We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Brooklyn B&Bs / inns

Dewey Lake Manor

11811 Laird Road, Brooklyn, MI 49230
Hotel amenities
Dewey Lake Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I, and another couple, attempted to make a reservation at the Dewey Lake Manor B&B, but were refused service. With the upcoming Tough Mudder race in September of 2014, I thought it would be nice to stay at the Dewey Lake Manor B&B, so did another couple that we are friends with. However, after I contacted the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

First of all this gentleman, at the end of his post, said he stayed in November-he has not stayed with us. The ToughMudder is a 2 day event-we have a 2 night minimum. He wanted 1 day. He also wanted to check in early and go fishing, and if I had given him a late checkout, it would have prevented... More

Berkley, Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Two couples exploring Michigan’s Pioneer Wine Trail selected the Dewey Lake Manor as our most convenient stop for Saturday night. We were not disappointed. It’s a beautiful old home, clearly maintained with love by owners Joe and Barb. The beds were comfy, our beautifully decorated room was the perfect temperature – no small challenge in these older homes, this time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thanks you for the kudos, we appreciate. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay. More

Akron, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Although the house sits on a beautiful piece of property we found this B&B disappointing. We were misled by the location although I can't say the owners were responsible for that. It was our impression that the location was convenient to Ann Arbor, it is not. Our biggest complaint was the room was dirty, there were dead bugs, cobwebs and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Tabitha, I'm sorry you were disappointed but I knew you would be when you came "roaring" downstairs for soap and shampoo. The shampoo and cond is my fault-someone had taken it and I didn't realize it, but we do not provide bar soap for the jetted tub-it is not good for the jets-but I gave you some anyway. The towels... More

Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great place for a getaway! Barb and Joe try very hard to keep up with the property and ensure you have a great visit. The breakfast was great and the view was even better. It was quiet and so much better than staying in a hotel. We would come back to visit if we were in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fox River Grove, IL
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Dewey Lake Manor. Barb & Joe were great hosts, and we enjoyed chatting with them. They are friendly and low key, just plain folks. As expected in B & Bs, there was a delicious hot breakfast each day including a main dish, breakfast meat, bread item (muffing, cinnamon roll), fruit plus juice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thanks for the kudos, and the critique. I will get new pillows asap. Barb More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a lovely night at Dewey Lake Manor in May. Arrived late and were met by the lovely Barb who showed us to our room. Had 3 in our room but managed a good nights sleep. Woke up to a beautiful view of the lake and a great breakfast. Met the other guests at breakfast and got some great tips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toledo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My fiancee planned a surprise getaway for me for my birthday, and chose the Dewey Lake Bed and Breakfast as our destination. He had never been to a bed and breakfast, and I have been to several. The innkeepers, Barb & Joe, are wonderful, giving, and loving people. We stayed in the Lakeview room. I have read the other reviews... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pasadena, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

As the other reviews suggest, yes, the house and the view are lovely (albeit standard in this part of the state). However, the rooms felt crowded and dusty, the bathrooms had remnants from previous guests, the complimentary water bottles in the refrigerator had been refilled with tap water, our rooms were never tidied nor "made up," and I won't even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

I am sorry they were unhappy,but to clarify some of the issues: all our beds are queen,all rooms have private baths. They knew exactly what they were getting because there is a virtual tour of the room on our web site, and they received a confirmation with check in and out times and the cost. They arrived at 9am(check in... More

Elora, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Yes, I sound like a broken record. We just spent our 5th visit to Dewey Lake Manor and guess what? It really is still perfect. Gracious and friendly hosts. Fabulous breakfasts that change every day. Clean, beautiful room with a perfect view. Thank you once again Barb and Joe and we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montpelier, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We met friends at the Dewey Lake Manor for Halloween. Barb and Joe were helpful in giving us ideas on what we could see in the area and made everyone feel at home. The warm atmosphere created by these professional hosts helped us to feel comfortable and at home as we reconnected with old friends who live too far away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Dewey Lake Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewey Lake Manor

Address: 11811 Laird Road, Brooklyn, MI 49230
Location: United States > Michigan > Brooklyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dewey Lake Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dewey Lake Manor to your Saves list