We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanover House

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
28 Edgartown Road, PO Box 2108, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hanover House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    21
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
17
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Steve was very gracious and helpful. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. Very welcoming This was our second time at Hanover House. Breakfast was delicious. Pleasant memories of Marthas Vineyard! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your compliments, I can't tell you how much I appreciate them. So happy to hear you had such a relaxing and comfortable stay. Looking forward to your next trip to the Vineyard. Take care, Stephen - Owner More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We had an amazing experience at the Hanover House. Lisa & Steve are great. The saying on their website is on point, arrive as strangers and leave as friends. Anything we wanted to know, Lisa & Steve had the answers. The Hanover House is in walking distance from the ferry if your bags aren't that heavy, other than that, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

So glad we could help answer questions and make your stay that much more enjoyable! Happy to hear you made use of the bikes to see all of what Vineyard Haven has to offer. Hope you can join us again soon for another fun and relaxing stay. Take care, Stephen - Owner More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Spent a delightful two days at this lovely little inn. The staff (Lisa, Ellie, and owner Steve) were so welcoming and fully involved with their guests. Arriving by ferry, it's a short walk up a main road. Room 12 was lovely, clean and comfortable. Locally made products were an unexpected delight. Lisa seemed ever-present and sincerely wanting to have the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

herbangal, I am so glad you felt so warm and welcomed during your stay here. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Lisa and Ellie -- they will certainly appreciate it. Hope you're back in the area again soon! Take care, Stephen - Owner More 

Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

This is a smaller B&B however was able to accomodate our tour group of 19. There was lots to choose from at breakfast every morning. It was walking distance to downtown Vineyard Haven and could catch a bus/van to tour anywhere on the island. The host & hostess were very helpful with suggestions when we decided to take an island... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

mileyjackie, it was our pleasure accommodating the whole touring crew. Happy to hear you appreciated how close we are to all the goings-on of Vineyard Haven. Hope you're back in the area again soon! Best, Stephen - Owner More 

Aalborg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We loved to visting Hanover House but should have stayed more than 1 night. Lisa told us everything worth knowing about Martha's VIneyard. In the morning she made us breakfast - PLEASE provide with recipe of the home cooked bread/cake with berry, cream and syrup we got for breakfast. We LOVED it. Furthermore we could take a bath using the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words! I will be certain to pass them along to Lisa. I really appreciate your compliments on our bread as well. Unfortunately, the recipe is top secret! Hope you're back in the area again soon! Take care, Stephen - Owner More 

Johns Island, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Spent two nights at Hanover House. Excellent location and easy walk into Vineyard Haven. Room #8 was clean with a charming decor. We were impressed with the overall attention to detail as well as the delightful breakfast. Enjoyed visiting with our knowledgeable and gracious host Steve. We look forward to a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

So happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. From our breakfasts to the decor, I'm so pleased everything was on point for you. Looking forward to seeing you again next time you're in the area! Take care, Stephen - Owner More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Our family has been staying there for years, and absolutely love it! Steve is a wonderful man, warm,hospitable and helpful. There is a room for every need. The location is perfect regardless of whether you bring a car or not. Staff keeps the guests updated on what is happening on the island and assists with planning the daily trips. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this wonderful review of our place! I'm so happy to hear you had such a lovely time with us, and that we were able to help you feel comfortable during your vacation. I can't wait for next year either! See you soon, Stephen - Owner More 

Reston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Love Martha's Vineyard, but had never been there out of Summer season. Planned a visit to celebrate our anniversary and was not disappointed. From the first time we walked thru the door at the Hanover House, until we left 4 days later, we could not have been treated better. Steve is a super host and takes great pride in showing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Mike! I'm glad you had such nice weather while you were out here and that you took advantage of the close location! We're thrilled we could have a part in making your anniversary so special. Anyways, happy anniversary! We hope to see you back for more Vineyard Haven fun soon. Best, Stephen - Owner More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Came to Martha's Vineyard for first time to celebrate our anniversary. Room was very nice, spacious and quite. Bed was very comfy! We didn't bother with the free breakfast because there are so many great places in walking distances. Not a whole lot in Vineyard Haven but conveniently close to Oak Bluffs, Edgartown and only 25min to Menemsha and Gay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Happy anniversary, Marcia! I sure wish you would've joined us for breakfast -- that porch is so beautiful in the morning, and I know you would've loved it. Despite the fact that we're not really fancy, we hope that you were able to experience the quaintness of Vineyard Haven at our place. We'd love to have you back if you're... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Booked Room #3 for my parents and couldn't have been more pleased. Greeted warmly by innkeeper Steve, escorted to room and briefed on amenities upon check in. Room was absolutely adorable and clean, breakfast on porch was a nice perk. We enjoyed sitting outside on the deck. Will definitely plan a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

It means so much to me that we were able to make you and your parents' trip so special, Sherry. That porch is gorgeous in the morning; I'm so glad you were able to take advantage of it. We really hope to see you back soon for more vacations in the future! It'd be our pleasure. Happy travels, Steve More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wesley Hotel
Wesley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
5.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.0 mi away
The Clark House
The Clark House
#7 of 13 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay