We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
525 West Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226
Special Offer
Park & Dine 50% Savings!
2 people have started booking this hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    268
    75
    40
    35
See reviews for
146
177
42
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (759)
  • Mar-May only
    (174)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (171)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (230)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (184)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First of all I love seeing historical properties like this being refurbished and given new life, and this is a beautiful property overall. My wife and I stayed here after going to a Red Wings game to have a night out and it was very well located for that purpose. Overall we had a very good experience. The hotel shuttle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My 2 brothers and I stayed here after seeing a Red Wings game. Hotel is close to the stadium. It was an early game but we were able to valet the car and check valuables at the desk since we could not check in until 3 PM. Overall the room was nice - we played rock paper scissors for who... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Detroit. We will have a warm cookie ready for you. More 

east lansing, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place, in near the heart of downtown. This historic building was updated in a tasteful way. The weekend price is amzing for what you get. After staying here I"m considering joining there Hilton awards thingy.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time here. You are not only welcomed, but encouraged to sign up for our Hilton Honors reward program. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed one night at the Doubltree when I traveled for business recently. As expected, the suite was spacious with a living area, large bedroom and bathroom. But the hotel property was not up to the usual Doubletree standards. It had an air of tiredness about it. There was some peeling wallpaper in my room and the carpet was old.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We have addressed the issues in your suite. Total guest satisfaction is important to you. I am pleased that my staff was responsive and friendly. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My best friend Anneke and I arrived after driving four hours. We got there at four pm to be told that a. Valet parking was $27 and b. Our room wasn't ready yet despite being told on the phone earlier that checkin was 3 pm. Anneke and I were worried we wouldn't make it to our concert in time. (Garth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to again apologize for the delay at check in. I thank you for staying with us and hope you had a great time at the concert. Enjoy the usage of the Hilton honors points. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a Red Wings game and it was perfect. From the start the experience was perfect. We were a little upset when we read you had to do valet parking but when arrived we saw it was necessary due to the hotel location. There was so many staff to help it was not a problem. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to provide us with such positive feedback. We value and thank each guest that choices to entrust their time away from home with us. We look forward to being of service again soon! More 

indiana, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent 2 nights. On the first night thermostat didn't work stayed up for maintenance that never showed up. Second day came back pretty late to find housekeeping never showed up. On my way out spoke to the manager who promised to get back to me the same day and still waiting for that call. Yup I'm a diamond member... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. We strive to provide each guest with a great experience. I am sorry, that we fell short of that promise during your stay. Your concerns are valid and appreciated. We will use the feedback to provide an amazing time to each... More 

McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Super hotel, with very comfortable bedding. The separate living area is a nice plus. We walked to Joe Louis Arena & Tommy's (fun place to grab drinks and food before the game. There is a free shuttle if you desire -we used it to go to Greek Town. Valet parking was $27 per day - in/out anytime - a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Detroit. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel location is great for concerts. However the shuttle driver never picked us up from concert as promised. We called three times and had to walk back in downtown Detroit with 5 children. The bathroom was dirty and room was not well cared for. Walls were dirty with spilled sodas and a few holes.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I apologize that there was an issue with the shuttle. We strive to provide each guest with an amazing experience. Your feedback will help us make that happen. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit. More 

Mount Brydges Ontario
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a Wings game. Room had a sitting room area and a bedroom, pretty big for the price i thought. It was clean, quiet, close to the Joe Louis Arena. Got a decent deal on it but would have no problem staying here again. Be aware of the valet parking, something i didnt notice until after i booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larry B, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for staying with us. It is a pleasure being of service. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question