We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
798 Ferguson Drive, I94 Exit 28, Benton Harbor, MI 49022 (Formerly Howard Johnson Benton Harbor)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    4
    13
    7
    28
See reviews for
22
7
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Benton Harbor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here a handful of times over the years with my wife and children. A couple stays have been good with great room, great bed, clean bathroom, etc. This year, the room was a bit dirty, especially the bathroom walks, grout and corners. Some cobwebs in the bedroom. The beds were D+ quality/comfortable this time around. Only two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bloomingdale, Illinois
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pictures looked ok and the price was good, so I made a reservation on Travelocity. Then, I discovered I could save by using the corporate website. So, I cancelled the Travelocity reservation & rebooked the same room on the corporate website. When I arrived, I showed my printout from the corporate site with a confirmation number, and was told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Benton Harbor hotels

Brownstown Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrible accomodations, front desk said that we were given the wrong password and when it didn't work they admitted that there was no wifi due to too many users Supposed to be a non smoking room but it wasn't Restaurant closed Room not clean and musty smell, very outdated room and bath Ice machine broke

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay wasn't pleasant. We will take this opportunity to fix many of these problems so that everyone may find a better stay here with us. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible accommodations, smelly smoking room even though it was supposed to be non-smoking, no wifi - we were told that wifi was limited to so many users and to keep trying - I was never able to connect. It was so bad that my husband decided to leave and drive back home!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for keeping us on our toes. This will be a priority to make sure everyone has internet access while here. Everyone should have a pleasant stay with us. More 

Marion, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Absolutely the most disguising hotel we have ever been to! Entire hotel smelled and was filthy! No towels, ice machine did not work, and the "breakfast" they offer was at least 4 days old! No one seemed to care just a whatever attitude. They should honestly be embarrassed! Absolutely DO NOT stay here!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was unpleasant. Thank you for bringing up these issues. It does help us to work harder to insure that everyone has a nice and clean stay here. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

When we looked online at the website, it looked ok. No one had great expectations, we were just glad we found a place where we could shower and get some sleep... When we arrived, the place looked run down from the outside... Inside was worse! The lobby was hot as the AC was out!!! The pool area was hotter than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay was unpleasant. Thank you for bringing up these issues. We strive to be clean, ready and helpful to insure that your stay is enjoyable. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

When we first arrived we were charged an up charge of $10.00 per room because we had two people per room instead of one. One of the rooms was dirty and had a whole in the wall. We tried to get out of the situation but we booked it stupidly as non-refundable. Never again. There was broken glass by my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are very sorry your stay was tarnished with reservation problems and were able to upgrade you at no charge. We hope you will join us the next time you visit the area. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We travel nearly half the year for work and I found that many people that do reviews are cheap and have unrealistic expectations. I think for the price this hotel has a lot of great amenities. While I admit it is a little bit dated it is clean and the people are friendly. I think for the price it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you. We hope you come and visit us again. More 

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

This place isnt somewhere to take children. The carpet is beyond nasty, the bed was lumpy and the pillows were stained and looked ancient. Check in took forever because the guy couldn't figure out how to use the printer and I waited 15 minutes for someone to appear at the desk to check out in the morning. Waste of money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay wasn't pleasant. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We strive for cleanliness, and will make sure it is so, everyday. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

The room was nasty made sure I sprayed Lysol everywhere there was door connected to others room where u can hear other people my the refrigerator was nasty and the microwave was the lounge chair had hair all of it but overall great for the price recommend if you are only staying one night because of the price

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DaveAbvis, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Benton Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We want to make sure everyone has a nice clean stay. Hopefully you will come and stay with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Benton Harbor
Days Inn Benton Harbor
#3 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Saint Joseph Inn
Saint Joseph Inn
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay