We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Hotel deals
Hotel website
351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 25%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    224
    205
    77
    33
    15
See reviews for
90
132
36
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (554)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
Atlanta
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a chance to stay at this hotel again while in Detroit & I am not disappointed. The rooms were very nice & clean, and I can't say enough about the staff. I had inadvertently left an item upon check out & didn't realize it until I got back home. I called the front desk and was transferred to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Dakota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a terrific location for events (I was attending a Tigers game.) Really wonderful to see all the other people fighting traffic to get out of the area and know I was able to walk in the front door and head right to my room! As far as hotel quality, it was pretty standard Hilton Garden Inn. Seemed generally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a review. We're glad that you overall enjoyed your stay. Our property is unique to other Hilton Garden Inn's in that we have two restaurants onsite, American Grill that serves breakfast only and Chrome Grille that has a bar and serves dinner each night and lunch Friday - Sunday. We... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We typically stay here if we're going to a Tigers or Red Wings game. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful. The location is also very close to Greektown and other attractions. The rooms were clean, but we are in our mid 20s so usually just looking for a place to crash.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that our location and staff made your stay enjoyable. We hope to be at your service again in the future. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Well I've stayed at quite a few of the "big chains" downtown and I really can't think of a better place. You walk out the door and you are two blocks from Ford Field and Tigers Stadium (ComErika Park). Turn to your right and you are 4 blocks from GreekTown and the casinos. It's just another two blocks from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay with us. We're so glad that your stay has been so enjoyable. We're thrilled that you rank us as the best and can't wait to be at your service again in the future! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at this hotel with a HUGE convention. 30,000 folks that invaded the city. We were assigned this hotel and it ended up being a great fit! We had a great location - our conference was mainly at Cobo and Ford Field and this place was 2 blocks from Ford Field and about 1/2-3/4 mile to Cobo. We walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're glad that our staff, location and accommodations made it so enjoyable. It was a pleasure having the convention here and would welcome them back anytime. We're thrilled that you would love to return and can't wait to be at your service again! More 

chapel hill, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The STAFF WERE FANTASTIC, very helpful, will to do whatever was requested. We had a three day meeting and the catering was quite well done, again with very respectful and attentive staff. Motorcycles were annoying in terms of sleeping.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Patricia for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay with us. We're glad that our staff made your stay enjoyable. We understand that the motorcycle noise is an issue and have been working with the city of Detroit to try to remedy the situation. Sleep is important when traveling. We hope that you'll consider... More 

New Haven, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was in a poor state . Carpet with multiple stains and in obvious need of cleaning and vaccuming overall. The room smelled stale and did feel "clean." The hotel stay was very uncomfortable. There was a lot of noise. You could hear everything from the hallway and rooms adjacent and across from your room. In addition the noise... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're sorry that your stay was not up to our high standards. We had a large convention in town that took a toll on the carpets throughout in the hotel. We had the carpets professionally cleaned on Tuesday. We understand that the noise level... More 

Arnold, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wasn't sure what to expect my first time in Detroit and I was thrilled with the service of the staff at the hotel. They were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel was nice and clean and quiet. Only problem was the street on the corner seemed to be a stop on the cruising route and it was pretty loud on Sunday... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Rebecca for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that our hotel and staff made your stay enjoyable. We understand that the noise level on Sunday is an issue and are working with the city of Detroit to try to remedy this situation. We hope you'll choose to stay with... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Used the valet parking there and when I got my car back the door and front panel were damaged and they told me sorry not our fault they reimbursed the parking fee and I was stuck with the $1400 worth of damage because the lot is not video covered good enough to show what happened to my car.... Will never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience with valet. Please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel so we would to be able to investigate this with the valet company. More 

Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service from the front desk staff, nice comfortable room with a great view, and a free breakfast too! We were greeted by a very friendly front-desk staff and offered a free breakfast because our room got changed. For breakfast, they have made-to-order omelettes! Will definitely be back when I go to Detroit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you John for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're so excited that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again soon for another Tigers game! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#8 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
0.8 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 34 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay