We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Orchards Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
222 Adams Road, Williamstown, MA 01267
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchards Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Orchards Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    158
    104
    45
    21
    10
See reviews for
96
152
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (338)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently spent one night here and stayed in a double queen room. The pictures on the Trip Advisor site do not look like current conditions. The decor is "old colonial" with emphasis on old. Reception service was mediocre (and host was dressed like he just rolled out of bed at 4pm). Deep scratches on furniture. Mold around the bathtub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toms River
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a large corner room with a fireplace. The furnishings were adequate and the . king sized bed was comfortable. Bathroom and lighting would benefit from an updating. Common seating area was pleasant, but not enough seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

English style hotel with American coating. Rooms are comfortable and nicely furniced, bathroom is getting out of date. Very small pool and gym where not everything works perfectly. Breakfast is nice but takes a lot of time. It does need some attention if it wants to stay competitive. But has all the potentials.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel wants to be a luxury hotel. The rooms are good large, the beds are comfortable and the staff tries hard. The location and dated appearance of the property (particularly the bathroom fixtures) mean it doesn't quite make it. For this area. this is a good choice, though it is pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 1 night with the wife and has to admit that this is by far one of the best hotels in the region. It has that rustic feel, yet the room that I was in has all of the modern amenities. The room is very spacious, bathroom was clean and the bed was very comfy. Front desk staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely property in a beautiful town. Rooms are vast and beds very comfortable. As others have pointed out the property needs a little refurbishing to bring it into the 20th century. TV's are small and very far from the bed (due to size of room). My bathroom need a new coat of paint, but overall it was clean, just slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. We delight in the positive comments of your recent stay but are equally disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations. I will personally check each bathroom and have our maintenance team repaint those in need. As... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very tired property. Bathroom door did not close. Drab and chipped furniture.Have stayed in years past with better result. Very disappointing to see the decline in the property. The staff was attentive and apologetic and we were given a discount after complaining about the state of our room and The property in general.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. We are disappointed that we did not create a noteworthy experience as you have had in the past. The property has an old world feel and we are doing renovations each year. The bedding and common area... More 

New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been coming here for over twenty years. It is ideally situated, with beautiful grounds, an attentive staff and superior dining facilities. The rooms are quite large but oh those furnishings. Old cabinets with doors that are a challenge to open. The tiny TV set is so far from the bed that it is impossible to see the screen when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. I am delighted to hear that your stays over the years have been enjoyable. I will be certain to pass along your suggestions for improvement to our ownership. In the meantime, our maintenance team will look at... More 

Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here multiple times when we come into visit family; it is a grand hotel, but unfortunately it's showing its age, as other reviewers have noted. The restaurant is very good, both the service and the food. The room we stayed in was spacious and the bed was incredibly comfortable, but the walls were paper thin and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. We are delighted in the positive aspects of you visit, but are equally disappointed that we did not meet all of your expectations. We have started updating the property. Carpet replacement began with the hallways and common... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to this hotel several times and it is always charming and lovely. Personnel are friendly. Restaurant has really improved over the years. Breakfast is relaxed, accommodating and attentive. We were there with a 3-year old and waiters were very kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven O, General Manager at The Orchards Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. I'm very pleased to hear that you have been enjoying your stays over the years. Thank you for the kind comments regarding Gala. We are working hard at improving the dining experience. Our goal is to create... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
1.2 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#2 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay