We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Detroit

Certificate of Excellence
2700 Vermont St, Detroit, MI 48216
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Detroit
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hostel Detroit
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    34
    10
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
4
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Brandon, Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on our first trip to Detroit. I had read an article in the travel Section of the NYT titled "36 Hours in Detroit." Something about the DIA caught my attention and I thought to myself. I have to visit Detroit. So on a trip to Boulder, CO to visit a son in graduate school... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

I stayed in a private room at the hostel while checking the place out for some of my students. I really like the hostel's educational mission and its location in Corktown. The ambassador tours are also a fantastic offering--I wish I had had time to go on one. The staff was also great and very professional, and I appreciated that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

If you really want to see and get to know Detroit, don't even think about staying anywhere else. Not only is the hostel located in the heart of Corktown, but it has the kind of super-friendly traveller vibe that is getting rare to find these days and especially important in a city like Detroit where there is so much to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

This is my first hostel experience in the U.S. and overall, it was a good one! I booked a multi-night stay after reading the positive TripAdvisor reviews and I would stay there again. Good location to downtown, Corktown and Midtown. Easy to get to and from places. I had a rental car and parking outside was never an issue. Secured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Whether you're in town for the weekend, backpacking through for a short stay, or looking to explore the city, Hostel Detroit is the place to stay at! It has a homey feel to it, with multiple kitchens and common areas around the hostel to use. The staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledgable of the city and where/what to experience while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We had wanted to go to Detroit for awhile, and so when we planned a six week trip of the U.S. we made sure we were there for two days (one night). I was happy to find that there was a Hostel and was interested by the concept - I read about the "educational mission" on their website and thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We popped in to Detroit just for one night to see the new Frida and Diego exhibit at the DIA and were pleasantly surprised by how easy the booking/checking-in/checking-out process was. The location was perfect as you're so close to Astro Cafe, Slow's BBQ, little Mexico and the Two James Distillery. Parking is no problem (as with most parts of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

I went to other hostel at Seattle, Vancouver, Toronto and Chicago, too. Hostel Detroit was my worst hostel. I came there around 9:30 PM - 10:00 PM and met manager there. Then I had to make up my bed in Open Dorm. Other hostels made bed for guests. I was surprised that there 10 bunks in one room and don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zach F, Manager at Hostel Detroit, responded to this review

Hi Dave, I am sorry you had the experience you did. We do our best to keep Hostel Detroit's quiet hours. Sometimes guests do not follow them on weekends because they may have enjoyed Detroit's nightlife a little too much. I wish you would of brought this to our night manager's attention when it happened. We would of rectified your... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Awesome place, friendly staff, even got a lift to the Greyhound Station when I couldn't get a taxi. 20 minute walk to downtown, great place to stay if in Detroit for a night or two. Free parking on the street if you have a car which is a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Don't let the looks of the neighborhood scare you away!This is an awesome place to stay and I will go back. The people were very friendly. They have a gated area for parking behind the house. Very close to downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.3 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.8 mi away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 34 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Corktown Hotel
The Corktown Hotel
#16 of 34 in Detroit
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities