We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 South Yarmouth hotels

The Dunes Motor Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Dunes Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Dunes Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
56%
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
letmettellyou South Windsor, Connecticut
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    10
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in this quaint motel with it's delicious breakfast for several years back in the 90's. On a recent trip to the Cape I decided to stay here as my 1st choice was fully booked. Unbeknown to me the motel has changed hands and the new owner have not kept up the cleanliness. It looked nice from the outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Windsor, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yah know I just feel bad cause if I ran a motel I would have things so nice and perfect. It was doable but....outdated awful red striped bedspreads, terrible white carbs only continental breakfast, no fruit or yogurt or waffles, limited tea choices. Only good thing was the walk to the beach right down the street. And it is off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at The Dunes twice in the past. We could overlook the dated decor because it was clean, taken care of and the owner was extremely nice. Unfortunately, there are new people in charge and things have changed. 1. I made our reservation several months ago and was quoted one price, but was told there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Management is RUDE and not nice to their customers at all!!!! Mrs. Ghandi watches every move the customers make and mistreats her help terribly. Only one car per unit is allowed to park in the parking lot and she will YELL at you to get your car out of the lot. At check out you need to move your car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights August 1-3, 2014. The door into the room was cut too high and you could see out. The window was broken and the screen as well and they had a board going across to keep it shut. It was cracked open too. The toilet was not cleaned properly when we arrived, a fast job to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellesley, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I just stayed here with my Husband and 2 Sons..it was my birthday get-away except could not wait to get away from this place! Horrible continental breakfast, awful coffee. Stayed in room 28 with a great view of other people on the balcony and parking lot. They really should not allow smoking near the rooms as a person was chain-smoking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwood, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We just got back from two nights at the Dunes Motor Inn in S Yarmouth. It was disgusting! The bedspreads were filthy, the blankets were all ripped and grimy, the towels were all old, skimpy and stained. There were cob webs all over. The pillows were lumpy and old. The beds were very uncomfortable. The continental breakfast was a joke!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I woull not stay here again.. my main complaint is having to be quiet when your in the pool area!! how the hell can you be quiet with kids? I never stayed in a hotel where you were told no screaming? I think the owners don't want to rent to families with kids but cannot say so because it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
duneshappy, Owner at The Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are very much a family friendly place despite what you have written and not a true reflection of our intent. We have been forced into placing a sign that asks our guests to keep the noise down due to the fact our neighbor directly behind the pool has filed a lawsuit for noise... More

WEYMOUTH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The manager gave us a room w/king size bed (as favor) which was a queen. The room was disgusting. Smelled bad as soon as you walked in the door, the bedskirt was ripped & ragged, the spread was stained & gross, the sheets didn't match & were old, stained & worn. It had a filthy small couch that smelled bad.The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

great location. Very clean and well kept. The staff was helpful. the only complaint was that the mattress was old. My husband left his watch in the motel and they shipped it back quickly without any problems. I would recommend this motel and I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Dunes Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Motor Inn

Address: 170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dunes Motor Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Dunes Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Dunes Hotel South Yarmouth
The Dunes Hotel
The Dunes Motor Inn Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in South Yarmouth with
any amenities