We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
111 Pine River Lane, Charlevoix, MI 49720
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
sunnysharlows southgate Mich
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    213
    76
    36
    15
    15
See reviews for
94
163
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (355)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (136)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
southgate Mich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Love this place! We stay here every year, and usually more than a few times every summer. We love the room, the pool and the location is perfect. Morning breakfast is always good. We put in a request for a king bed, and early check in. We were greeted with both.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beulah, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on our 49th anniversary getaway, and found this motel on line. The price was reasonable, and the room unremarkable but adequate. Must say the location on the channel was interesting and very quiet at night. We could watch the large boats go through the draw bridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davison, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've never stayed in the Charlevoix area before and this was the suggested lodging for a family birthday party being held in the area. Yes it is an older hotel but it has such a great history. The room was very comfortable. It was a very windy weekend and experienced some whistling from the sliding glass door, but it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Weathervane has always been our place to stay in Charlevoix and will continue to be. We've always been here in early June and it's always been a quiet, clean, well-maintained property. The breakfast area is excellent too. Very appreciated. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

You allow partying all night long. People hollering, being loud. It's a big place you think they would ask if you plan on partying or sleeping, cause your paying to sleep there. I paid to hear people holler, yell across the parking lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mackinaw City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

My wife and I stayed at this fine establishment for three nights. Despite the construction, due to which we were offered a complimentary room upgrade, our stay was very, very comfortable. The room was the right size, clean, and the staff was very personable. The updates they're doing now will only make this place better. Can't wait to return. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Moonshock, Thank you for your wonderful Tripadvisor review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. We are also excited about the restoration work and look forward to getting the place ready for our summer guests once it is finished. We hope that you come back and visit us again! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Just finished our boating group Tip of the Mitt Power Squadron meeting/ dinner at the Weathervane. I had an excellent dinner with a rack of ribs Fred Flintstone couldnt finish. First cabin food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear EricEide55, Thank you for your glowing comments about your dining experience at Stafford's Weathervane Restaurant. They are a great place to eat while visiting Charlevoix the Beautiful and we are lucky to have them just walking distance from our hotel. More 

Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We decided to come here because of the great reviews we saw. Plus it was on Groupon. It was great. Room was clean. View was awesome! It was cozy and staff was great! We ate the restaurant twice. It was great food! We will definitely go back and stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Jaime g, Thank you for your wonderful Tripadvisor review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am so glad to hear that you had a great time during your stay in Charlevoix the Beautiful. I hope you will come back and visit us soon! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

Absolutely terrible. Had to park a half a block away on a public street. This room should have never been rented. Office offered no credit or consideration. Twisted my ankle stepping out the entry door. I didn't expect much for a room that was discounted down to $109, but this was disgusting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Geoffbley, I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. We are doing restoration work on our outside walkways that will be done by June. At the time of your stay we were still not allowing vehicles to park by the walkways as we did not want car tires to... More 

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

I purchased this hotel stay on Groupon last September. For medical reasons, I was not able to use it until May, 2015. The hotel was accommodating and honored the certificate. I was surprised that the Lake Michigan room was nothing like the pictures on the website. The bottom of the door in room 46 looks like a dog has chewed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear JDLansing, Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of your stay at the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am glad that you took advantage of our Groupon deal to visit Charlevoix the Beautiful. I have looked at the pictures on our website to see what the difference is between your room and the room that was photographed for our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay