We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243
Special Offer
Batter Up Baseball Fans!
2 people have started booking this hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Add Photo

995 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    234
    390
    212
    93
    66
See reviews for
121
196
53
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (995)
  • Mar-May only
    (270)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (265)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (251)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (209)
All months
Midland, Michigan
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked our room more than 4 months in advance (and had a confirmation) for a family weekend trip to a concert. We even received another confirmation from the hotel earlier this week which confirmed our stay. Upon arrival (3 hours before the concert started), we waited almost an hour in line to check in, only to find that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This review is backtracking to my wedding almost 3 years ago now. I stayed the night prior in the 3 room suite which worked out great as I had the glam squad come in and get all the girls ready. Definitely MORE than enough room for all the girls to get ready with 2 hair dressers and 1 makeup artist.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello Danielle and thank you for posting. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced three years ago while visiting. We wish you had brought these items to our attention sooner so that possibly we could have assisted at that time. We are truly sorry and have passed all comments to our general manager for her review. Thank you again... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Checked in at 6:15 PM, still awaiting luggage delivery at 7:05. When we called to inquire we were told we had to call for the luggage when we got to the room. That would have been nice to know considering the doorman told us to give claim check to the front desk and Jonathan, at the front desk, did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Detroit hotels

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Memorial day weekend is well known in downtown Detroit to be one of the busiest of the entire year yet it seems that the management team at this hotel lacked the foresight to have a well established game plan in place. First there was the debacle of not having rooms ready well past the check-in time of 3pm to what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Greetings and first and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for all the items noted here. Obviously, yes, it is our intent to offer a seamless visit for our guests and we are truly sorry for falling short in your case. We encourage you to please email your issues to our executive team so that they may assist. To do... More 

Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in a room with 3 other girls for USA Volleyball Nationals from Sunday night to Wednesday morning and I'm assuming that the hotel was just unprepared for the amount of people that would be there for Memorial Day weekend (not only was USAV there from Friday-Wednesday, but "Movement Electronic Music Festival" was there until Monday as well.) We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello Natalie. Thank you for visiting during the volleyball event last week. You are correct that it was a busy weekend for us, however that certainly is no excuse for the issues you noted in your review. Please know that we have passed your comments to our general manager and executive team for their review. We are very sorry for... More 

USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I attended the USAV National Open held in Detroit during Memorial Day weekend. I tried to check in at 2p.m. but was told there was no early check in and they will call me when my room is ready. I told them that check in time is 3 p.m. but was told that it will not be ready by then.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you very much for posting. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you note above. We know that Beverly from our executive team has already been in touch regarding your visit. Once again, we definitely apologize and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I admit this is the coolest building in Detroit, and hotel rooms have the best view. And for that, you should stay here once. But only once. 1. No free parking - $25 for overnight parking. 2. Terrible service - when I called house keeping it took them over half hour to deliver a toothbrush, and about forty five minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your toiletries and other services while visiting. Please know that we have passed your comments directly to our general manager for her review. Once again, we do thank you and we hope you will visit again in the... More 

Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were given a room on the 67th floor with a view of the river, the bridge, and Windsor, Ontario. The room had floor to ceiling windows on one wall, which was quite impressive. My only complaint was the windows were streaked (from the outside) and these streaks showed on the photos. The bed was very comfortable, not too soft,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Lynda, for taking the time to post. We appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear that guests such as yourself are taking advantage of your Marriott Rewards points. We hope to see you again soon, and we'll hope to have one of our river view rooms available on arrival! Thank you again and safe travels. More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at the hotel recently while attending a conference in Detroit. Other than a not very well organized check-in procedure, I was very satisfied with the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable -- great mattress -- and all the staff members were very friendly and helpful. Although I didn't eat at any restaurants on the property, the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hi Martha and thank you for visiting and for taking the time to post. We appreciate any and all feedback and wanted to let you know that at Marriott properties worldwide, wifi charges are actually complimentary for our Marriott Rewards guests. Should you not be a member, we encourage you to join the free program. Thanks once again and we... More 

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed at the Detroit Ren Cen Marriott several times. The rooms have been updated in the recent past and are very nice. The views are excellent from both the river side and city side. The hotel is located very close to many of the attractions and restaurants. When checking-in, ask for a high level floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Greetings from the Motor City and thank you very much not only for visiting, but also for taking the time to post. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you soon. Until then, GO BLUE. Thanks again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

292 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (269)
Viewed
View from room (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay