We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Cadillac hotels

Cadillac Sands Resort

6319 M-115, Cadillac, MI 49601
Hotel amenities
Cadillac Sands Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Cadillac Sands Resort to your Saves list
30%
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Cadillac
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    11
    10
    22
See reviews for
21
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Dorr, MI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was with a group of girlfriends and we wanted to stay here based on reviews here and pictures - the place is scary and filthy. A mouse ran across the floor of our room, outside door would not lock correctly and inside door to hallway would not open and was supposed to be the fire escape. The carpets have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my second time coming here , first was two years ago for a weekend in August second just for a night with my husband as a get away first time stayed with my sister and daughter in a double bed room this time in a king suite with jacuzzi can't complain about the place it's older and somewhat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I remember a time when the Sands Resort was the place to stay. As we pulled into the parking lot, It was alarming to see how this one time beautiful resort has fallen into ruins. While we found the staff to be quite nice, the owner needs to spend money doing essentials, CLEANING, painting, replacing carpet, and much more, at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Absolutely perfect! I surprised my wife for our 30th Wedding Anniversary with a quick 2 day getaway. The hotel is older, but everything was clean. Our room opened up to the lake no more than 20 feet away! The service from the front desk to the beachside Tiki bar to the dining room was excellent. Our package included use of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essexville, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I reserved a room with one king sized bed on the lakeside. We checked in to the room. It smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, which is odd, since all hotels in Michigan are smoke free. The carpet, which at one time was green had faded to a almost yellow. The towels were supposed to be white, however were yellow. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

When you checked in you came to the front desk and asked if you could move you didn't like the lighting in the room-not once did you say that the room smelled of cigarette smoke. We offered you another room and took you to see if that room was acceptable, you inspected the room and said it was fine. In... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Needs major renovation....pool falling apart..ceiling tiles hanging from ceiling.. etc very dirty rooms and they had the worst smell ever.... and the pool area again an awful smell....the only thing nice about this place is the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I hate to say bad things about this place because I love Cadillac, and the people at the Sands are truly wonderful and accomodating. The hotel rooms are awful though. It is such a shame because they have an awesome location right on the lake. We have visited on several occasions over the past 15 years hoping it would get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your business and your comments although we wish if you had issues with any part of your stay we surely would appreciate the courtesy of being informed sooner than 6 months after your stay. You mention that your mattress was "worn and springy" we have replaced our mattresses in the spring of 2013 so they should not have... More

Haslett
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spents lots of time (and money) in mostly franchise motels and hotels. Had to stay at this one as part of a package and experienced the worst setting in my travel life. This is literally the "Bates Motel", revisited. Looks like someone bought a 1960s rundown motel as an investment and concluded that it was too much work and money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

Indeed you were part of a package paid for by another company. Unfortunately you tried to bring a person into the block of rooms that was not authorized and you were upset because you had to pay for that extra room. We have to abide by the group leader's guest list - after all they are the one's paying for... More

Romeo, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed one night because we had to cancel due to family emergency. I know why people say it needs updating but you have to remind yourself that you are up north. The front desk staff was amazing. We told them of our emergency and they refunded our money for the next 2 nights. We also left my daughter's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry your trip was cut short and hope everything is okay! Thank you from all at the front desk! More

Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Definitely not what they make it out to be!!! It's a dump, not very clean, and the service sucked. And it wasn't very reasonable either! There's only one good thing about that hotel, the water pressure in the shower, and that's it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria J, Manager at Cadillac Sands Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to see that your stay at our resort was not what you expected. We work very hard in making our resort a fun family friendly resort and we surely appreciate feedback from our guests. That being said we hope our guests with issues let us know at the time of the incident so we can address the issue immediately.We... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Cadillac Sands Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cadillac Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Sands Resort

Address: 6319 M-115, Cadillac, MI 49601
Location: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cadillac Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Sands Hotel Cadillac

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay