We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Wakefield hotels

Clarion Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   595 North Avenue, Wakefield, MA 01880 (Formerly Lord Wakefield Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
38%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Wakefield
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (148)
  • Photos (52)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    33
    28
    42
See reviews for
32
46
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If I would have to describe in just one word our stay at that place, I would say: "disgusting". My wife and I have had the opportunity to travel to many places in North America as well as in Europe, but never have we been face with such a disgrace. I hesitate to call that place a hotel. This place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

I know you don't want to hear this but we are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. As for whether or not we are undergoing renovations I assure you that we are making improvements daily. More

Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is under renovations. Nothing worked no pool, the ice machine didn't work. When I asked for a refund the guy at the front desk said. It has to be 24 hrs notice. I suggest you wait until they finish the remodeling. It's going to be a while because this place needs a lot of work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Tina, Please contact me to discuss your stay with us. I can be reached at 781-245-6100. More

Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm not going to go into too many details. The staff here is very very nice. Truly everyone I encountered was wonderful. The room I happened to get was not. Some apparently are. Most travelers wouldn't be satisfied with the room. If you're looking for a cheap room near Boston and aren't very particular, this is your place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff you encountered during your stay. We truly try to make each and every guest feel at home. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a bad facility, front desk peeps were nice. Location close to a train station so it was easy to get to and fro from Boston. Under renovation so somewhat of a mess but the room was fine. Has a bar attached and the bartenders were rude. Never did breakfast there but it was available. There was a woman working... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you had a unpleasant visit to the bar and grill. I have forwarded your experience to the bar manager for employee retraining. More

Minnetonka, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in late, after 9:00pm. Left by 5am. If my kid had not been practically asleep in the car, I would never have stayed even 8 hours. Checked in with a reservation that was made earlier, too late for refund. Got to room, down a filthy hall, and the bathroom door was locked. No worries, the front desk clerk said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you were not happy with us. Yes we undergoing remodeling at the moment. The doors covered with plastic are rooms that are being worked on.They cover them to avoid any damage to the doors. Karaoke is every Wednesday and Sunday until 11pm. I apologize that we were not up to standards. More

Hopewell Junction, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel this past weekend and had a decent time. Yes, they are undergoing renovations so there's the smell of paint, and the side doors were left open (security issue) for the workers. Also, please be aware that although there are two floors, there is no elevator. The caulk in the tub in my room needed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you do come back once the renos are done and see all the improvements we have made. More

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please do your self a favor "DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL" it is filty dirty, both computers are down, no elevators, and they will not make the room up or make the beds. Almost got injured when something over head fell. They gave a room with sheets were from a previous accupant and we had them change the sheets.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with us. More

valley stream
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were attending a relative's wedding in downtown Boston - all downtown hotels are in the range of $200 plus per night plus $30 a day to park your vehicle. I am a Choice Privilege's member and this hotel had the least expensive rate of any property in the area - $105 per night with breakfast for two. Positive's 1)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. As you said in your review we are under a full renovation. We have an expected rooms completion date of October 1. We hope you will stay with us again after that time to see all the great changes we have made to the guest rooms. More

Bridgeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

when first arriving at the clarion hotel, It was complicated to navigated due to all of the construction going on. it looked like a very run down place to begin with. once arrived, we tried to check in, only to find out that the check in time they confirmed was now delayed several hours. since they were not accommodating our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a terrible stay with us. We try very hard to accommodate all early arrivals but unfortunately we can not always check people in early. As for cancelling your reservation we do have a 24 hour prior to arrival cancellation policy in place and that is why we were unable to honor your request for... More

Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I took the exit for the street the Clarion Inn was on. I saw a huge sign on top of a building on the left. After going down a long access road, I discovered it wasn't the entrance for the Inn. I almost took the next driveway, but skipped it and took the third left instead. I drove to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 595 North Avenue, Wakefield, MA 01880 (Formerly Lord Wakefield Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Hotel Wakefield
Wakefield Lord Hotel
Best Western Wakefield
Lord Wakefield Hotel

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarion Inn hotel in Wakefield, MA is situated along the shores of picturesque Lake Quannapowitt. With views from most rooms, enjoy this scenic body of water while relaxing in the sunshine, or, for the more active visitor, walking, jogging, biking or roller blading around the lake's five-kilometer trail. Conveniently located just off Interstate 95 in Wakefield, this North Boston area hotel is ideally located just minutes from downtown Boston and Fenway Park, 13 miles from Salem, home of the Salem witch trials, and 11 miles from historic Lexington and Concord. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
87

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer