We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charlevoix Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 800 Petoskey Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
23
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Holland, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was just fine for a night in the lovely town of Charlevoix. The bed was comfortable, rooms average size, nice big showers. Views of the lake from some rooms but no balcony to sit outside to enjoy it. The breakfast room is very small but decent food offered and good coffee and tea selection.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you so much for your stay and your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in our great little town. And it's funny you mentioned balconies - we're actually planning to add balconies along almost all of our rooms overlooking the lake in the near future. I'm glad you like the Leelanau Coffee Company coffee and... More

Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one evening at the Charlevoix Inn and Suites before a trip to Beaver Island. The hotel is outside of the town center, so if you're looking to walk to the attractions of Charlevoix, you might want to pick a different hotel (although there is a good taxi available). That being said, this is a fine hotel. The building... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you so much for your stay and your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our clean hotel and the amenities we offered. It's true we're 1 mile from downtown. A lot of guests enjoy that we are only 1 mile from downtown, three quarters of a mile from the Little Traverse Wheelway, and only 1 mile from Depot... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Our trip to Charlevoix was short but we had a great time. The hotel is located in a nice quiet area just outside of downtown. The woman that checked us in (sorry can't remember her name) was very pleasant and knowledgeable of the area. The suite was large enough for 4 of us and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good day! Thank you so much for your review and your stay! I'm happy to hear that check in was wonderful through one of our Front Desk team members. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast as well. Have a wonderful day and we'll be happy to welcome you back again. For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager More

Mackinac Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my one night stay here! The Lobby is a bit small and the tv's definitely need to be upgraded... However I slept great and the breakfast was a nice touch!! I would definitely stay here again, when passing through Charlevoix!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good day! Thank you for your stay and your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry that you felt our TV's needed upgrading. They are 1-year old LG 39" LED TV's so we don't anticipate changing them anytime soon. I do appreciate your suggestion, though. I hope you have a nice September and come enjoy our great... More

Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had a comfortable two-night stay at this hotel which is very close to the bike trail running from Charlevoix to Harbor Springs. They allowed us to put our bikes inside our room and had maps and information of things to do. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean and functional, and they had a wide variety of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you so much for your review of your stay. I'm really happy that you had a great stay and enjoyed our amenities, service, and cleanliness! We'll be happy to welcome you back next time you visit our cute little town! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager More

Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This place seemed to have bad reviews on Hotels.com - I found it clean and comfortable. The breakfast offerings were well diverse and the dining area clean. Staff was very helpful and eager to please.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good morning! Thank you so much for your time and your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate all reviews, and we're continuing to make improvements each month - we just installed iPod/Android docking stations in all of our rooms and we have more improvements in the works! Thank you so much and have a great day!... More

Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I am completely impressed with the staff at this hotel! I originally had booked rooms at another hotel in Petoskey that for numerous reasons did not work out. Scrambling, we contacted this hotel to see if they had rooms available for check in for that day and the next two. The clerk (Nancy?) was unbelievably helpful and beyond understanding, especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay and especially our service. I'll be sure that Nancy reads your kind words. We are continuing to make improvements across the property and I hope you can come back and see them in the near future. Have a great day!... More

Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My wife and I just got back from a two-night stay at Charlevoix Inn & Suites. The inn is located on the eastern outskirts of town, which is nice is you're looking for a break from all the hustle and bustle of the main downtown (read: touristy) area. The lobby area is clean and relatively spacious, with a small seating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good evening! Thank you so much for your stay and your thoughtful and thorough review of your stay. It's nice to read how much you enjoyed your stay and especially our service. Service for our guests is so important, and we're happy to do just about anything to make a guest happy - especially things that are not expected. Thank... More

Farmington, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Exterior is attractive and the property is close to town where the restaurants and shopping are located. Room keys did not work well requiring return to check in. We had room with two queens and they were beyond soft. No good if you prefer a firm mattress. Bathroom was small, only a sliding door and shower stall, no tub. Clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review and your stay. I'm happy that you found the hotel attractive from the outside. We are continuing to improve the entire property with many more improvements planned. I'm sorry that the room keys and the mattress didn't work well for you. I'm happy that everything was clean, though. I will look into the room... More

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The room was quite small, but was adequate for one night. The pool and jacuzzi were very hazy, not clean at all. The scum on the sides of the pool was so thick that people (children?) were writing their names on the scum. The hand rails were clean until they got to water level, then very hard thick scum was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan P, General Manager at Charlevoix Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Good day! Thank you for your review, and I'm very sorry for the condition you found our pool area and the room. I assure you that I am addressing this issue immediately. In regards to our Lake Charlevoix views, I'm sorry that you didn't care that we are set back from Lake Charlevoix. While we don't have direct lake access,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Charlevoix Inn & Suites?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Charlevoix Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlevoix Inn & Suites

Address: 800 Petoskey Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlevoix Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charlevoix Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlevoix Hotel Charlevoix
Charlevoix Inn And Suites

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay