We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
13181 Michigan Avenue, Dearborn, MI 48126
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    7
    14
See reviews for
3
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

This is the worst hotel I have ever visited. Yes, it's old. But I've seen 100 year old women in better shape. I imagine hotels generally make money, so why do you get the idea that the management/staff care little or not at all about upkeep? EVERY ROOM has problems. First of all, the complaints on this site about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I stayed overnight, last minute. Easy and quick accommodations.Quiet and safe.This always important when I'm traveling alone. (Good experience for the price). Located in convenient downtown Dearborn. Big mall -(Fairlane Town Center)-and lots of shopping near by was a great plus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spring Lake, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We did not stay the place was a dump! Unsavory characters in the lobby & surroundings. Smokey, dirty carpet, & rundown condition! Everything was very confining from elevator to hallways, & lobby. The surroundings like parking lot were seemingly unsafe- that area fencing from the public should be a must- not safe to walk or park!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlat K, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your current stay at our location. I understand that the rooms are on the small side, the building was built in the 1800's, so there is a lot of history here. As far as the dirty carpet and the smell of smoke I will address the staff members about this. The area... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there one night in October 2014 when my furnace went out. It was an average stay. The room was small and average looking, but comfortable. The water was hot and the service when I needed a remote control delivered to the room and the heater checked was prompt. I would stay again if need be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlat K, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. We enjoy hearing from our guests. We try very hard to meet the needs of all our guests. If you are in need of another room please feel free to come back. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I was not happy with this property. It looked OK from inside. I had a room on fourth floor with two queen beds, for 3 nights. I know the price was not bad so I didn't expect too much. But this was one of the worst i ever experienced: *Carpet was extremely dirty *Both sinks didn't work well. Not enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlat K, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry about your bad stay. We as a whole staff are working very hard to get this hotel on the up side of things. We have already replaced the missing screens, as well as other needed areas needed tended to. If ever you are in the area again please give our location another try. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

This hotel is a **** show. The neighbor offered me a hit of his weed and the service is horrible. I didn't feel safe there and the tv is 30 years old. Bring some electrical tape with you cause all the wires were cut. Bring a gas mask as well cause it smells like sex and weed. The door to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlat K, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, As mentioned in other reviews we are working vigorously with our staff regarding the mishaps that do turn up. Our TV's have been upgraded for your convenience. The area is very safe. I'm not sure what certain smells smell like, but I do apologize for any you encountered. If you are ever in the Dearborn area please feel... More 

Interlochen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I didn't read the TripAdvisor reviews until after I'd booked. Bad move. I won't do that again. I did not have an issue with the location. I've always stayed in other parts of Detroit and wanted to explore more in this neighborhood. I'm normally not all that picky when it comes to my expectations for a hotel this cheap. But...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlat K, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I do not understand by looks like a disaster, our building is very old and historic on the inside as well as the outside. No A/C units have ever fallen out of any windows here. I would also like to apologize about the rude behavior from the hotel staff. More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

You get what you pay for. We used because it was a cheap alternative compared to other hotels around. No breakfast like the pictures showed. No close restaurants. Old, worn down rooms. We asked about an upgrade like our Americas Best Value membership promised, but she did not know what we were talking about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlat K, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry the breakfast was not up to standard, as we are under new management we are working toward more variety, As far as the ABVI membership up grade if there was in fact an upgraded room you should have been given it. In the downtown Dearborn area there is plenty of nearby restaurants close in proximity for... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in one of the most run down parts of Detroit. We had to drive MILES to find a civilized restaurant. It looks like a war zone. There were holes in walls, bathroom door would lock you in, bed not properly made (blamed on maintenance people), floors on slant, tv at least 20 feet from bed (long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This place is dirty. I am not someone who really worries too much about that - but this place surpassed even the worst hotel I have ever been in. Also one of the beds was so broken - my buddy looked like her was on a hammock. The bed drooped. If this bed was in a movie - it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawlat K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Detroit/Dearborn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you found our hotel dirty. This is absolutely not acceptable to us and we assure you that we have shared your comments with our entire staff to correct this problem. Please come back and try us again to see that your experience is not the norm. Thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dearborn
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Dearborn
5.1 mi away
A Victory Inn - West Dearborn
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Greenfield Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
2.3 mi away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay