We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
525 West Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226
Special Offer
Park & Dine 50% Savings!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Add Photo

803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    362
    285
    79
    42
    35
See reviews for
153
187
45
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (803)
  • Mar-May only
    (202)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (186)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (230)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (185)
All months
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It was a little pricey for not being more centrally located in the city but the staff was pleasant and the room was great. I would recommend this hotel to an out-of-town visitor who doesn't mind using their shuttle or a taxi. The room was very clean and if it was drizzling we would have had a great view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location for sporting events. Free shuttle service available. Excellent accommodations with great view of the city & waterway. Staff was very friendly & helpful . . .but be aware of the $28 per day parking that will be tacked on to your bill.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Our hotel does only offer Valet Parking at a current rate of $28.00 per night. We look forward to welcoming you back, the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel, downtown Detroit met well with our expectations. Not the type designer hotel, not the most recent, but decent with very spacious rooms. In fact all the rooms are suites. Nice, well equipped bathroom. Good access to the internet, but any customer friendly hotel should offer WIFI for free. In all, a decent hotel for short stays

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for the feedback about your recent stay. We are pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your time with us. I would like to point out, that we are pleased to offer each guest free internet. So there should have been no charge. We look forward to being of service the next time you... More 

Canton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff made everyone feel that their needs were important, and worth meeting with excellence. From the moment you pulled your car to the door, the staff of Double-Tree was ready to provide quality service.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

We are pleased to see we delivered our Doubletree Promise of amazing service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back with a signature warm cookie. More 

Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff. Attention to detail, varied and very good breakfast, valet parking, central location in a beautifully restored building. Spacious and well appointed rooms. Would certainly be back here when returning to Detroit.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit. Thank you for the feedback. More 

Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay at the DoubleTree. David T from the restaurant made sure that all of out guests were treated like royalty. We were all extremely impressed with how professional the restaurant staff were. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy. The food was delicious and the drinks were fantastic. We plan on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. I have also thanked David for the great service he provided to your group. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The suites are quite nice with a living room area that has a pull-out sofa bed. We found the overall room to be very spacious. The bathroom has a shower and toilet in a somewhat compact private space with the sink in an outer, non-private area. The room was clean and bright. Housekeeping was thorough. The front desk was friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for informative review. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We thank you for staying and look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved this hotel on my first visit so we stayed there again. The attention to detail was lacking on visit #2. The room size and layout are great and the beds are comfortable. Day two we were short a towel, the little coffee maker in the room didn't work properly and there were no sheets (that I could find)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I want to thank you for the constructive feedback. It is with the help of each valued guest, that we are able to address and issues that you may experience. I want you to know your comments\Concerns have been addressed and followed up on. We will be happy to welcome you the next time you are in Detroit. With an... More 

Detroit, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a wonderful time at the Double Tree. Only setbacks were being checked into the wrong type of room, which was corrected immediately, and the A/C didn't work, which was also corrected immediately. Fast friendly service. Checkout could have been a tiny bit faster but who cares! For the price, the quality of the room was amazing. BEWARE OF... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback. I am sorry, about the parking lot next door, you are right, they are not owned or operated by us. I am also sorry, that you had a room type issue and a HVAC issue. I am glad the service was friendly and we were able to address... More 

detroit, United States
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

arrived late, no other rooms available, and the a/c in my room wasn't functioning. I called the front desk and Charleton indicated someone would be right up. Called 15 minutes later and still no one. Called again only to find out there was a shift change. The person was helpful, and did send someone up who adjusted a fuse box,... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for staying with us and for the feed back. I am truly sorry, that you had and issue with the HVAC. I am embarrassed, by the wait time you described. You are absolutely correct, it should not have been that difficult. Our goal is to provide a great experience while you are staying with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay