We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Bay City hotels

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6285 Westside Saginaw Road, Bay City, MI 48706 (Formerly Valu Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Bay City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
SenseIntoDollars Kettering, Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (26)
  • Photos (46)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
208 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The family that runs the place is slowly fixing it up. When I drove up I was concerned. Once I got in the hall I saw new lighting, new carpets, etc. When I opened the door to my room I found a clean, large, quiet place to sleep. Price was great. Not many dining choices nearby though. Breakfast was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here twice last September on my way to and from a vacation in Toronto. The outside is very run down and there's not much around the motel, however, I saw greeted with friendly service inside. The beds creeked but were comfortable, and the refrigerator clicked all night. Being on a tight budget, we opted to stay here again.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tried to find a room in Bay City, but there seemed to be some kind of boating reggatta going on. The rooms were clean enough. However, maintenance of the outside and inside was pitiful. If it's a place to put your head down, by all means. Otherwise, go else where.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ontario Taffy, Thank you for your recent review of our property. I apologize that maintenance of the outside and interior was pitiful. We agree that due to renovation of hallways and new carpets made mess inside and sincerely we apologize for it. Thank you for the positive comments regarding cleanliness. We hope that you will give us another chance... More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't complain about the price, nor the easy location right off the freeway. We just needed a place to stop and sleep and it fit the need. The lobby staff were very kind and when we complained that the 1st room smelled like smoke, he apologized and took us to the next one that was fine. The hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My sincere thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property. Your positive comments are very much appreciated by our staff, who work hard each day to make sure valued customers like yourself, are looked after. We have invested time and resources into improving our property, and we are not finished yet! Our lobby and... More

Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family recently attended a wedding in Bay City, and rented 5 rooms here for two nights. All of our rooms were on the second floor, odd numbers (facing away from I-75). No complaints from ANYONE in our party about this hotel. Details below. GOOD: Rooms were large and airy (high ceilings), and all had a small balcony. Air conditioning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear, TMOHTO, We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests. We really really appreciate your descriptive review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff have gone above and beyond in terms of service. I believe you will be pleased with the fresh contemporary look... More

Sturgeon Bay
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was disappointed in the dirtiness of the room. You don't want your feet to touch the floor and the bathtub was nasty. Will put this on my "beware" radar for future trips. The front desk staff was nice. It was kind of scary to check in as its off to the side in a darker area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor regarding you’re experienced with your recent stay. I would like to apologies for failing to meet your expectations in several areas. I was surprised with the situation you explain for the bathtub and carpet. We take pride with the cleaning of the rooms and hotel. As you have seen other... More

Alpena, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had to take a trip to Saginaw which ended up being for 2 days. I reserved a room the first day and decided at 4:30am that we needed to stay another night. I called the front desk, they answered on the first ring I told them I needed to stay an additional night. They said ok no problem if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful compliment about our hotel and staff. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your description about our hotel and room and all the amenities we offer. It helps other future guests to know what we offer and how good treat our guests. Our staff... More

jcbexleyoh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This former Howard Johnsons Motor lodge looks forlorn but our room was spacious and clean and bed was comfortable. Odd rooms face west away from freeway. Each has a patio door so lots of light plus microwave and frig. Free breakfast was fine. Good coffee and free USA Today. Kind attentive staff. No longer in its mid- century glory but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for noticing all of the hard work we are putting into the hotel. As you mentioned we are an older property and we know it requires extra care. Currently we are doing renovation with hallways and new carpets. .Our employees are dedicated to the job and it is reassuring to know that it shows. I am happy to... More

Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We are budget hotel shoppers. If the room and bed are clean at a budget price, we are happy. We are always pleasantly surprised when we get more than expected, and this was truly the case here. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and cozy, we were able to bring our two dogs for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience. We appreciate your kind words. We strive everyday to be the best and it is nice to know that our efforts left such a positive experience with you. Thank you from all the staff here at EconoLodge Bay City, we appreciate the pat on the back and we... More

Michigan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This wasn't a pleasure trip- my mom was just diagnosed with a brain tumour and we had to find a place to stay. WE were pleasantly surprised by how clean, quiet, restful this motel is. Staff is helpful, breakfast is abundant, with waffles, cereals hot and cold, juices, etc. We're finding that we have to go back for mom's surgery.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aashish P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review! On behalf on our entire team thanks for your kind words. Your discriptive feedback is very helpful to other guest to book their room in the near future.We are hoping that your mom is doing good. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 6285 Westside Saginaw Road, Bay City, MI 48706 (Formerly Valu Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bay City
Bay City Econo Lodge

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Econolodge Bay City is one of the better hotel choices in Bay City. The amenities are first rate with very comfortable accommodations.Easy access on/off Interstate 75, exit 54 rooms with both interior and exterior entrances, and business class rooms, free incoming/outgoing faxes, and free continental breakfast with 3 kids of cereals, orange juice, 24 hours coffee, donuts, muffins, honey bunn, bread ,peanut butter, Bagels, Hot waffles. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet, free HBO and expanded cable, and free long distance calls in US. The hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants like The Bergers, McDonald, Burger King, Subway, etc., And few miles to several downtown restaurants, waterfront and shopping four miles. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
54

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer