We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
798 Ferguson Drive, I94 Exit 28, Benton Harbor, MI 49022 (Formerly Howard Johnson Benton Harbor)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    4
    12
    6
    20
See reviews for
19
5
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel smell clean and room was clean, but later on in the night I woke up with two bites on my neck. The blanket had long strand of hair on it and sheets was dirty. I didn't see it until the next day. The front desk didn't see considered that hair was on blanket, because it was several hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. These are preventable problems that will be addressed. Cleanliness is the key. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights-me, my 2 kids, my brother and his 3 kids, and my mom. We reserved 2 rooms. When we got there, they only had 1 room reserved. Thank God we had our confirmation email. She finally found 2 rooms and they were adjoining..plus!!. We were on the 5th floor. Bad news...no wifi. Sometimes it came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's all about the details and pointing these out to us will just make us better. Hoping you come back and visit next time you are in town. More 

Woodland, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The motel was nothing like the pictures, it was old and outdated, dirty and need major updating. The staff was rude and unhelpful. The evening desk man was rude charged me again for a roll away I had already paid for. He also refused to give towels to out to people using the pool and laughed about it even tho... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had these troubles. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will make sure this doesn't happen in the future. We will educate our staff to ensure a better stay for everyone. More 

Travelers are raving about these Benton Harbor hotels

Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was a huge disappointment. The shower was moldy and the tub dirty. The ride in the elevator was interesting as a lady of the evening joined us.I'm taking Americas Best Value Inn off the list of hotels in which I will stay going forward.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I feel bad that your stay was not enjoyable. Clean rooms are a must anything less is unacceptable. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I'm thankful for the kind treatment that my Mother and I received from the hotel staff while staying at this hotel. We had our sweetie little kitty with us to and she loved the view. It was simply weird to me that they value pool parties over free laundry facilities for customers to clean, their clothes and a restaurant thats... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you. The pet fee does bring up the price of the room some and we do have a coin-op laundry room, and there are snack machines through out the hotel. I,m sorry you didn't have a better stay with us. This review will help us stay on track. More 

Valparaiso, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Get over it people. You are spending $60 / nt, what do you expect? Yeah, it's dated and needs updates but you are spending $60, what do you expect? Our room, while very dated, was very clean, front desk guy was a hoot, I was even impressed that the pool and hot tub were doable. I wish teh ice machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

We pride ourselves on keeping rooms clean, and yes the pool is outstanding. We will be working on having more convenient ice. Thank you for your review it only makes us make ourselves better. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Our room was disgusting. There was a used wash cloth with black hair hanging down from the shower rod, the bathroom countertops were dirty. My black outfit I sat down , picked back up with dust, and whatever else was on the countertop. Took a wet cloth and wiped down the countertops of which became black after cleaning the countertop.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your, and we will fix all the problems you had. Thank you for bringing this up to us. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The price is right on the money here, and I'll come back again. Was on a work trip and found this place to be just fine, people were nice, the pool was nice, and the rooms were nice and clean. That hot tub is huge and real relaxing, and made not being home easier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Brutus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Arrived late at night. Accepted a room ($80 w/ the coupon I found in my luggage). Front desk staff friendly. Ceiling in room had several patches of water damage. Room next to highway on-ramp - very noisy. Found out why - sliding glass door was ajar. At check out - no one at front desk - except the 3 of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I thank you for your input, and sorry your experience wasn't pleasant. This will help us with our training of the staff to help make everyone's stay better. More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were too late booking rooms, so we were stuck with this place at 140/night. We were only there to sleep between 7 p.m. and 3 a.m., so we were sure we could deal. - The hallway on the first floor smelled strongly of urine in that permanent, hoarding kind of way, and our room window was against the indoor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a bad stay with us. Your review will help us in making the hotel better. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay