We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243
Special Offer
Batter Up Baseball Fans!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
Add Photo Write a Review

1,024 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    235
    402
    218
    97
    72
See reviews for
123
201
53
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1024)
  • Mar-May only
    (270)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (294)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (251)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (209)
All months
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I were on a roadtrip of a lifetime. We left Columbus, GA at 2:30 am early Sunday morning on June 14, 2015. We reserved our night stay through Marriott.com with employee's family discount rate. The front desk clerk was rude and refused to accept our discount. She told us that we cannot use the discount there but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We attended a wedding downtown and selected the Marriott as the landing pad. Upon arrival, we had to drive completely around 3 sides of the ren cen in bumper to bumper traffic to get close to valet. We elected to circumvent the line and park at the self park directly across from the entrance ($20 vs $25 for valet). As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed at the Mariott at the Renaissance Center several times as an attendee of Youmacon, the local anime convention that occurs annually around Halloween weekend and Midwest Media Expo, the multimedia convention that occurs in April just shy of Final Exam week. The convention itself is fantastic as is the hotel that hosts it. However there are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I can't understand how you can be given one key for the same room 6 times before the front desk realizes that there MAY be something wrong with the room lock. I had come to this hotel hoping for a one of a kind experience for my boyfriends birthday and somehow it turned into a nightmare. The front desk was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Detroit hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Hello, I just wanted to voice a few concerns after my stay there at your facility this past week: 1) I have never come in contact with such rude staff as you have there. Many just stood around, watched customers in frustration about the hour long wait for luggage assistance and valet, or they were into the use of their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for staying with us here at the GM Renaissance Center. On behalf of our entire team, please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you note. Obviously it is always our intent to provide a quality and memorable visit for our guests. We are very sorry that you experienced the issues that you did. Our executive... More 

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For all of the spectacular views and the beautifully made beds, we could not help but notice how dirty the room and bathrooms were. We were on the 21st floor and again the view was fabulous. Immediately upon entering the bathroom, there was hair and bobby pins on the floor. Screeching halt to the girlfriend getaway, when we noticed there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you very much for taking your time to post. On behalf of our entire team, we appreciate you choosing to stay with us for your girls weekend to The D. Please accept our sincere apologies for the many housekeeping issues you noted in your review. We have passed all comments directly to our general manager for her... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good business hotel conveniently located downtown, directly at the river and the river walk. Rooms are clean, Gym is packed at 6am. The hotel is pretty large and located at the GM headquarters. Downtown is in walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Detroit. We very much appreciate you taking the time to post and of course for the wonderful compliments. We're happy to hear that everything was to your liking and we definitely hope to see you again soon. Safe travels! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked two beds for four adults two months in advance. Called at 1pm to advise of late arrival. Called again at 7pm to advise we would be late, checking in after the concert. Both calls were acknowledged as late arrivals. When we entered the first room, there was only one bed. After waiting a half hour for the key... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello Don and thank you for posting. Please accept our sincere apologies for the situation with your arrival as well as the lack of linens. We are truly sorry and would appreciate it you would please email us at detroitmarriott@marriott.com so that our executive team may assist. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us for Jimmy Buffett and hope... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I paid $319.00 for a ONE NIGHT fireworks package to view the riverfront Fireworks 6/21/2015 and I am HIGHLY pissed at how piss poor the management was! In prior years we were able to stand on the deck of hotel lobby and view fireworks as long as you had a wristband which comes with your room. The decks were CLOSED... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello Jayla and first of all, please accept our sincere apologies for the entire issue you experienced while visiting for the Ford Fireworks. Obviously that should have been a fabulous night for guests and families to enjoy the event, and we apologize for all the issues you note here. Our executive team would like the opportunity to discuss with you... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a few days on business and wow, what a huge place. The hotel is also the General Motors building with all of the newest cars located in the showroom on the ground floor. There is a food court with several fast food restaurants inside as well as a bank, a CVS and several stores scattered throughout the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Hello and thank you not only for visiting, but for taking the time to post such a thorough review of your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service issues you note. Our executive team would like to offer a proper apology and should you have the time, we ask that you please forward details of those issues to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

353 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (278)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay