We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Brooklyn B&Bs / inns

Dewey Lake Manor

11811 Laird Road, Brooklyn, MI 49230
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (29)
  • Photos (13)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Dewey Lake Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
17
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fiance and I choose to stay here for an overnight, and we loved it. Everything was peaceful and quiet -- just what we wanted. Barb and Joe are friendly and kind. Dewey Lake Manor is beautiful, and Joe and Barb have done a great job to provide a historical yet comfortable atmosphere. The price was very reasonable for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for the good review-we do appreciate it, and hope to see you again. More

newyork
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in the Dewey Lake Manor at the end of May and we enjoyed our stay. We liked all the details of the decorations and furnishings, which fit the inn perfectly. Besides our comfortable room, there are a couple of common rooms, plus an outside covered deck to hang out on, not to mention the beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Sorry about the "personal watercraft"-they bug us sometimes too-but as you say, they can only run certain hours-that helps. More

London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I were attending an event at the Michigan International Speedway and came across this B&B through Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Joe and Barb, who both belie their ages, have run this establishment for around a quarter of a century and their experience shows. Hospitable and pleasant, they really made our stay very welcome. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for the kudos. I like the word "oasis". I hadn't thought of us like that before, but it fits. Thanks again...Barb More

Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I, and another couple, attempted to make a reservation at the Dewey Lake Manor B&B, but were refused service. With the upcoming Tough Mudder race in September of 2014, I thought it would be nice to stay at the Dewey Lake Manor B&B, so did another couple that we are friends with. However, after I contacted the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

First of all this gentleman, at the end of his post, said he stayed in November-he has not stayed with us. The ToughMudder is a 2 day event-we have a 2 night minimum. He wanted 1 day. He also wanted to check in early and go fishing, and if I had given him a late checkout, it would have prevented... More

Berkley, Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Two couples exploring Michigan’s Pioneer Wine Trail selected the Dewey Lake Manor as our most convenient stop for Saturday night. We were not disappointed. It’s a beautiful old home, clearly maintained with love by owners Joe and Barb. The beds were comfy, our beautifully decorated room was the perfect temperature – no small challenge in these older homes, this time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thanks you for the kudos, we appreciate. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay. More

Akron, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Although the house sits on a beautiful piece of property we found this B&B disappointing. We were misled by the location although I can't say the owners were responsible for that. It was our impression that the location was convenient to Ann Arbor, it is not. Our biggest complaint was the room was dirty, there were dead bugs, cobwebs and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Tabitha, I'm sorry you were disappointed but I knew you would be when you came "roaring" downstairs for soap and shampoo. The shampoo and cond is my fault-someone had taken it and I didn't realize it, but we do not provide bar soap for the jetted tub-it is not good for the jets-but I gave you some anyway. The towels... More

Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great place for a getaway! Barb and Joe try very hard to keep up with the property and ensure you have a great visit. The breakfast was great and the view was even better. It was quiet and so much better than staying in a hotel. We would come back to visit if we were in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fox River Grove, IL
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Dewey Lake Manor. Barb & Joe were great hosts, and we enjoyed chatting with them. They are friendly and low key, just plain folks. As expected in B & Bs, there was a delicious hot breakfast each day including a main dish, breakfast meat, bread item (muffing, cinnamon roll), fruit plus juice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thanks for the kudos, and the critique. I will get new pillows asap. Barb More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a lovely night at Dewey Lake Manor in May. Arrived late and were met by the lovely Barb who showed us to our room. Had 3 in our room but managed a good nights sleep. Woke up to a beautiful view of the lake and a great breakfast. Met the other guests at breakfast and got some great tips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toledo
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My fiancee planned a surprise getaway for me for my birthday, and chose the Dewey Lake Bed and Breakfast as our destination. He had never been to a bed and breakfast, and I have been to several. The innkeepers, Barb & Joe, are wonderful, giving, and loving people. We stayed in the Lakeview room. I have read the other reviews... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Dewey Lake Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Dewey Lake Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dewey Lake Manor

Address: 11811 Laird Road, Brooklyn, MI 49230
Location: United States > Michigan > Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Dewey Lake Manor to your Saves list