We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pottawattamie Resort

4766 Arbor Avenue, Coloma, MI
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coloma
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pottawattamie Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    0
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Spencerville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I typically only leave feedback when it's positive, however our experience with this place needs to be shared as a warning to anyone considering staying here. Prior to our arrival, I was told that our particular villa was "plain", that we needed to bring our own towels, and then the day prior to check-in I was contacted with notification of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nothing at all like the website advertises. The prices they ask for are outrageous for what you actually get. Ex: No a/c (in 90 degree summer mind you), select working bathrooms (of course they don't mention that), mold, trash piling up on garbage cans, water damaged ceilings, musty smelling, walkway stairs to the beach with rotten wood and rusty nails,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Travelers are raving about these Coloma hotels

O'Fallon, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our first clue as to something was “not quite right” was when the “rental” agent told us to “bring your own towels” because “they couldn’t keep them” in the place! We observed the condemned cabins upon our arrival as well as other sights that did not lend to a destination labeled a “resort.” The staff directed us to our “villa/townhouse”.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

terrible conditions now the property has 5 condemmed buildings the garbage was not picked up for 3 months. It is unsafe there was a terrible fire that burned all of the cabins down, thank god no one was killed. the owners does nothing to improve the property the village is aware of all the problem and have condemmed the buildings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Gerald J, Board Member at Pottawattamie Resort, responded to this review

I am a board member of the Pottawattamie Condominium Association, in Coloma Michigan, which includes 6 board members, Our Association includes 23 condo's, 18 of which are are privately owned with a purchase price range of $175,000 to $595,000. Pottawattamie Resort is located on 19 acres of beautiful land overlooking Lake Michigan. We have a in ground pool, a paved... More 

Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Be very careful if you haven't seen this place in person first. Their brochure makes it look like some nice resort with pool, cabins and condos. It has all that, but the compound as a whole is pretty scary. Many broken down cabins, and none of them were at all inviting. There were two condo buildings I believe, but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I had my 30th birthday here and boy was it fun! The private beach was amazing as were the rooms :) We celebrated at a bar just up the road, Michigan Breeze, ate some pizza, listened to some tunes, and had some drinks. I never wanted to leave! Can't wait to go back again! Pottawattamie is most definitely my new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have been going to Pottawattamie Resort with my Friends for over 15 years now. We rent the a cottage for 2 weeks. We love it there. I have 2 friends and a grown daughter who rent seperate cottages also. When I started coming to Pottawattamie our kids were teenagers. They stopped coming for awhile but now the love it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Went to Pottawattamie resort as a part of wedding party, must say it was the most beautiful wedding i have been to , what a great setting....A large tents set up on the spacious grounds, wedding was on bluff overlooking Lake Michigan . A golf cart path took you down to the privet beech.... We had a one bedroom condo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I've done a lot of camping in my day and can say that I've had better stays in a tent. This place isn't "rustic" as that still implies clean and a good deal. This place is neither. We stayed in "cabin" #7. It's not a cabin, but a single wide trailer home on cinder blocks. As you enter the "cabin"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Gerald J, Board Member at Pottawattamie Resort, responded to this review

The cabins this review is written about no longer exist, new units are to be built in their place Gerald J More 

Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place is a dump. It is not clean, everything is broken, and the price is outrageous. The beds are just cots with egg crates. They should be embarrassed to rent a place like that. DO NOT STAY HERE. You have been warned.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Gerald J, Board Member at Pottawattamie Resort, responded to this review

The cabins this review refers to no longer exist, new units to be built in their place Gerald J More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coloma
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
6.9 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
7.6 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
8.9 mi away
Saint Joseph Inn
Saint Joseph Inn
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
13.1 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities