We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Orchards Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
222 Adams Road, Williamstown, MA 01267
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Orchards Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    157
    99
    43
    20
    10
See reviews for
93
147
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (329)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have been to this hotel several times and it is always charming and lovely. Personnel are friendly. Restaurant has really improved over the years. Breakfast is relaxed, accommodating and attentive. We were there with a 3-year old and waiters were very kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. I'm very pleased to hear that you have been enjoying your stays over the years. Thank you for the kind comments regarding Gala. We are working hard at improving the dining experience. Our goal is to create... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent only a single night here unfortunately, but really enjoyed our stay. Check in was fast and easy, and very friendly. Our room was on the same floor as the reception, and past what appeared to be a nice library area and a small but fairly well-equipped exercise area. Our room was quite large, with two double beds, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The information we get from guests like yourself is invaluable. We delight in the positive comments of your stay, but are equally disappointed that we did not create the noteworthy experience we strive to deliver. I will... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked into the Orchards for two nights. One night we stayed in a room on the ground floor the second we were on the first floor. This arose due to the hotel mixing up the booking. The downside to this was that you did not feel like unpacking all your belongings, so we left most in the suitcases.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The information we get from guests like yourself is invaluable. We delight in the positive comments of your stay but are equally disappointed that we did not create the noteworthy experience we strive to deliver. I would... More 

North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful setting. Lovely inner courtyard for drinks or reading. Very nice fireplace area with puzzle table and chess. Library area. Pool closed - too early in season. King room - very large and stately. Fabulous bed. Some worn furniture. Dirty carpet. Very spacious bathroom with separate shower and bath. Sinks in and out of bathroom. Bathtub dated. Helpful staff. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The information we receive from guests like yourself is invaluable. We are continuing with updates throughout the hotel, which includes new guestroom carpets and bathroom remodeling. I'm sorry you didn’t have a chance to dine in Gala.... More 

cambridge,ma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Lovely setting,efficient and friendly staff,we'll equipped fitness room and excellent breakfast at a reasonable price.The reception has extensive information on area attractions and hikes.A perfect place to use as a base to explore this portion of the Berkshires.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. The information we receive from guests like yourself is invaluable. I am delighted that your stay with us was so pleasurable. The Berkshires is a special region and has so much to offer. As you stated, home... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

From check in to check out the staff were attentive & helpful. Some of the niceties included free Wi-Fi, two free water bottles, cookies with turn down services and an afternoon tea with treats supplied by the on-site Gala restaurant. We opted for the bed and breakfast package which included breakfast at Gala. The breakfast voucher was for a cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took, and the information we get from guests like yourself is invaluable. I am delighted that your stay with us was so pleasurable. We work hard to surprise and delight our guests with our afternoon tea, and my personal favorite, our... More 

Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We booked a 2 night stay at this hotel. If you are hiking Greylock, which we were, the location is great, just a short ride to Hopper Rd. The facilities were very nice. Our room was very clean and spacious for 2 people. Bathroom was also nice and clean. The room was located on the first floor facing the road... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took. The information we receive from guests like yourself is invaluable. We delight in the positive comments of your stay, but are equally disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations. I have notified our HVAC company, and they are scheduled... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Recently stayed at the Orchards Hotel during a weekend sporting event at Williams College. I chose it principally because I prefer hotels to motels and at $159/night, I didn't mind paying the extra for a nicer place with a lobby and restaurant. The place is pretty cozy and quaint although definitely an older facility that has been kept up as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. We delight in the positive comments of your stay, but are equally disappointed that we did not create the noteworthy experience we strive to deliver. I have placed a call to our tech support regarding the wifi,... More 

Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We had high hopes for this hotel...fireplace in the bedroom, large rooms, quaint Williamstown village location...the hotel is along busy route 7, so not a romantic location, but the rooms are quiet and very comfortable. But we were unable to get Wifi in our room (the lobby was fine); the bedside lamp flickered, the bathroom door would not shut properly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and bringing it to our attention. We appreciate the time you took to do so. I apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our staff worked quickly to replace the flickering light bulb, and the pocket door in the bathroom occasionally requires an adjustment so it doesn't rub... More 

Fishkill
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

My wife and I introduced another couple to this exceptional hotel this past weekend. The four of us stayed there for two nights. We reserved two King rooms with fireplaces. The list of impressive features is long. First, the rooms are the most generous in size and comfort that we have found anywhere! A central hotel meeting area is designed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. I’m thrilled to hear that you introduced our hotel to another wonderful couple. Our living room is a great space, and many of our guests enjoy a cup of tea in the very comfortable furnishings. The living... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay