We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Hotel deals
Hotel website
351 Gratiot Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Royal Oak, United States
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everyone was very helpful and made sure we were completely satisfied with our stay! They got us checked in early which was really nice. It is also in a great location. Would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled that you found everyone helpful and really enjoyed your stay! We can't wait to be at your service again in the future! More 

Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had a very nice stay at this hotel. The rooms were nice, beds were well equiped with pillows, and the rooms were very clean. I thought the staff was very helpful and they had their hands full! The location was second to none, with lots of entertainment very close by. Be sure to check out The Harbor House right... More 

Helpful?
Thank kennykelme
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled that the location, staff and accommodations made your stay enjoyable. We enjoy the Harbor House as well. We hope you'll come back to stay with us in the future. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has hired some of the rudest, unprofessional, and ghetto like people I have ever witnessed in a hotel. Kenny, who works front desk was extremely unprofessional. He verbally attacked me and I thought that he would jump over the desk. Although the GM offered a gift card, Kenny never apologized for his extremely belligerent attitude. Some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashira A
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We apologize again for the experience you had. We are happy we were able to address the issue with you in person. We will share this review with our staff since we are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience with us. More 

Traverse City,
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for a concert with plans to hit the casino. Everything was within walking distance, which was wonderful. The hotel itself was, not bad. Lobby was nicely updated, but the room we stayed in was a little tired. I had a wonderful sleep- the mattress was fabulous! Front desk service was very nice, but housekeeping tried to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 286jodyp
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that our location and mattress made your stay enjoyable. We will share your review with the staff so we can better serve our guests. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future. More 

Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I always stay at Hilton properties. I would say this is an average hotel compared to all my other stays. I arrived to $22 valet that I failed to see in the hotel description. Food at breakfast was $11 and average. Room was average. Location was great for me. Overall it was an average stay.

Helpful?
Thank RedskinMike
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback since we are always looking for ways to improve our guests stay with us. Since we are downtown parking does come at a cost since we do not own the lot but we are very well priced compared to the... More 

Baltimore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great experience. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You will enjoy staying there. You are close to Greektown and the resturants in that area are great. The service is of five star quality. You will enjoy it very much.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Marietta E
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Marietta for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you had such a great experience and our stay made it so enjoyable. We hope to be at your service again in the future! More 

Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're looking to hit some breweries, bars, games, or casinos, this is an excellent hotel within walking distance of everything downtown. It was clean, friendly, and the fitness center isn't bad either... highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin E
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Benjamin for taking the time to write a review and stay with us. We're glad that our location and accommodations made your stay great. We hope to be at your service again in the future. More 

St. Paul, MN, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was in town for Detroit Auto Show. Hotel was convenient to People Mover and attractions in Downtown Detroit, notably Ford Field, Cobo Center, and Renaissance Center. Staff was generally helpful. There was a noise problem 2 of my 3 nights but it isn't really the hotel's fault for annoying guests. The hotel was not as nicely appointed as some Hilton... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Nate R
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at our hotel and writing a review. We're glad that the location made your stay enjoyable. We will definitely take your comments about the hotel under advisement since we are always looking for ways to improve our hotel. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future. More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was heading to the auto show, but made arrangements a little late. This hotel was still available, so I took it. It's in a good place, close to everything, and the room was good. Not the best HGI you will run into, but ok. For downtown, though, I would prefer a garage. It only has surface parking. It is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IoannisPapandreou
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with and taking the time to write a review. We will definitely take your comments under advisement since we are always looking for ways to improve our guests stay with us. We hope you'll consider staying with in the future. More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found that this is a nice place to stay. Especially for tourist, it is sure they'll enjoy here a lot. Different food items are available here. Rooms are very comfortable. A wide area for car parking is available.

Helpful?
Thank Sofiaalissa
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time write a review. We're thrilled that your stay with us felt like luxury. We take pride in making sure our guests enjoy their time in with us while exploring Detroit. We hope to be at your service again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.2 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#6 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay