We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Benton Harbor

2063 Pipestone Rd, I-94 at Exit 29/Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Benton Harbor
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    1
    5
    4
    37
See reviews for
14
6
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Lincolnwood, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First of all, I gave the GM of this location, a guy named Viren, every chance possible to make this right with me. He refused to even believe my story, so any response from them after my post about how sorry they are or that this is an isolated incident (like I see they have done with other posts) will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Michael, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Please know the issues you describe... More 

Forreston, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a decent place to stay if you are in a pinch. Good prices. Rooms don't have carpeting in them at all. Nice looking outdoor pool. Plenty of food choices within walking distance. Have to pay $5 extra if you want a room with refrigerator and microwave in it. Everything seemed clean and functional. Could use a little updating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marshall, Michigan
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room reeked of marijuana, man inside hotel's dumpster ??, people grilling outside their room doors, prison cell interiors. Tried to get my money back, girl said I'd been there for longer than 15 minutes so no refund. Obviously did not spend the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Diana, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within... More 

Travelers are raving about these Benton Harbor hotels

Lexington, MO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Awful. Everything. Awful. Too bad I had to give it even one star. A negative number of stars would work! We had a reservation for several nights, but after the third night when no one came to clean room/deliver towels/fix faucet--we moved to the Red Roof across the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer... More 

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Motel 6 brands itself as the hotel chain with the lowest prices nationwide. The interior design of the rooms is at odds with the homey old Tom Bodet ads about leaving a light on. They have an institutional, dorm-like feel. Motel 6 is always a budget property with no amenities. There is no in room microwave or refrigerator, no iron... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our award winning Phoenix room redesign featuring wood-effect laminate floors. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Motel 6 foundations are rooted in economical practicalities to... More 

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Booked hotel online. Never again will I do that. This place is nasty. Hair on the towels, holes in the walls, the pillows were absolutely gross. Ended up using my own pillows and blankets I had in my car. Looks like people live here and they are rude as can be. They stare you down and make you uncomfortable. People... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I have traveled all over the world and this was the filthiest hotel I have ever seen. A man was urinating on the sidewalk near my room and the manager did nothing about it. The only chair was broken. The sink had grime and dirt on it. The bathroom was disgusting. The room stunk so bad. I have medical issues... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Veeka, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest level... More 

Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I didn't view this before booking. Dumb mistake on my part. The only pic I saw was good and clean. It is beyond the worst you could ever imagine. It host a lot of non-working people of all kinds. HORRIBLE SCARY. Not well lit. Food and trash all over the place. Scary people driving around slow watching you. Says non-smoking.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Robert, Thank you for posting your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Safety and Security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Found this motel online and it was NOTHING like the pictures on their website. Very dissapointing. Hardly slept from all the drug dealers and hookers all over the place. Never will stay there again!! Not worth the money or time. Rooms were in bad shape service was horrible the cleaning crew with an additude problems when asked for more towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Opened the door and the smell was overwhelming. Rotten apple on the sidewalk and a shopping cart in the ditch. Son had a room elsewhere so did not even get bags out of the car. Chair had names carved into it. Fuzz hanging from under the bed. Need to get this out of list of motels. SCARY. Need to tear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Benton Harbor
Days Inn Benton Harbor
#3 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
3.5 mi away
Saint Joseph Inn
Saint Joseph Inn
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay