We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dunes Motor Inn

170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Hotel amenities
The Dunes Motor Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
David D
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at this place for Memorial Day weekend for a soccer tournament. We were told we had been put in the nicer building and that we had new furniture. Well unless new furniture comes prestained, it was not new. We're also told that the previous owners had bought the place back and we're trying to get all problems fixed, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watertown, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I stayed in this quaint motel with it's delicious breakfast for several years back in the 90's. On a recent trip to the Cape I decided to stay here as my 1st choice was fully booked. Unbeknown to me the motel has changed hands and the new owner have not kept up the cleanliness. It looked nice from the outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
South Windsor, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Yah know I just feel bad cause if I ran a motel I would have things so nice and perfect. It was doable but....outdated awful red striped bedspreads, terrible white carbs only continental breakfast, no fruit or yogurt or waffles, limited tea choices. Only good thing was the walk to the beach right down the street. And it is off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Dunes twice in the past. We could overlook the dated decor because it was clean, taken care of and the owner was extremely nice. Unfortunately, there are new people in charge and things have changed. 1. I made our reservation several months ago and was quoted one price, but was told there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Management is RUDE and not nice to their customers at all!!!! Mrs. Ghandi watches every move the customers make and mistreats her help terribly. Only one car per unit is allowed to park in the parking lot and she will YELL at you to get your car out of the lot. At check out you need to move your car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights August 1-3, 2014. The door into the room was cut too high and you could see out. The window was broken and the screen as well and they had a board going across to keep it shut. It was cracked open too. The toilet was not cleaned properly when we arrived, a fast job to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellesley, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I just stayed here with my Husband and 2 Sons..it was my birthday get-away except could not wait to get away from this place! Horrible continental breakfast, awful coffee. Stayed in room 28 with a great view of other people on the balcony and parking lot. They really should not allow smoking near the rooms as a person was chain-smoking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwood, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We just got back from two nights at the Dunes Motor Inn in S Yarmouth. It was disgusting! The bedspreads were filthy, the blankets were all ripped and grimy, the towels were all old, skimpy and stained. There were cob webs all over. The pillows were lumpy and old. The beds were very uncomfortable. The continental breakfast was a joke!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I woull not stay here again.. my main complaint is having to be quiet when your in the pool area!! how the hell can you be quiet with kids? I never stayed in a hotel where you were told no screaming? I think the owners don't want to rent to families with kids but cannot say so because it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
duneshappy, Owner at The Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are very much a family friendly place despite what you have written and not a true reflection of our intent. We have been forced into placing a sign that asks our guests to keep the noise down due to the fact our neighbor directly behind the pool has filed a lawsuit for noise... More 

WEYMOUTH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The manager gave us a room w/king size bed (as favor) which was a queen. The room was disgusting. Smelled bad as soon as you walked in the door, the bedskirt was ripped & ragged, the spread was stained & gross, the sheets didn't match & were old, stained & worn. It had a filthy small couch that smelled bad.The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay