We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greektown Casino Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Special Rate
Book Direct & Save!
Greektown Casino Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Sarah G
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    244
    69
    33
    24
See reviews for
63
308
31
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (699)
  • Mar-May only
    (190)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (186)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Apparently I double booked a hotel. Raphael said that I had cancelled my reservation 24 minutes after I had made it but said that he would still honor my cancelled reservation. I called the other hotel that I had booked (motor city casino) and they would not cancel my reservation, rather I would have to pay in full... I made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Greektown Casino Hotel is clean and well decorated. The staff is above average. The rooms are comparable with or better than other hotels in the same price range. Most of the issues I have with the hotel have to do with other guests. Although, the rooms could have been designed with better noise insulation. For example, I could hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Wendy. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize for the noise levels you experienced during your stay. Our security team generally does a great job extinguishing these inconveniences when they are notified. I will make sure to pass along your review to their team as well as the hotel team so they can work... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. Beautiful view of the city, modern clean room. The Casino is very nice too. One of the cleaning staff, Rebecca, was an absolute angel. I was staying there on a day where they were understaffed and she handled the situation extremely professionally. I also saw her dealing with an irate guest in an absolutely perfect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt B, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review. I will make sure to pass along the compliment to Rebecca. We look forward to your next visit! More 

New Hudson, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend surprised me for an overnight stay at Greektown for Valentine's day. Our room was awesome. Great View of the city and clean and comfy. We went to the restaurant there Prism, and have to say very disappointed in the food. I had the Lobster Ravioli (I think I got 5 small ones), he got the veal...Very tough and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review

Chris, I am so sorry you experienced the run around in regards to your jacket that you left behind. Have you since spoken to someone? If not, please allow me to reach out to you for more details so we can get this back in your possession. I would also like to get you in contact with our restaurant manager.... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like that Greektown is within walking distance to everything downtown. The rooms were great, very clean. Of course the fridge is one you have to pay to take anything out of and there was no microwave in the room. We used the room service and it was very prompt, and the food was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am getting married this summer in Detroit. my groom and I were looking for hotels in the area to stay on our wedding night and for our out of town guests. we called several area hotels. Motor city never called back, MGM was two expensive, Greektown won. Sasha returned my call within 20 minutes, she was cheerful upbeat and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the motor city casino for the first portion of my vacation and was very disappointed, the second half was at greektown and was completely different. Friendly staff, fantastic location, and a free upgrade to the top floor!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was nice but...Lots of noise in the hallways in the middle of the night, slamming doors, loud conversations on a Sunday night. Impossible to get a good nights rest. The other Detroit casino hotels have much more peaceful environments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Edward for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent visit to Greektown Casino-Hotel. I am sorry that you experienced a problem during your last visit in regards to the noise in the hallways. We are committed to providing the best guest experience in Detroit and I am sorry we did not... More 

Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My mom and I came to Detroit for a funeral. I chose this hotel for proximity to the service and because of the price. My husband and I stayed here before a few years ago. The room was much nicer then! I believe they went the cheap route on furnishings and quality. They are now paying for it by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt B, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are committed to providing the best guest experience in Detroit and I am sorry that we did not deliver on that commitment. Can you please email socialmedia@greektowncasino.com with the room number you stayed in so we can get the room furnishings inspected and updated? Again, thank you for your... More 

Belleville, Michigan
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stay here a few time a year. The front dest was great. Service was good. Casino staff was very friendly when we went down in the morning. Love this place. Could not give them all the stars, due to the smokey smell in the casino. Need better ventilation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are currently in the process of a $15 million dollar renovation on our H VAC systems to improve our air quality throughout the casino and hotel areas. Hopefully by your next trip, the renovations will be complete! Hope to see you back soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

214 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (209)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question