We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Corktown Hotel

Hotel website
1331 Trumbull Ave, Detroit, MI 48216
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Corktown Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The front desk staff said the Hotel would be upgraded within the next year upon checkout. It was OK for 2 nights - tolerable at best. The sign out front says "A Fine Hotel", which it might have been back in the 60's. They turned a tub area into a tiled shower with a cheesy curtain. The sink counter had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe M
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Joe, Thanks for coming to stay at the Corktown hotel; the great news is every single issue that made your stay less than perfect will soon be a thing of the past. Our hotel-wide renovations are happening now and you won't believe the difference! We'd love to have you see the transformation for yourself; be sure to let us... More 

Leamington, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Filthy, over-priced, and downright creepy. The first room we were given (room 200) had plaster peeling from the ceiling. The walls were grimy and there was hair all over the bathroom. The room smelled like a cross between an ashtray and a gym bag. After speaking with the girls behind the front desk (which is barricaded behind plexiglass - always... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajstill
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello ajstill, We're very sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't live up to your expectations. We can assure you that all your comments will be reviewed carefully; we're committed to making our hotel better than ever. Our hotel is being renovated from top to bottom; paint, carpet, beds... everything! Painting the exterior is only the tip of... More 

Springfield IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Stayed here Saturday and Sunday night for the Free Press Marathon. Previous reviews describing the condition are fairly accurate, the rooms that haven't yet been remodeled are dated and in need of updating (please note that they are in the process of remodeling the hotel). The linens were clean, the bed was fine, AC/Heat worked just fine. The shower had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jset1
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jset1, We're so happy that you stayed at the Corktown Hotel while you were in town for the marathon! We're thrilled to be able to accommodate guests for all the amazing attractions that Detroit has to offer. It's great to hear that you were pleased with your stay; we'd love to hear what you think of the renovations the... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

honestly when me and my brother reserved this hotel...the only purpose was to go see the lions and tigers and save money on a long trip...and many of the reviews had scary story about this place..old neighborhood with criminal activities..we walked many times from downtown to hotel without seeing no one...a drug dealer..i was almost hoping to find him with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rene R
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Rene R, We're so happy that you chose to stay at the Corktown Hotel during your recent sports-cation! It's so great to hear that you had a great time here and while exploring the city! Your return visit will be made all the better by the hotel-wide renovations that are happening right now; the outdated appearance you mentioned will... More 

Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

The Corktown is very old, and needs updating in every way! The bedspread is filled with cigarette holes. The carpet is old, stained, dark, and ugly! However the sheets are clean, it is bug free and quiet and so I got a great nights sleep . There is HBO, wi-fi, a safe area, UBER and LYFT to get to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mary S, We're so pleased to hear that our outstanding hotel team won you over with great customer service! The Corktown is situated in the heart of an up-and-coming historic district; the perfect location for all types of entertainment. You said the hotel needs updating in every way - well, that's just what we're doing! The Corktown is in... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

Not the most beautiful place to stay. HOWEVER the staff had the best charisma and OUTSTANDING customer service!!!!! Was only n Detroit for a concert right off the interstate and easy to find and close the Joe Louis Arena

Helpful?
Thank Sam C
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sam, The only thing that makes us happier than your amazing feedback is having the chance to tell you about our hotel-wide renovations that are happening right now. It won't be long until the Corktown Hotel will not only have incredible customer service and amazing access to the best that Detroit has to offer, the rooms will be beautiful... More 

Berwyn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

My first concern was the bullet proof glass at the front counter. When they gave us a room I went down and asked to cancel my reservation and give me my money back because the room was not habitable. They apologized and gave me another room which was nice. This is a good hotel if you need somewhere to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben C
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ben C., We’re so thrilled that you chose the Corktown Hotel for your recent trip to Detroit. With the best downtown area attractions just a short walk away our hotel is the perfect location for the guest who wants to see it all; we’re so glad that you agree! It’s great to hear that the front desk staff was... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015 via mobile

My arm is covered in bites! Carpet is horrible.. Walls dirty, covered in some kind of nastiness... Lights falling off wall. No smoking. Av unit works when it wants to! Can't go back to sleep my bites itch so bad. I did look like they were starting to remodel some of the lower level rooms

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kimberly D., We’re so sorry that you had a less than excellent experience during your recent stay. You’re correct that we’re in the process of remodeling the entire hotel. However, we want our guests to feel comfortable in their rooms whenever they stay with us and we apologize this wasn’t your experience. Please know that we are looking into... More 

Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

Service was OK, the soda machine had no cold drinks, but at least had an ice machine, room was dirty, one little bar soap couldn't do much, location was far away for main attractions no amenities , what i like the best is the price.

Helpful?
Thank Gonza V
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Gonza V., We’re sorry that your recent stay was not satisfactory. We value your time and your opinions; thank you for leaving this feedback. Our hotel team works hard to provide friendly customer service and to create a welcoming environment in the rooms. We will certainly look into the room conditions that you pointed out. We would love the... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

Our group had a great time staying at the Corktown Inn. We were in town for an extended conference. The front desk and housekeeping staff were especially helpful in accommodating the unique needs of our group (such as storing bicycles for cyclists) and the price was just right! Great location too, to interact with a cross-section of real Detroiters. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeacemakerTeams
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The Corktown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello PeacemakerTeams! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your time at the Corktown Hotel and that you found the time to tell us about it! Accommodating guests who come to Detroit for everything from baseball games to concerts to conferences is what we are all about. We can’t wait to see you again next time! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.9 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.8 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Detroit Regency Hotel
Detroit Regency Hotel
#20 of 34 in Detroit
3.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay