We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanover House

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
28 Edgartown Road, PO Box 2108, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Hanover House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #5 of 13 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
PMills73 Johns Island, South Carolina
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Johns Island, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent two nights at Hanover House. Excellent location and easy walk into Vineyard Haven. Room #8 was clean with a charming decor. We were impressed with the overall attention to detail as well as the delightful breakfast. Enjoyed visiting with our knowledgeable and gracious host Steve. We look forward to a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

So happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. From our breakfasts to the decor, I'm so pleased everything was on point for you. Looking forward to seeing you again next time you're in the area! Take care, Stephen - Owner More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Our family has been staying there for years, and absolutely love it! Steve is a wonderful man, warm,hospitable and helpful. There is a room for every need. The location is perfect regardless of whether you bring a car or not. Staff keeps the guests updated on what is happening on the island and assists with planning the daily trips. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this wonderful review of our place! I'm so happy to hear you had such a lovely time with us, and that we were able to help you feel comfortable during your vacation. I can't wait for next year either! See you soon, Stephen - Owner More 

Reston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Love Martha's Vineyard, but had never been there out of Summer season. Planned a visit to celebrate our anniversary and was not disappointed. From the first time we walked thru the door at the Hanover House, until we left 4 days later, we could not have been treated better. Steve is a super host and takes great pride in showing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Mike! I'm glad you had such nice weather while you were out here and that you took advantage of the close location! We're thrilled we could have a part in making your anniversary so special. Anyways, happy anniversary! We hope to see you back for more Vineyard Haven fun soon. Best, Stephen - Owner More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Came to Martha's Vineyard for first time to celebrate our anniversary. Room was very nice, spacious and quite. Bed was very comfy! We didn't bother with the free breakfast because there are so many great places in walking distances. Not a whole lot in Vineyard Haven but conveniently close to Oak Bluffs, Edgartown and only 25min to Menemsha and Gay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Happy anniversary, Marcia! I sure wish you would've joined us for breakfast -- that porch is so beautiful in the morning, and I know you would've loved it. Despite the fact that we're not really fancy, we hope that you were able to experience the quaintness of Vineyard Haven at our place. We'd love to have you back if you're... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Booked Room #3 for my parents and couldn't have been more pleased. Greeted warmly by innkeeper Steve, escorted to room and briefed on amenities upon check in. Room was absolutely adorable and clean, breakfast on porch was a nice perk. We enjoyed sitting outside on the deck. Will definitely plan a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

It means so much to me that we were able to make you and your parents' trip so special, Sherry. That porch is gorgeous in the morning; I'm so glad you were able to take advantage of it. We really hope to see you back soon for more vacations in the future! It'd be our pleasure. Happy travels, Steve More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

For the first time in years we made a reservation without checking the trip advisor reviews first - big mistake. We received a phone call on Thursday (check in day) asking what time we would be arriving so they had the room ready for us, we thought this was a nice and considerate thing to do.... You would think however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Hey Amanda, It hurts me that you think of us as laughable and disgusting, for we never intend to come across that way. I'm very sorry you got that impression. In regards to the "gone to the beach" sign: I have an extremely hardworking staff that works multiple jobs, so I decided to start calling all our reservations to let... More 

Ipswich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I have been coming to Martha's Vineyard for 52 years. After camping for 33 years, renting a house for 17, we have spent the last three happily at the Hanover House. Steve, the owner, could not be more gracious. We are there the busiest week of the year now, Illumination Night and the Fire works, both n Oak Bluffs. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Fifty-two years, Marty? That's spectacular. You must know this place like the back of your hand. I'm glad the last three years have been spent at our lovely establishment, and I sure do hope that we can make it four. Thanks for leaving this review -- and the tips for the other travelers. It's all very considerate, and we appreciate... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My family and friends went to M.V for my daughters week end wedding we had rooms in both house i have never been to M.V And was trying to find a good B/B rooms for 30 people was not easy but once i started to talk with Steve it was .He was always there to answer any of my off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks, Rafaella. It's wonderful to hear you all had such a great time at the wedding. Congratulations to the newlyweds! We sure hope to see you back when you're in town. Best, Stephen - Owner More 

nj
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hanover House for about 4 days and I loved it! Very clean, beds very comfy, and I had the full breakfast which was so tasty. The owner also owns the Clark House next door which gives a free Continental Breakfast! The owner Steve and his fine staff were very helpful in all areas. Places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Wow! It really sounds like you made the most our of your four-day trip to the vineyard! You saw so much. I'm so glad we could serve as your peaceful home-base. Thanks for leaving us this thoughtful review, and we can't wait to have you back. Until next time, Stephen - Owner More 

Parker, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard. Steve and his staff made for a warm and relaxing experience. Steve welcomed us as we entered the Inn and soon gave us a 101 lesson on the personalities of each city in Martha's Vineyard. He used the MV Visitors Guide as he toured us through each of the city's highlights with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks, Randy! Always good to hear glowing feedback from a seasoned traveler. It was great talking to you and sharing all those little facts about the vineyards. I'm glad you loved the breakfast -- believe it or not, it never gets old for me. We hope to see you back when you visit again! Take care down there in Texas,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities