We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Charlevoix hotels

Charlevoix Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Petoskey Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special
Save Saved
You added Charlevoix Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
68%
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Bogie-7043 Sterling Heights, Michigan
  • Overview
  • Reviews (48)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
19
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Exterior is attractive and the property is close to town where the restaurants and shopping are located. Room keys did not work well requiring return to check in. We had room with two queens and they were beyond soft. No good if you prefer a firm mattress. Bathroom was small, only a sliding door and shower stall, no tub. Clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was quite small, but was adequate for one night. The pool and jacuzzi were very hazy, not clean at all. The scum on the sides of the pool was so thick that people (children?) were writing their names on the scum. The hand rails were clean until they got to water level, then very hard thick scum was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good day! Thank you for your review, and I'm very sorry for the condition you found our pool area and the room. I assure you that I am addressing this issue immediately. In regards to our Lake Charlevoix views, I'm sorry that you didn't care that we are set back from Lake Charlevoix. While we don't have direct lake access,... More

Olivet, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Charlevoix Inn & Suites as a group of friends over Memorial Day Weekend. We were all able to get reservations very easily a couple weeks prior to the holiday. The rate was ok. The bedding and rooms were clean. However, the door lock had been jammed in the past and you had to be very careful to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good day! Thank you for your review and your stay at our hotel.. While I'm pleased that you enjoyed our staff, but I'm very sorry for the condition of pool and other items you found during your stay. Please accept my apologies to not responding to the surveys that reported this issue. When the surveys don't have the guest's name,... More

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. It is one of the most cost effective locations very close to the city. It is comfortable but not luxury. If you are looking for value and still stay close to the city, this is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your stay and your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and the proximity it is to downtown Charlevoix. We are continually improving the property. Since June 2013, when we took ownership of the hotel, we have done a done of "back-of-house" items as well as some "front-of-house" items. More are in the works in... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The reviews for this hotel seemed good. So we gave it a shot. We arrived early at 1:30 and room was not available. Not a big deal as check in is 3. So we went downtown and came back at 2:45. Room was still not ready as other people arrived and checked in. 3 still not ready. We finally checked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good day! Thank you so much for your review, but I'm terribly sorry for the trouble you had with the room not being prepared in time for your arrival. I have addressed this with my Front Desk and Housekeeping teams. I'm terribly sorry that the Front Desk didn't offer you a discount for the trouble you were put through as... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stopped in late and they were very nice and had a room available. Rooms are nice and clean. Pool and hot tub very clean. Great experience and would come here again. Very reasonable priced. Staff are very nice. You get more than you pay for ..........

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed everything. You should like our renovations coming soon! We're excited to keep making the hotel better and better for our guests - we love creating great value! Have a wonderful day and come to Charlevoix soon again. Best, Jonathan P. General Manager More

Livonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were in town for New Years Eve. The Weather Vane and Edgewater Bistro are a short walk. Room was very clean and comfortable. Very nice personel and breakfast bar. Weather permitting the Pine River, Round Lake, and the Lighthouse are a nice stroll.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! I apologize for my delay in thanking you for your review and your stay. I'm glad you got to enjoy your stay and took a nice stroll down to Weathervane restaurant. That's a wonderful restaurant. I hope you've had a nice winter and come visit again, soon! Best, Jonathan P. General Manager More

Amsterdam
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

12/30/13-This hotel fully met our expectations and at a great price. Old reported problems seem to have been overcome by new ownership. Rooms were very clean. Staff friendly. Breakfast, not fancy, but very adequate. Coffee always available. Heated indoor pool and hot tub. Very near nice town and great winter ski areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Happy New Year! Thank you for your stay and your kind review. I'm really happy that you enjoyed our clean hotel and friendly team. Little-by-little, we're creating a better experience for our guests. And our breakfast will be getting a revamping very soon. It's a good simple one right now (danishes, muffins, ready-to-make waffles, coffees, juices, cereals), and we plan... More

Belmont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Charlevoix Inn and Suites was a great place to stay for our fall fishing trip. The early cont. breakfast was great, as we were up early to get out the door to be on the water at sunrise. Was great to take a nice hottub after being out on the water all day long. Room was very clean as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your recent stay and your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay so much and I hope you caught a lot of great fish! Thank you, too, for your kind note regarding Kim, and we'll be happy to welcome you and your dog in the future - we have a lot of pet-friendly rooms. Have... More

Warren, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Found this hotel on line. The staff were very friendly and accomadating. Room was clean and comfortable. First, I thought there would be a frig in our room and there was none. As most places we stay at, all rooms have a frig. I called the front desk to inquire about a frig and was told that only certain rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you for your stay and taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly. I am sorry that we don't have refrigerators in all of our rooms - yet! We took over ownership of the hotel this summer, and we are making big plans to improve a variety... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Charlevoix Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Charlevoix Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlevoix Inn & Suites

Address: 800 Petoskey Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlevoix Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Charlevoix Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlevoix Hotel Charlevoix
Charlevoix Inn And Suites

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With gorgeous views of Lake Charlevoix and an adjacent setting to Charlevoix Golf Club, the Charlevoix Inn & Suites' smoke-free facilities make your stay just right for your time in Charlevoix the Beautiful. Amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor pool and hot tub, and a 24-hour Front Desk team. All rooms feature 39" LED TV's, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, and complimentary bath amenities. Many rooms feature full views of Lake Charlevoix. Other rooms include views of Charlevoix Golf Club. Escape to Charlevoix and only stay at the best today! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer