We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
28 Edgartown Road, PO Box 2108, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Hotel amenities
Hanover House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hanover House to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #5 of 14 Vineyard Haven B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mikeyluvs2travel Reston
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Reston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love Martha's Vineyard, but had never been there out of Summer season. Planned a visit to celebrate our anniversary and was not disappointed. From the first time we walked thru the door at the Hanover House, until we left 4 days later, we could not have been treated better. Steve is a super host and takes great pride in showing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Mike! I'm glad you had such nice weather while you were out here and that you took advantage of the close location! We're thrilled we could have a part in making your anniversary so special. Anyways, happy anniversary! We hope to see you back for more Vineyard Haven fun soon. Best, Stephen - Owner More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came to Martha's Vineyard for first time to celebrate our anniversary. Room was very nice, spacious and quite. Bed was very comfy! We didn't bother with the free breakfast because there are so many great places in walking distances. Not a whole lot in Vineyard Haven but conveniently close to Oak Bluffs, Edgartown and only 25min to Menemsha and Gay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Happy anniversary, Marcia! I sure wish you would've joined us for breakfast -- that porch is so beautiful in the morning, and I know you would've loved it. Despite the fact that we're not really fancy, we hope that you were able to experience the quaintness of Vineyard Haven at our place. We'd love to have you back if you're... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked Room #3 for my parents and couldn't have been more pleased. Greeted warmly by innkeeper Steve, escorted to room and briefed on amenities upon check in. Room was absolutely adorable and clean, breakfast on porch was a nice perk. We enjoyed sitting outside on the deck. Will definitely plan a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

It means so much to me that we were able to make you and your parents' trip so special, Sherry. That porch is gorgeous in the morning; I'm so glad you were able to take advantage of it. We really hope to see you back soon for more vacations in the future! It'd be our pleasure. Happy travels, Steve More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the first time in years we made a reservation without checking the trip advisor reviews first - big mistake. We received a phone call on Thursday (check in day) asking what time we would be arriving so they had the room ready for us, we thought this was a nice and considerate thing to do.... You would think however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Hey Amanda, It hurts me that you think of us as laughable and disgusting, for we never intend to come across that way. I'm very sorry you got that impression. In regards to the "gone to the beach" sign: I have an extremely hardworking staff that works multiple jobs, so I decided to start calling all our reservations to let... More

Ipswich, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been coming to Martha's Vineyard for 52 years. After camping for 33 years, renting a house for 17, we have spent the last three happily at the Hanover House. Steve, the owner, could not be more gracious. We are there the busiest week of the year now, Illumination Night and the Fire works, both n Oak Bluffs. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Fifty-two years, Marty? That's spectacular. You must know this place like the back of your hand. I'm glad the last three years have been spent at our lovely establishment, and I sure do hope that we can make it four. Thanks for leaving this review -- and the tips for the other travelers. It's all very considerate, and we appreciate... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and friends went to M.V for my daughters week end wedding we had rooms in both house i have never been to M.V And was trying to find a good B/B rooms for 30 people was not easy but once i started to talk with Steve it was .He was always there to answer any of my off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks, Rafaella. It's wonderful to hear you all had such a great time at the wedding. Congratulations to the newlyweds! We sure hope to see you back when you're in town. Best, Stephen - Owner More

nj
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hanover House for about 4 days and I loved it! Very clean, beds very comfy, and I had the full breakfast which was so tasty. The owner also owns the Clark House next door which gives a free Continental Breakfast! The owner Steve and his fine staff were very helpful in all areas. Places... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Wow! It really sounds like you made the most our of your four-day trip to the vineyard! You saw so much. I'm so glad we could serve as your peaceful home-base. Thanks for leaving us this thoughtful review, and we can't wait to have you back. Until next time, Stephen - Owner More

Parker, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard. Steve and his staff made for a warm and relaxing experience. Steve welcomed us as we entered the Inn and soon gave us a 101 lesson on the personalities of each city in Martha's Vineyard. He used the MV Visitors Guide as he toured us through each of the city's highlights with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks, Randy! Always good to hear glowing feedback from a seasoned traveler. It was great talking to you and sharing all those little facts about the vineyards. I'm glad you loved the breakfast -- believe it or not, it never gets old for me. We hope to see you back when you visit again! Take care down there in Texas,... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

First of all, we're summer islanders who needed a place to stay for a few days while work was being done on our house. We've driven by Hanover House often and always wondered what it was like inside. So that's where we stayed. What a treat. The Inn Is cozy, comfortable, and clean. We stayed in the Magnolia Room which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

I'm so happy to hear this glowing review! Thank you. I'm also thrilled you were able to stay in the Magnolia Room -- not to say the other rooms aren't fantastic, but the Magnolia is one of my favorites. If you guys are ever back in MA again, I'd love to give out more little facts about the vineyard and... More

Troy, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We recently stayed in this B&B. It was a horrible disappointment: the room was old and dark, the furniture cheap and filthy, and the so-called queen-sized bed felt really like a full-sized one. The toilet, sink, and shower were comparable to those in a poor country road-side cheap motel. If Martha's Vineyard is over-rated, over-priced, and over-crowded, then this B&B... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

I assume you had high hopes for the area, as many people love Martha's Vineyard and are recurring guests. We're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us, Ken. We like to think our B&B is a great value and that it reflects the rustic, country style of the area! I want to assure you that we... More

Do you own or manage Hanover House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hanover House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover House

Address: 28 Edgartown Road, PO Box 2108, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hanover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay