We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
798 Ferguson Drive, I94 Exit 28, Benton Harbor, MI 49022 (Formerly Howard Johnson Benton Harbor)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    11
    4
    18
See reviews for
14
5
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Valparaiso, IN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Get over it people. You are spending $60 / nt, what do you expect? Yeah, it's dated and needs updates but you are spending $60, what do you expect? Our room, while very dated, was very clean, front desk guy was a hoot, I was even impressed that the pool and hot tub were doable. I wish teh ice machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Our room was disgusting. There was a used wash cloth with black hair hanging down from the shower rod, the bathroom countertops were dirty. My black outfit I sat down , picked back up with dust, and whatever else was on the countertop. Took a wet cloth and wiped down the countertops of which became black after cleaning the countertop.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your, and we will fix all the problems you had. Thank you for bringing this up to us. More 

Travelers are raving about these Benton Harbor hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The price is right on the money here, and I'll come back again. Was on a work trip and found this place to be just fine, people were nice, the pool was nice, and the rooms were nice and clean. That hot tub is huge and real relaxing, and made not being home easier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Brutus
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Arrived late at night. Accepted a room ($80 w/ the coupon I found in my luggage). Front desk staff friendly. Ceiling in room had several patches of water damage. Room next to highway on-ramp - very noisy. Found out why - sliding glass door was ajar. At check out - no one at front desk - except the 3 of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I thank you for your input, and sorry your experience wasn't pleasant. This will help us with our training of the staff to help make everyone's stay better. More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were too late booking rooms, so we were stuck with this place at 140/night. We were only there to sleep between 7 p.m. and 3 a.m., so we were sure we could deal. - The hallway on the first floor smelled strongly of urine in that permanent, hoarding kind of way, and our room window was against the indoor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a bad stay with us. Your review will help us in making the hotel better. More 

Imlay City, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I reserved this room during the Ironman competition so there were slim pickings for accommodations in the area. This room was over $100 for one night for one bed, which I consider price gouging. The building was rundown and the exterior was actually crumbling in places. Inside, there was extensive water damage on all the walls and my guess would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry your visit wasn't pleasant. We will address these flaws. More 

Evergreen Park, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We (My wife and 2boys) decided to take an overnight trip to Michigan on the spur of the moment so the availability of rooms in the area was limited. We happened upon the motel thru Roomkey and reviewing the photos as well as some reviews we booked the room. The only positive was, it was inexpensive. As we checked in,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

location is right off the highway and on the way to chicago. the front desk staff was very helpful and nice. they are trying very hard to keep the place clean, so much so that it really smells like cleaning products as well as the smoke and grime they are trying to clean up. our room was very clean, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I am writing a review because I had read reviews before visiting and I was a little worried but its not that bad. I stayed 2 nights with my 2 kids and the room was clean but outdated, no biggie. Had a good laugh at the very old TV and microwave but they both worked. Bed was comfortable and clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. this will help us in making us a better place to visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities