We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
111 Pine River Lane, Charlevoix, MI 49720
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Moonshock Mackinaw City
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    74
    36
    15
    14
See reviews for
91
162
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Mackinaw City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at this fine establishment for three nights. Despite the construction, due to which we were offered a complimentary room upgrade, our stay was very, very comfortable. The room was the right size, clean, and the staff was very personable. The updates they're doing now will only make this place better. Can't wait to return. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Moonshock, Thank you for your wonderful Tripadvisor review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. We are also excited about the restoration work and look forward to getting the place ready for our summer guests once it is finished. We hope that you come back and visit us again! More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just finished our boating group Tip of the Mitt Power Squadron meeting/ dinner at the Weathervane. I had an excellent dinner with a rack of ribs Fred Flintstone couldnt finish. First cabin food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear EricEide55, Thank you for your glowing comments about your dining experience at Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant. They are a great place to eat while visiting Charlevoix the Beautiful and we are lucky to have them just walking distance from our hotel. More 

Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to come here because of the great reviews we saw. Plus it was on Groupon. It was great. Room was clean. View was awesome! It was cozy and staff was great! We ate the restaurant twice. It was great food! We will definitely go back and stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Jaime g, Thank you for your wonderful Tripadvisor review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am so glad to hear that you had a great time during your stay in Charlevoix the Beautiful. I hope you will come back and visit us soon! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely terrible. Had to park a half a block away on a public street. This room should have never been rented. Office offered no credit or consideration. Twisted my ankle stepping out the entry door. I didn't expect much for a room that was discounted down to $109, but this was disgusting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Geoffbley, I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. We are doing restoration work on our outside walkways that will be done by June. At the time of your stay we were still not allowing vehicles to park by the walkways as we did not want car tires to... More 

Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I purchased this hotel stay on Groupon last September. For medical reasons, I was not able to use it until May, 2015. The hotel was accommodating and honored the certificate. I was surprised that the Lake Michigan room was nothing like the pictures on the website. The bottom of the door in room 46 looks like a dog has chewed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear JDLansing, Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of your stay at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am glad that you took advantage of our Groupon deal to visit Charlevoix the Beautiful. I have looked at the pictures on our website to see what the difference is between your room and the room that was photographed for our... More 

Wyoming, Michigan, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband & I spent last weekend in Charlevoix, MI. I bought a Groupon for the Weathervane Terrance Inn & Suites. I didn't know what to expect. We paid for the Harborview room through Groupon. We received a telephone call saying they were doing work on the hotel grounds & they offered us a Jacuzzi room with no extra cost.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Anita S, Thank you for such a nice Tripadvisor review of your stay at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am glad that you decided to purchase a Groupon deal and try our place out on your trip to northern Michigan. We are doing some major sidewalk restoration on the original section of our hotel that should be... More 

Woodbridge
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here for one evening. We were able to walk to dinner downtown, walk to the lake, and in general, this was a great location. This hotel has a lot of nice touches including a very large room, fireplace jacuzzi tub, patio with view of Lake Michigan, etc. My wife commented several times about how comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear foodfan57VA, Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. It sounds like you were able to take in some of the sights and tastes of Charlevoix just walking distance away from your room. The fireplace and Jacuzzi tub are a nice addition to a room on a get away in the winter. I... More 

HOLLAND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I love the whole mushroom house architecture. The rooms are outdated big time. Hot tub was broke when we were there for two nights. Don't bother visiting the restaurant. It is outdated as well, and dark, and closes early and the food is nothing special. The restaurant staff is outdated as well. Do not need to go here again. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Patrick L Holland, Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites and of the restaurant across the street from us. Both buildings were built by Charlevoix's famed architect, Earl Young. The many homes he built in Charlevoix are great to drive by and see the great "eye" he had for using area stone. I... More 

Three Rivers, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

Found this place through a Groupon deal. It is in a great location and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are cozy but need some updating. We could hear all the noise from the rooms next to us and above us. Very hard to sleep at times. Most likely will not stay there again due to the noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear NurseMarcella, Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am glad that you stayed with us on a Groupon deal. I am also sorry to hear that you did not sleep well and that you may not stay with us again. I hope that you will change your mind and come back to... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We chose this place for it's architecture and proximity to the water. It had stunning views of the lakes, delicious continental breakfast in a scenic harbour room, friendly and helpful staff. The in room jacuzzi was nice but the hot tub was awesome. The surrounding area was fun to explore...a glassworks place, a large outdoor concrete yard statuary shop- with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Dutchtulip62, Thank you for such a wonderful review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites and for mentioning so many great places that you were able to visit. Charlevoix does have so many great places to each and sights to see. I look forward to seeing you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay