We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Copper Harbor hotels

The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse

Save
You added The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse to your Saves list
840 Gratiot Street (Hwy M 26), Copper Harbor, MI 49918
Hotel amenities
The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Marquette, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We stayed here to see fall colors and it was great. We called a few times ahead to ask about how the colors were and the owner was so helpful, we nailed it! The room we had was small but as listed very "cozy", We peeked in a room with 2 beds and it was much bigger. We didn't come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. We always like to hear when folks had a nice experience. I’m glad you enjoyed Copper Harbor and your stay at our motel; I enjoyed visiting with you over coffee. I hope you got some good photos of the fall colors! More 

Denmark, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My honey and I checked out the online info about what motels in Copper Harbor took pets. The Brockway Inn was the only one that did. What we had read on their web site sounded good. So we called and made a reservation for one night on the 8th of Oct. I am so glad it was only one night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

First of all you need to get your facts straight. Our motel is not the only one in town that takes pets; I believe there is only one that does not. Your room (#1) is NOT advertised as having a whirlpool tub nor priced there as. There are two rooms with one double bed and a single whirlpool tub. Your... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Cob webs everywhere, giant spiders, old squeaky bed and smelled like an old attic. Walls are thin you can hear everyone else walking around and taking a shower. Bring a pillow because the ones they have are flat. If you just need one night like us it will work but anything longer look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Wow, a little harsh there. The rooms do not have webs or spiders in them and are very clean, you failed to mention that. The enclosed porch however, does have some spideys, a moth or even a walking stick occasionally. They apparently freaked you out and I’m sorry about that. We do live in the Northwoods. I don’t think our... More 

Okemos
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Very nice and friendly owners. Location is excellent and rooms are adequate. This motel is located in a small community at the most northwest point of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. It is an excellent location to take the ferry boat to Isle Royale National Park or to explore the wilds of this remote and beautiful area. The coffee shop on property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your assessment of our motel and acknowledging the nice owners. We are glad you enjoyed Copper Harbor and that we were able to provide a place for you while you visited this amazing area! More 

Newberg, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were very impressed with the staff, probably owners. Very friendly and helpful. There are only six available rooms, and a coffee shop. The room was clean, a well as the hallway and the bathroom. Microwave out in the hall - frig is also in the hall- not too crazy about that, but this time we didn't need either. Across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words and for sharing your experience. It's our goal to make guests feel at home and comfy while visiting Copper Harbor. Yes, it’s nice to have the Berry Patch next door, although it makes it easy to eat too much ice cream! More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

After doing my research I felt quite confident in booking at the Brockway Inn Motel and Coffeehouse. After showing up in Copper Harbor and finding the Inn and our room I was very disappointed. The inn is located at the very end of the Copper Harbor strip. Not that it's a huge walk but probably around half a mile. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

It’s unfortunate you were disappointed. If location was important, your research should have included inquiring about it. I’m sincerely puzzled where/how the floors “caved down”. The furniture is dated, this is not a secret, however all the bedding and curtains are new. I service the rooms myself and they are very clean. I do admit scuff marks on the wall... More 

Warren, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel and was rather disappointed. Very run down, with old mattresses and furnishings. The tub is an old jacuzzi with mold in the jets. Was very dangerous to try and stand in for showering. The bathroom window was large and faced a home behind the hotel. Dirt and mold on see thru curtains. Hotel carpet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

I am so sorry about the wet carpet. When you told me about that I was horrified. Apparently a pipe has burst in the wall. Not something one wants to hear in August, but when they bust, they bust. And the naughty red squirrel in the attic has been evicted. I didn’t think you were still upset about this, it... More 

White Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have stayed at the Brockway Inn many times. We have always had a great experience. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable. The location is great, you can walk anywhere in town, especially the Berry Patch ice cream shop, next door. The owners, Karen and Steve, are very friendly and really know the area. They can recommend a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. We enjoy helping our guests get the most out of their trip to Copper Harbor and appreciate hearing you had a nice experience, that is important to us. More 

South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Clean, neat motel was a welcome sight in a snowstorm. Kind owner welcomed us and our dogs, was a wealth of info on Copper Harbor. Glad we found this place. Safe haven in a winter storm. Great place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for expressing your appreciation, that's really nice. We don't have many visitors in November, especially during snowstorms! Glad we could be of service. More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I found this place online while researching and planning my trip to Isle Royale. When I called to make my reservation they were very pleasant and took care of business. Sometimes I had calling to make reservations because you get an agent who wastes your time with platitudes and upgrade offers. I was very happy that this wasn't the case.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Karen K, Owner at The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your upfront assessment of our motel (and us). Our place is dated and small, but we aim big to give visitors a nice, clean place to stay where they can be comfortable and feel at home when they visit Copper Harbor (and of course great coffee). We do love this place and truly enjoy sharing its natural... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brockway Inn - Motel & Coffeehouse

Address: 840 Gratiot Street (Hwy M 26), Copper Harbor, MI 49918
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay