We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
525 West Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226
Special Offer
Park & Dine 50% Savings!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Add Photo Write a Review

830 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    374
    296
    81
    44
    35
See reviews for
162
195
46
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (830)
  • Mar-May only
    (202)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (213)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (230)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (185)
All months
Seymour
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our stay at this hotel couldn't have been any better. We stayed here for the ELCA National Youth Gathering and the hotel was fabulous to us. Everything from the breakfast buffets, clean rooms and extremely friendly front desk staff was above expectations. I would definitely stay there any time I go to Detroit. PS, the cookies were fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay at the doubletree in downtown Detroit. The room was a two room king bed. The first room was a living area and the second room was king bed. A very strong AC to keep the room cool. Great Wifi service. A better quality breakfast services and it is an older hotel but the rooms have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

We thank you for the review. We look forward to being of service in the future. More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Kind of your typical downtown Double Tree, it is an old hotel but everything was clean, well maintained and smelled fresh. Room service was reasonably priced and the food came hot and exactly as ordered. Of corse the cookies are an extra reason to stay a any Double Tree.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

We thank you for choosing the DoubleTree Downtown Detroit Fort Shelby. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Detroit. We will have a cookie waiting for you. More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Decided to spend a couple of nights in "D" to see the Detroit Institute of Art and Motown History Museum a.k.a. "Hitsville". Selected the Doubletree based on reviews here and was not disappointed. Had a Hilton rewards room on a higher floor..and it was like a small apartment. Very quiet, separate room with couch, desk, coffee maker, t.v., mini fridge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Detroit. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The husband and I stayed at this Doubletree based on the proximity to Comerica Stadium. We were in town to watch our Baltimore Orioles beat on the Detroit Tigers (Go O's). This hotel was perfect. The free shuttle took us to the stadium. The driver (Thomas) was very friendly and gave us tips on food and other things to see... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time you write a response. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back, the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Detroit, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a gem of Detroit. I travel to this city almost every week and usually stay at another location. During my most recent stay, the staff were exceptional, my room was upgraded, the food was good, and the hotel was tidy. It was just as nice as my usual location only less expensive. This hotel is top notch... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We work hard to be our valued guests first choice. I am pleased to see that the teams hard work shined. We will look forward to being your hotel of choice in the future! More 

Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
328 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had previously had an excellent experience, but this time was a different story. We arrived on a week where the sidewalk in front of the hotel was all ripped up, and the parking lot we usually park in was closed because of it. As a result, we were forced to use valet parking for $28/day - ouch! We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. I am truly sorry, that you did not feel this experience matched your previous visit. The experience each valued guest has is very important to us as is cleanliness. I assure you, your comments have been addressed. I again want to... More 

Arlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a terrific hotel. The location is a short walk from Tigers stadium, the beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, and they offer a shuttle to take you to sites within 3 miles. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there next time I am in town.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Louisville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. People mover one block away. Warm cookie given at check-in. Nice room with free wifi and refrigerator. Friendly staff. Valet parking only. Nice restaurant and deli on the lobby floor. Waterfront only a 10 minute walk away.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your tie with us. I thank you for taking the time to provide us with the great feedback. We value you, and look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Woodbridge
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was awesome! We had a minor problem with check in due to duplicate reservations with Hilton Honors but it was all resoloved. The hotel staff was great and made us feel at home. We were given warm cookies and greeted with a smile. The room was like mini apartments.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for being a Hilton Honors member. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.2 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#8 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
8.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay