We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Detroit hotels

Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay Package
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Keith W Bath, United Kingdom
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    115
    44
    20
    9
See reviews for
55
75
25
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is well located for Greek Town restaurants and bars and for the sports venues. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The hotel offers a breakfast cooked to order! No more manky scrambled eggs! EXCELLENT!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harpers Ferry, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you don't have one slid under your door in the morning, don't count on the front desk producing one for you at the time of check out and do NOT trust them to email one to you if they promise to do this for you. It’s been 4 days since I checked out and I have yet to receive... More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for staying, I apologize for not living up to our promise, and you are absolutely right. You shouldn't have to ask twice. I understand that our front office manager has contacted you and has sent the receipt out. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to help or make this right. Thank you, More

Lansing, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bed broken! Tub broken! Tried to overcharge at check out, make sure to check with the desk what the total charges will be, it did not match the bill they slid under the door in the AM. The breakfast was good but a little pricey. Location was great.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the recent stay, and I apologize for the problems you experienced. We were experiencing a problem with our computer system and charges during the weekend of your stay. With the help of Hilton, we were able to quickly get this corrected so it will not impact any further guest. Again, apologize for the error. I will be... More

Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must say that I think the housekeeping staff sets the standard for this hotel and others to follow. They where friendly and Everything everywhere was clean. The front desk on the other hand seemed to be more worried about company rules and policies than listening to customers. The American grill is where they offer breakfast. The breakfast that garden... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay, and taking the time to review. I will share your concerns with our front office team. Our first objective should be taking care of the guest, and finding a way to make things work for you. Feel free to contact us directly at the hotel if you would like to share more details. Thank... More

COMO, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a short stay for some business. The hotel reflects the same style of the city of Detroit, a city who is trying to "restart" I dont know if I could have find better. Price was in line with the services thanks to special conditions for groups, but too high if I would have booked alone.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for staying and taking the time to review. We value the feed back and use it to improve the hotel and use it when we review pricing. More

Lapeer, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm a diamond hilton member. I called HHonors to make a reservation at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit with a "Be Our Guest" certificate. I wanted to upgrade to a different room and was told by the HHonors rep that I needed to call the hotel directly to do that. I called the hotel and when the person answered (no idea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

I'm very disappointed in our efforts to take care of your concerns and your call during the reservation process. I will be sharing your letter with the desk team, and our manger. I apologize for our failure here. My expectation is that we take care of all our guest concerns on the first call, and we have missed the mark... More

Detroit, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Close to the in-town sport fields. Walking distance to some good places to eat and some Casinos. Parking at the hotel was interesting and you need to confirm the cost if you drive. Took a cab from the airport and the hotel doesn't have a shuttle, at least to the airport.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for staying. Sorry for any confusion on parking. Our overnight rate is a flat $22 per car, if you were asked to pay anything different, please let us know. Thank you, More

Indianapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a jewel in downtown Detroit. Very close to the Gem Theatre, Greek Town and the People Mover. The Chrome Grill has great food. The Hotel Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lenexa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best staff I have experienced in my 40+ years of travel. They made me feel at home from the moment I arrived. Jerie at the front desk is amazing and the restaurant wait staff are wonderful. The location is perfect. It is close to my work site and local entertainment including Greek Town and Ford Field. Well done!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HGIDETROIT351, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments! We hope to see you again soon. More

Oswego, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice Hotel. It is in excellent condition and seems to be very well maintained. The hotel has the feeling of a much larger hotel due to it's amenities and all it's attention to detail in decorating and design. For example, there is a restaurant bar, cafe, business center, pool, and the rooms have a microwave, mini... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit
Detroit Hilton
Address: 351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown hotel is located in downtown Detroit. Set in the heart of Harmonie Park, the hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and entertainment venues such as Ford Field and Comerica Park. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel in Detroit, Michigan include Quicken Loans, Ernst and Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers and Compuware. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.