We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Coloma B&Bs / inns

Pottawattamie Resort

Save
You added Pottawattamie Resort to your Saves list
4766 Arbor Avenue, Coloma, MI
Hotel amenities
Pottawattamie Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Coloma B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coloma
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Spencerville, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I typically only leave feedback when it's positive, however our experience with this place needs to be shared as a warning to anyone considering staying here. Prior to our arrival, I was told that our particular villa was "plain", that we needed to bring our own towels, and then the day prior to check-in I was contacted with notification of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nothing at all like the website advertises. The prices they ask for are outrageous for what you actually get. Ex: No a/c (in 90 degree summer mind you), select working bathrooms (of course they don't mention that), mold, trash piling up on garbage cans, water damaged ceilings, musty smelling, walkway stairs to the beach with rotten wood and rusty nails,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
O'Fallon, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our first clue as to something was “not quite right” was when the “rental” agent told us to “bring your own towels” because “they couldn’t keep them” in the place! We observed the condemned cabins upon our arrival as well as other sights that did not lend to a destination labeled a “resort.” The staff directed us to our “villa/townhouse”.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

terrible conditions now the property has 5 condemmed buildings the garbage was not picked up for 3 months. It is unsafe there was a terrible fire that burned all of the cabins down, thank god no one was killed. the owners does nothing to improve the property the village is aware of all the problem and have condemmed the buildings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Gerald J, Board Member at Pottawattamie Resort, responded to this review

I am a board member of the Pottawattamie Condominium Association, in Coloma Michigan, which includes 6 board members, Our Association includes 23 condo's, 18 of which are are privately owned with a purchase price range of $175,000 to $595,000. Pottawattamie Resort is located on 19 acres of beautiful land overlooking Lake Michigan. We have a in ground pool, a paved... More

Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Be very careful if you haven't seen this place in person first. Their brochure makes it look like some nice resort with pool, cabins and condos. It has all that, but the compound as a whole is pretty scary. Many broken down cabins, and none of them were at all inviting. There were two condo buildings I believe, but we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I had my 30th birthday here and boy was it fun! The private beach was amazing as were the rooms :) We celebrated at a bar just up the road, Michigan Breeze, ate some pizza, listened to some tunes, and had some drinks. I never wanted to leave! Can't wait to go back again! Pottawattamie is most definitely my new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have been going to Pottawattamie Resort with my Friends for over 15 years now. We rent the a cottage for 2 weeks. We love it there. I have 2 friends and a grown daughter who rent seperate cottages also. When I started coming to Pottawattamie our kids were teenagers. They stopped coming for awhile but now the love it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Park Ridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My family and I have been coming here for 13 years, and will keep coming as long this place is open. We have mannaged to stay in almost every cabin. And yes, they are rustic and they could look a little nicer, but we don't keep coming for the cabins. We keep coming for the BEACH!!! (Who really goes on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Went to Pottawattamie resort as a part of wedding party, must say it was the most beautiful wedding i have been to , what a great setting....A large tents set up on the spacious grounds, wedding was on bluff overlooking Lake Michigan . A golf cart path took you down to the privet beech.... We had a one bedroom condo... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I've done a lot of camping in my day and can say that I've had better stays in a tent. This place isn't "rustic" as that still implies clean and a good deal. This place is neither. We stayed in "cabin" #7. It's not a cabin, but a single wide trailer home on cinder blocks. As you enter the "cabin"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Gerald J, Board Member at Pottawattamie Resort, responded to this review

The cabins this review is written about no longer exist, new units are to be built in their place Gerald J More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pottawattamie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pottawattamie Resort

Address: 4766 Arbor Avenue, Coloma, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Coloma
Number of rooms: 11

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay