you're getting into ahead of time. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was clean and neat but with a few things that needed TLC (ie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Fantastic I ma happy you had a great experience. Thank you so much for your comments. We know you have a lot of choice on where you may choose to stay and we are grateful you chose the Hotel St. Regis. I also appreciate your comments regarding your guest room. I will definitely share your recommendation to the appropriate department... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did not get off to a good start; I booked an online reservation for the weekend of a wedding because location was close to venue. Bad location - 15 minute drive from downtown. When we checked in they had no record of our reservation despite my online confirmation. Did have a room available. The room had a queen bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on you most recent stay. In the not so distant future the city of Detroit will enjoy a new rail system called the M-1 rail. This train will take you from our back door right to the heart of Detroit. It will connect New Center to Cobo Convention center, the ball parks and many other... More 

Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a comfortable weekend at the friendly and well-run St. Regis, located a few steps away from two of Detroit's grand architectural masterpieces -- the Cadillac Center (former General Motors headquarters) and the Fisher Building. You'll be minutes by bus away from Wayne State University and the Detroit Institute of Art. Construction on nearby streets is impeding access right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We often receive great remarks on our location and the benefits associated with being so close to the DIA, Fisher theater and many other notable landmarks. Soon we will be able to add the convenience of the M-1 rail system that will take you from the New Center area to the Comerica park, Ford... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came to Detroit for a wedding, and stayed at this hotel because it was part of a 'wedding block'. However, it was still a nice-looking place, so I wasn't worried. There were issues from the moment we arrived. The valet attendants were either rude or unprofessional--while waiting for our valet ticket, we watched one pull up a (very nice)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valued comments. I and the team truly appreciate your feedback and we will use it to improve the service we provide to all of our guests. It can be challenging when we inaccurately forecast the number of guest we anticipate for a particular day. Our goal is to always be staffed at a level... More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

If I were you I would stop reading reviews now and just book somewhere else. We were just here for the USAV National Volleyball tournament and I've never experienced such horrible service. First, I booked my room online and paid for it but they had no record of my credit card but somehow I still managed to have rooms. Second,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that your experience was not up to our usual standards. I will share your thoughts with our staff in an effort to improve our customer service. Please know that we truly appreciate your business and if you would like to contact me directly to discuss the specifics of your stay I would... More 

Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

To me, this hotel feels like someplace that used to be a haunt of the rich and famous, but now perhaps caters to more modest guests. It's a lovely building, some areas could use some maintenance to be in tip-top shape, but nothing that impacted my stay. All of the staff was very helpful and friendly. For example, when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill W, General Manager at St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your complimentary remarks. The Hotel St. Regis was built in 1966 and at the time it was the most expensive hotel per guestroom in the nation. You are correct we have catered to many dignitaries and corporate executives for many years. Our great city is making a significant transformation and we are excited to be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay