We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Cadillac hotels

Cadillac Sands Resort

6319 M-115, Cadillac, MI 49601
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cadillac Sands Resort to your Saves list
Cadillac Sands Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
30%
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Cadillac
  • Reviews (52)
  • Photos (19)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    10
    10
    20
See reviews for
20
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essexville, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I reserved a room with one king sized bed on the lakeside. We checked in to the room. It smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, which is odd, since all hotels in Michigan are smoke free. The carpet, which at one time was green had faded to a almost yellow. The towels were supposed to be white, however were yellow. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

When you checked in you came to the front desk and asked if you could move you didn't like the lighting in the room-not once did you say that the room smelled of cigarette smoke. We offered you another room and took you to see if that room was acceptable, you inspected the room and said it was fine. In... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Needs major renovation....pool falling apart..ceiling tiles hanging from ceiling.. etc very dirty rooms and they had the worst smell ever.... and the pool area again an awful smell....the only thing nice about this place is the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I hate to say bad things about this place because I love Cadillac, and the people at the Sands are truly wonderful and accomodating. The hotel rooms are awful though. It is such a shame because they have an awesome location right on the lake. We have visited on several occasions over the past 15 years hoping it would get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments although we wish if you had issues with any part of your stay we surely would appreciate the courtesy of being informed sooner than 6 months after your stay. You mention that your mattress was "worn and springy" we have replaced our mattresses in the spring of 2013 so they should not have... More

Haslett
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spents lots of time (and money) in mostly franchise motels and hotels. Had to stay at this one as part of a package and experienced the worst setting in my travel life. This is literally the "Bates Motel", revisited. Looks like someone bought a 1960s rundown motel as an investment and concluded that it was too much work and money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

Indeed you were part of a package paid for by another company. Unfortunately you tried to bring a person into the block of rooms that was not authorized and you were upset because you had to pay for that extra room. We have to abide by the group leader's guest list - after all they are the one's paying for... More

Romeo, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed one night because we had to cancel due to family emergency. I know why people say it needs updating but you have to remind yourself that you are up north. The front desk staff was amazing. We told them of our emergency and they refunded our money for the next 2 nights. We also left my daughter's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry your trip was cut short and hope everything is okay! Thank you from all at the front desk! More

Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Definitely not what they make it out to be!!! It's a dump, not very clean, and the service sucked. And it wasn't very reasonable either! There's only one good thing about that hotel, the water pressure in the shower, and that's it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to see that your stay at our resort was not what you expected. We work very hard in making our resort a fun family friendly resort and we surely appreciate feedback from our guests. That being said we hope our guests with issues let us know at the time of the incident so we can address the issue immediately.We... More

Zeeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm sure in it's glory this was a beautiful place. It's in dire need of updating. But, it's clean, reasonably priced and the front desk staff was awesome!!! The restaurant was closed Sun & Monday so I did not eat there. They serve a continental breakfast that had muffins & biscuits and gravy that was good flavored. I was told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cadillac, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

For well over a year the Sands has been my 2nd home. Working an out-of-town job, I'm here often. The staff are very friendly,considerate & helpful. The very few criticisms or complaints I've voiced have been seriously listened to and cheerfully remedied. Over the years I've stayed in fancier (more expensive) places and have been MUCH LESS impressed. Thank you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
leroy
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ordered dinner in the Clipper Room restaurant. We continued to try and give the place chance after chance, but no more. The meal was expensive and lousy: ribs tough & tasted old like they had been in the freezer beyond any expiration date; salads consisted of a heap of iceberg lettuce, 1 thin tomato slice & 1 ring of red... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I chose this facility from their website for our 4 year anniversary trip. Labor Day Weekend. NEVER GO AGAIN AND NEVER RECOMMEND. It is nothing like their website makes it out to be. They need to upgrade minor things such as paint, fix up pool area, advertise restaurant, fix rooms to be current not outdated. They have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cadillac Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cadillac Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Sands Resort

Address: 6319 M-115, Cadillac, MI 49601
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Cadillac Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Sands Hotel Cadillac

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
53

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer