We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mansion House

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mansion House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mansion House
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    335
    100
    28
    15
    20
See reviews for
98
237
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (498)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (200)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mansion House
See the most recent reviews
Wilton CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is our second visit to Mansion House this winter. The staff is very nice and capable, rooms are clean, comfortable and attractive, the gym and pool are fabulous, breakfast is delicious and very relaxed. During our second visit the staff very kkindly relocated us to another floor when a youth hockey team moved in. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mendon, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is the second trip to the Mansion House. I would absolutely stay again and recommend it to anyone. The room was clean, staff was pleasant, nice, quiet and a great location. The view of the water was lovely. Kind of fun watching the ferry come and go. Not as thrilled with the restaurant but there are tons of places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our Mansion House experience, overall, was good. I wasn't sure it would be good at the start when we were flummoxed when trying to find a place to park the car so we could unload our luggage, or when I was struggling to open the double doors with arms full of bags (really was hoping one of the people at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Not only was this a great place to be while riding out "Sandy", this Inn was sooo comfortable with a great friendly staff, lovely room and a resaurant attached, so that we never got wet. Best of all a large well equiped exercise room and fantastic indoor pool large enough to swim laps. I stayed here for 5 night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frisco, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I totally enjoyed every aspect of my first trip to Martha's Vineyard. I found the hotel to be charming, with a knowledgeable and attentive staff and an absolutely perfect location. We were able walk to and from the ferry! When I return for another visit to the Vineyard, the Mansion House will be my first choice for accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troy, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The first time I stayed here ( Oct 2011 ) I got a nice room with a walk in shower. The second time I got here ( Sept 2012 ) I got the room from HELL .First it said I would get a bay view , that never happened I was overlooking main street. The furniture and placement was terrible.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this review

Free Upgrade to Heaven Yes, the less costly Queen Bed Rooms are not as spacious as some other guest rooms. The shower stalls are standard and although Queen Bed rooms do not have water views, many of our other rooms do. As the owner, I think the Queen rooms are lovely; however I will re look at the room to... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a very bad experience with this hotel. It was noisy, the breakfast was terrible and the staff arrogant. It is a rip off ! It is unfortunate that our first trip to this lovely island was ruined because of this bad choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this review

Give the Vineyard another chance! The guest above, shared with the front desk that there was a family emergency and needed to leave. We tried to accommodate them, offering, according to our notes, several options based on our posted cancellation policy. Family emergencies are stressful and it is understandable that this may have soured their Island enjoyment and colored their... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently attended a wedding on MV. And most of the out of town guest stayed at the Mansion House.The staff is incredible, from the front desk to housekeeping to the Spa. They had the answers to all questions and the solutions to any problems. The rooms are immaculate with even the smallest detail tended to. The have extremely comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose the Mansion House for our vintage Porsche owners Tour because of the location, decor, friendliness of the staff, and menu. Could not have been a better choice. The Chef prepared 2 wonderful 3-course meals for us with a choice of appetizers, entrees and desserts, during our stay. The meals were excellent. Breakfast was a simple buffet but with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marblehead, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mansion House with a vintage Porsche club I am involved with. I plan two trips a year for our group and have done so for the past 12 years. The Mansion House is a home run. The venue itself is in extremely nice condition. The staff was extraordinary. We ate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay