We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Evergreen Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
7880 Mackinaw Trail, Cadillac, MI 49601 (Formerly McGuire's Resort)
Special Offer
Buy 2, Get 3rd Half Off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Evergreen Resort
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    41
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
36
44
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
There are newer reviews for Evergreen Resort
See the most recent reviews
Adrian, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Superior accommodations were very clean and modern. A beautiful golf course and pool area. Great food and drink selection at their in-house restaurant and bar. Plan to arrange a family get-together here next year since there is something for everyone to enjoy. We were particularly impressed with the staff. Everyone wanted to make sure our visit was enjoyable, Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscoda, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been going to McGuires Resort for many years the last weekend of September and always look forward to going back every year. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is always helpful and the food is great except for the breakfast bar in the morning. That needs some work and even though it came with my room I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here one night this week....Check in was fast and easy. Stayed for under $100 which I didn't think was bad. Have some nice amenities like the hot tub, pool, sauna, game room, lounge w/tv and fireplace. Went to the pool/hot tub a couple times and pretty much had them to ourselves. Also hung out and watched tv in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Room was old but adequate. Breakfast was included but was with some work force that appeared to be working out of the resort. When we inquired about a menu, we were told there was a extra charge and that the menu was very limited. She told us we had to get our first cup of coffee and that she would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I went to McGuire with another couple on a Group Golfer special. We had a room and 18 holes when we checked in and 18 the next day. We stayed for 1 night. Check in was fast because there wasn't a lot of activity on a Wednesday check in. The golf course was nice with no complaints... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your review of our facility. I am glad to see that your experience with the golf went well and that your server (Tom) took very good care of you. I am sorry that you felt the room and dinner were not up to par. We have changed our menu and we do appreciate feedback on all aspects of... More 

Oscoda, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having stayed at McGuires several times over the past few years I can see the rooms showing some wear, like the peeling wallpaper in the bathroom. The service was generally good but when I mentioned there were a couple problems with my room all I got was a "sorry." No question about what the problems were. We were there for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bshepa01, Front Office Manager at Evergreen Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. I am sorry that the employee did not follow up with you about the issues you were trying to inform them about. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we can discuss the issues you had. You can reach me at 1-800-632-7302. Thank you, Bill Shepardson... More 

Marquette, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My neice had her wedding and reception here and it was very well done. The rooms were not 5star but were comfortable and clean. Ours had a view of a wooded section of the golf course which was very nice. The wedding setting was in an open grassy field next to the golf course with white chairs and a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Bought a golf weekend package on line. Arrived early and was invited to check in, play golf and pick up room key after. This set the tone for a fantastic, service oriented, great food golf week end. The course is lush and impecably maintained. The staff at the club house were as helpful and friendly as you would expect to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent a weekend at McGuire's in August for a family wedding. Got put in a new updated room that was fantastic! The grounds are beautiful and seem to go on forever. The sales and food & beverage staff that handled our event were friendly, professional and accommodating. Overall experience was wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goderich, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

stayed there Sept.8th and 9th/13 on two couple golf getaway for 60th birthday. Bed very comfortable, flat useless pillows (bring your own). Don't order steak in dining room, terrible. Pasta, ribs and fish OK with very nice salad bar. Very understaffed in dining room with only waitress taking care of 40 plus people. Nice pool and hot tub both very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities