We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Charlotte hotels

Americas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   828 E Shepherd Street, Charlotte, MI 48813-2264 (Formerly Super 8 Motel Charlotte)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Charlotte
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014
mprther35 Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (8)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

While the staff was friendly, the handicap room was to small for even my husbands walker to get around. The beds are very old and very hard and we were charged 15.00 for my husbands service dog, which I believe is illegal. I will be looking into that further. For 84.00 which is what we paid I wish we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackie N, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear mprther35; I have just refunded the pet fee. Did you inform the clerk when you check in that your dog is a service dog? And you are correct, there is no pet fee for service dogs. I'm am sorry your stay was so uncomfortable. I have lowered your rate and refunded your cc. If you have any questions, please... More

Romulus, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Americas Best Value Inn in Charlotte, Michigan was exactly what we needed. It was clean and comfortable and the staff was eager to please. I have never stayed in a hotel of such quality for anywhere close to the price I paid there. To receive that type of quality, I have paid over $100 a night instead of a fraction... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing I can really point to, but I just felt like the place was not clean. I kept expecting to see or feel bedbugs - not that I ever did. It was okay for what the room cost, but nothing was great. Bed was very hard and lumpy. Lighting was poor. Not enough light to read in bed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The people who work here are WONDERFUL. breakfast is same as most hotels They have few select rooms with good beds and some items that need fixed. The staff will do everything in their power to make your stay comfortable. Trying to find them online is ridiculous, you are better off calling Americas best and ask them, BUT make sure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I travel frequently to Lansing and Charlotte for business and this property is well-managed with professional staff and wonderful accommodations. The beds are comfortable and always clean. I have stayed there many times and I always have a clean room. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is always delicious and well prepared. The people at the front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jackie N, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We are looking forward to your next time here! More

michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a chain motel off the expressway, nothing special. We did not stay at the motel because of the ignorant untrained rude desk clerk. We were in town due to death in family. There were perhaps 3 cars in parking lot not a good sign on a weekend night. Entered motel and had to ring bell for service. A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jackie N, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We would like to sincerely apologize for your experience at our hotel. We would like you to know that we have dealt with the situation and be assured that this will never happen again here. Please accept our apologies and we would love another opportunity to service you next time you are in town. Thank you for letting us know... More

West Bend, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stopover in return trip from Toronto to Wisconsin. Front desk helpful in working with TV remote that wouldn't work (never did solve problem). Restaurant guide in room was helpful. Quiet night, comfortable Q bed. Good breakfast selection.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jackie N, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We do apologize that the remote was not working in your room. Please come back and see us in the future. More

Louisville, Ky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

We were very pleased with our visit. The rooms were comfortable and clean and staff was very courteous and helpful. Breakfast was nice and we feel it was a good value for the money. We recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 828 E Shepherd Street, Charlotte, MI 48813-2264 (Formerly Super 8 Motel Charlotte)
Location: United States > Michigan > Eaton County > Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charlotte
Super Eight Charlotte
Charlotte Super Eight
Charlotte Super 8

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Charlotte is located just off I-69, exit 60. We are less than 2 miles from Charlotte Performing Arts Center, which offer musicals, recitals, acrobats, and even a cabaret. Charlotte Historical Court House is a must see for its two Civil War cannons. Business travelers love our hotel's location in Charlotte for its proximity to such companies as Spartan Motors Inc, Hayes Green Beach Memorial Hospital, L.L. Johnson Lumber, Eaton Rapids Medical Center, and General Motors Co. Olivet College, Woldumar Nature Center, and Michigan State University are also of a short drive. If you're looking for a good meal, Eaton Pub and Grille, J and J Eaton Place, and Fay's Evelyn Bay Coffee are all within less than a mile from our hot ... more   less 
Number of rooms
49

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer