We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Corktown Hotel

2.0 of 5 1331 Trumbull St., Detroit, MI 48216
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Corktown Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Corktown Hotel
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    17
    6
    14
See reviews for
2
16
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Checked inn and checked out ten minutes later after I was bit by something. The room was stinky and awful would not recommend. Almost stayed Becuase we left in oct 2014. Pay the extra $50 and stay somewhere clean and descent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Password123456, We’re very sorry to hear you were disappointed in your recent visit. Cleanliness is a top priority, and we are taking your comments very seriously. We haven’t received any other complaints or reports of bed bugs, and our housekeeping team has thoroughly inspected all our rooms. We sincerely apologize that you were bit by an unknown bug; please... More

Wokingham, England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Stayed here for five nights to attend a conference at the Cobo Center, which was an easy 15 minute walk away. The hotel has its issues which you will read in other reviews but it met my needs just fine. Comfortable bed, clean enough and solid WiFi. If you match your expectations to the price you pay, you won't be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello nreed_trl, It sounds like you fully enjoyed our convenient location and speedy Wi-Fi, thank you for taking the time to let us know. We always appreciate feedback from our guests as we are striving to improve our guests overall stay with us. We understand that a comfy bed and a clean room to unwind from the day shouldn’t break... More

Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Check in was easy, soon as you get your room card you drive your car into the "gated parking". There is a side door and elevators soon as you walk in. Every corner of the hotel an all the entrances have real time video cameras, there is a channel on your tv you can watch all the cameras. We requested... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed here because of price and proximity to Comerica Park for concert. Checking in was interesting with front desk person behind glass. There were signs offering various frozen items like Hot Pockets and pizza rolls -- room service? We were given a key card with a piece of masking tape with the room number scrawled on it. We went to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flint, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

They used to be a value motel with reasonable rates, clean rooms and secure. Since our last stay in Dec 2013 until now (Jul 2014). Things took a turn for the scary! If you book your room more than a few weeks ahead of time, they WILL lose your reservation. Therefore, don't pay upfront through a website or you'll be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
21 hotel reviews
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

1st off this place is a bit beat down but the rooms are clean and quiet and the staff was pleasant. 2" thick bulletproof glass at the reception desk may be a sign of old times because the Corktown area is actually being reborn and is an up and coming area. 1 elevator but it was always quick, free parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I'll put it straight out there: this isn't the kind of hotel that everyone will enjoy staying at, but you know what? It perfectly sums up the Detroit experience, and for that reason, I loved the Corktown Inn. Yes, the front desk is protected by bulletproof glass. Yes, it's in a seedy area of town. Yes, the infused stench of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I was treated very well during my stay. Beatrice was very helpful and kind and the room was clean. Wifi worked great and the jaccuzi was good. I will stay there again on my next trip to Detroit. Will reccomend it to others who want a resonable place to stay at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a place as cheap as possible and I paid $62 for a room that was clean, a large bath and a comfy bed. The wifi was also good. But: the area is absolutely terrible and unsafe, I only got out to go to a close bk and than run back, the structure is not exactly pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Corktown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corktown Hotel

Address: 1331 Trumbull St., Detroit, MI 48216
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Corktown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Corktown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corktown Hotel Detroit

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Other (37)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay