We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center

GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
600 Town Center Drive, Fairlane Town Center, Dearborn, MI 48126-2793 (Formerly Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center
Add Photo

815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    226
    227
    177
    112
    73
See reviews for
193
128
69
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (815)
  • Mar-May only
    (189)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (262)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (216)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (148)
All months
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

RDH was simply, OK. Nothing spectacular, no horror stories to report, but adequate for our weekend stay where all of our group events/activities were held. It does feel like (but NOT look like) its on the verge of closure, or another unannounced management/owner change, is just a step away. Although the facility had my email address, never notified me (or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Flemington, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Everything about this hotel is just off somehow. We didn't know that they had changed the name about two weeks ago, so we didn't think we had the right hotel at first. They had my email, I made my reservation with the hotel, couldn't they have told us? Check in was interesting- took me 20 minutes to get a luggage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kristie L, Manager at Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hi Clteach, Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We apologize for the breakdown in communication with the name change. The Royal Dearborn Hotel promised to offer an exceptional experience with best-in-class service and we want you to be happy with your stay. We are sorry to hear that about the shower nozzle too... More 

Starkville, Mississippi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm currently staying here with a group so unfortunately this hotel wasn't my choice. The first thing I noticed was the gorgeous lobby with the dirty carpet. The room itself is a little better than I expected after reading the negative reviews. Bathroom was clean, sheets were clean, beds were comfortable so no complaints there. I did have to call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kristie L, Manager at Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hi kmprofice, We are excited to let you know that we are redoing the carpet to match the luster of the new Royal Dearborn. Our new management is continuing the establishment's commitment to excellent service. We are sorry to hear about the event with the towels and fridge. We will speak with our team regarding the event to make sure... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is massive yet you feel as if you are the only one there...wait, you just might be. This hotel feels like something out of a movie where the poor employees are doomed to spend an eternity working for a business with no customers. It's not dirty or noisy or dreadfully outdated...just very bizarre, almost like it forgot to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristie L, Manager at Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hi Sean T, Thank you for choosing us! We love the grandeur of our hotel and like to share it with our patrons. Historically, April is a slower month for all hotels not just ours. It gives those that desire it some extra peace and quiet. Come visit us in the summer if you’d like to meet some new people!... More 

East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't believe they brought me a sheet to make up my own bed. Wow! Although the Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center is quite picturesque, my experience did not live up to its appearance. I'll explain the negatives first and try to end this review on a positive note. The negatives: It's quite taxing on a wheelchair user to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were visiting family. Check in staff were nice and friendly. Hotel is nice. My only complaint is our bathroom had someone else's hair next to the sink,shavings and a few strands. Starbucks Coffee complete with luch variety as well as quick breakfast type foods. Fresh lemon and cucumber er water in the lobby was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristie L, Manager at Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello Khetam A, We hope you had a nice visit with your family. We are so grateful that you chose to stay with us and took the time to tell us how it went! It is very upsetting to me that you found hair in your bathroom. There’s no getting around it, that’s just gross. We hope you accept our... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The service is very poor, the rooms are dirty. Bed skirts have liquid stains, office chair had white stains, they folded & hung a dirty towel on the towel holder/rack. Bathtubs/showers drain extremely slowly. Hair from the previous stay found all over the bathroom, in tub, on sink, on shower curtains. Shower curtains stained & dirty. When I requested a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kristie L, Manager at Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello payingconsumerreport, Thank you so much for your feedback. We completely understand your grievances and are thankful you brought them to our attention. We agree with you, poor service is unacceptably. It is very disappointing to me that your room was dirty. I hope that it will be some consolation to you that my staff will be notified and this... More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just to qualify this- this is not a bad hotel, it's just not great. It is stunning in appearance both outside and in- an Art Deco interpretation on the scale of a star Wars imperial palace. It is absolutely enormous and that's one of my issues- 700 rooms and we were all next to the high school kids trip that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kristie L, Manager at Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello Maidin D, Thank you very much for telling us how you liked your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere and friendly staff. We are also happy that you got to try the restaurant out. The fresh market salad stand is very good. I am sorry that there were a few things that you did not like.... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Adoba. The staff were excellent. They even helped redo our package to include the Henry Ford and Greenfield Village tickets, along with a breakfast for each morning. The pool was a nice place to relax and my son, daughter and myself were able to use the fitness center. We were very satisfied with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kristie L, Manager at Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello Barb1124, Thank you so much for review us! We appreciate your kind words. I am so glad you that you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed our friendly staff and location. You are welcome back anytime! Sincerely, Hotel Management More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff is very friendly and does do their best to be helpful. This was the fifth or sixth visit for me over the past two years. Also if you are planning a group event that there are lots of public spaces for people to hang out between meetings or workshops. It seems that there is always something broken with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kristie L, Manager at Royal Dearborn Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Hello J S, I am so glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and public areas. We apologize that the atmosphere wasn't pleasant for you. I am happy to hear that everything went smoothly at check-in. Thank you so much for giving us feedback on how your stay went. We hope you will return again. Sincerely, Hotel Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay