We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dewey Lake Manor

11811 Laird Road, Brooklyn, MI 49230
Dewey Lake Manor
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Port Perry, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in June 2014 for the NASCAR race. We loved how close it is to the track. We are going again in August. It was my first time at a B&B and it was a wonderful experience. We ended up staying in 2 different rooms over the wknd. The floral room and the lake view room. Both were nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thanks Lisa for your kind words-appreciate it. See you next month. Barb More 

Maumee, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My fiance and I choose to stay here for an overnight, and we loved it. Everything was peaceful and quiet -- just what we wanted. Barb and Joe are friendly and kind. Dewey Lake Manor is beautiful, and Joe and Barb have done a great job to provide a historical yet comfortable atmosphere. The price was very reasonable for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for the good review-we do appreciate it, and hope to see you again. More 

newyork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Dewey Lake Manor at the end of May and we enjoyed our stay. We liked all the details of the decorations and furnishings, which fit the inn perfectly. Besides our comfortable room, there are a couple of common rooms, plus an outside covered deck to hang out on, not to mention the beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Sorry about the "personal watercraft"-they bug us sometimes too-but as you say, they can only run certain hours-that helps. More 

London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I were attending an event at the Michigan International Speedway and came across this B&B through Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Joe and Barb, who both belie their ages, have run this establishment for around a quarter of a century and their experience shows. Hospitable and pleasant, they really made our stay very welcome. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for the kudos. I like the word "oasis". I hadn't thought of us like that before, but it fits. Thanks again...Barb More 

Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I, and another couple, attempted to make a reservation at the Dewey Lake Manor B&B, but were refused service. With the upcoming Tough Mudder race in September of 2014, I thought it would be nice to stay at the Dewey Lake Manor B&B, so did another couple that we are friends with. However, after I contacted the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

First of all this gentleman, at the end of his post, said he stayed in November-he has not stayed with us. The ToughMudder is a 2 day event-we have a 2 night minimum. He wanted 1 day. He also wanted to check in early and go fishing, and if I had given him a late checkout, it would have prevented... More 

Berkley, Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Two couples exploring Michigan’s Pioneer Wine Trail selected the Dewey Lake Manor as our most convenient stop for Saturday night. We were not disappointed. It’s a beautiful old home, clearly maintained with love by owners Joe and Barb. The beds were comfy, our beautifully decorated room was the perfect temperature – no small challenge in these older homes, this time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thanks you for the kudos, we appreciate. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay. More 

Akron, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Although the house sits on a beautiful piece of property we found this B&B disappointing. We were misled by the location although I can't say the owners were responsible for that. It was our impression that the location was convenient to Ann Arbor, it is not. Our biggest complaint was the room was dirty, there were dead bugs, cobwebs and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Tabitha, I'm sorry you were disappointed but I knew you would be when you came "roaring" downstairs for soap and shampoo. The shampoo and cond is my fault-someone had taken it and I didn't realize it, but we do not provide bar soap for the jetted tub-it is not good for the jets-but I gave you some anyway. The towels... More 

Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great place for a getaway! Barb and Joe try very hard to keep up with the property and ensure you have a great visit. The breakfast was great and the view was even better. It was quiet and so much better than staying in a hotel. We would come back to visit if we were in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fox River Grove, IL
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
43 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Dewey Lake Manor. Barb & Joe were great hosts, and we enjoyed chatting with them. They are friendly and low key, just plain folks. As expected in B & Bs, there was a delicious hot breakfast each day including a main dish, breakfast meat, bread item (muffing, cinnamon roll), fruit plus juice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
smidge5, Owner at Dewey Lake Manor, responded to this review

Thanks for the kudos, and the critique. I will get new pillows asap. Barb More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a lovely night at Dewey Lake Manor in May. Arrived late and were met by the lovely Barb who showed us to our room. Had 3 in our room but managed a good nights sleep. Woke up to a beautiful view of the lake and a great breakfast. Met the other guests at breakfast and got some great tips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question