We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
28 Edgartown Road, PO Box 2108, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hanover House to your Saves list
Hanover House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
75%
Ranked #5 of 14 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
kenzo1 England
  • Overview
  • Reviews (74)
  • Photos (23)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed in this B&B. It was a horrible disappointment: the room was old and dark, the furniture cheap and filthy, and the so-called queen-sized bed felt really like a full-sized one. The toilet, sink, and shower were comparable to those in a poor country road-side cheap motel. If Martha's Vineyard is over-rated, over-priced, and over-crowded, then this B&B... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have been back from the states about a week now, we spent two days on the island and stayed here for our time, everything was great, Steve was extremely helpful, and breakfast was what us Brits call continental, it was not like the big american breakfast we had at the other hotels, this was good old food and we really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
new jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Hanover House, Clarks Inn in Vineyard Haven in August 2014. Whenever I have ever made a reservation at a Bed and Breakfast I have expected to receive a full breakfast and a bed. At this bed and breakfast we were told that breakfast was extra even though it stated in our reservation that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip! I'm very sorry to hear that you felt that you got an impression of anything other than friendly. In the fine print of the email that is sent out to confirm the reservation,we had unfortunately forgotten to edit the line about breakfast being included. However, I'm glad that I... More

boston, ma, usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here four times this summer (2014), and each time was comfortable and enjoyable. The rates are reasonable (even in high season), the rooms clean and attractive, the customer service orientation visible and appreciated. The free water and snacks in the room is a nice touch, as is the free continental style breakfast. It is conveniently located -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

It's great to hear from you! Thanks for staying with us so many times this summer -- I'm very happy to hear that you've enjoyed every visit. It means a lot to hear that you've been impressed with our services and amenities offered, and I look forward to having you back the next time you're in the area! Best wishes,... More

Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great stay at the Hanover House for a long weekend. We were in room 16 and it exceeded our expectations as it was large, bright, roomy, quiet, and relaxing with a couch/sitting area as well as a trundle bed/day bed in addition to the queen bed in the room. The continental breakfast was yummy and the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks for reaching out about your stay with us! It's wonderful to hear that you were impressed with everything from your room to the convenient location. Sounds like we were able to provide you with a very relaxing stay, and I hope you'll be back to visit us in the future! Take care, Stephen - Owner More

Hancock, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a delightful stay at the Hanover House! This is not a five star hotel - but it is everything it's advertised to be. We stayed in an outside room with a canopy bed, gas fireplace (which we didn't need), air conditioning (which we DID use), and a lovely shared deck (which we didn't have to share!). It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Hearing this glowing feedback is so incredibly rewarding! Thank you for taking the time to share your support here on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear you had a delightful stay with us and will be sure to share your compliments with the team. Next time you're in Vineyard Haven, come on over! You're always welcome. Take care, Stephen - Owner More

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travelled to Martha's Vineyard at the end of June/beginning of July, we were three couples and had the rooms with the big deck. The rooms were clean, the continental breakfast was very good. We had the "special" breakfasts that you paid a little extra for and they were a disappointment. The staff was super friendly and helpful; Lisa knows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us a few weeks ago! It's wonderful to hear that you were impressed with everything from the staff to your room. It means so much that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Martha's Vineyard, and our team looks forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in the area! Best wishes,... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Quite nice but noisy,we got a room towards streets with a lot of traffic. The bed felt pretty worn out. Great bikes for rent - perfect island for bikerides. If ever going to Martha´s Vineyard again we will choose a hotel in Oak Hills or Edgarton.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some noise pollution on your visit, Gunilla. I haven't heard such a comment before, but that's why leaving your review is so helpful. I'll definitely look into this issue. Thanks for reaching out about your experience, and I hope you'll consider returning again in the future. Wishing you safe travels in the meantime!... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay but felt that we were bothering the woman running the place when we asked questions especially about breakfast. The man in charge in the AM was kind and helpful. Perfect location however!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! I want to assure you that everyone on our staff takes great care to provide the best service and answer any questions our guests may have. I'm sorry you got any other impression other than friendly, but I hope you'll return for a consistently pleasant visit in the future. I'm glad to hear that you... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a great low key B & B to use as a place to lay your head while exploring MV. Convenient to the transit system to easily explore and get to Oak Bluffs and Edgartown as well as the rest of the island. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the island and provides excellent recommendations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

It means so much to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm pleased to hear that you were impressed with the location, as well as the staff. Thanks for staying with us while in the area -- can't wait to have you back in the future! All the best, Stephen - Owner More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hanover House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hanover House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover House

Address: 28 Edgartown Road, PO Box 2108, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hanover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Vineyard Haven with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hanover House, a recognized Martha's Vineyard Three Diamond AAA Inn, provides a great value for guests with the charm of a country home and the convenience of a village inn. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hanover House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer