We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 South Yarmouth hotels

Surfcomber on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber on the Ocean to your Saves list
107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
  • Overview
  • Reviews (104)
  • Photos (144)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (28)
  • More
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Second time my family has stayed here. If you're looking for high end hotel, this is not it. Nor will you find that type of hotel on the Cape. The rooms are kind of old and damp smelling, don't think you can get around the smell being that they are right on the beach. As far as being old, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the Surfcomber on the Ocean five nights for a first-time visit to the Cape. My sister-in-law chose the location, and it turned out to be a good one: located mid-Cape Cod, the Surfcomber is situated on on a pretty stretch of beach with several other motels. This location is supposed to offer warmer water, and true... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our second stay at the Surfcomber. We had a second floor room this time and no kitchen, but every room has at least a fridge and microwave, as well as a Keurig coffee maker. We still had a good view and there was less night time noise with no one overhead. Also had a corner room, so no one passing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, convenient access to all the Cape! Our room was small but faced the ocean! The view and sound of the waves all night was just what I wanted! The small private beach was very nice and beach lounge chairs are provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Yes, the location is phenomenal and right on the beach and the small pool was nicely heated. The rooms are just ok. Clean but fairly dated with the smallest bathroom possible. The beach towel process is insulting--for over $300 per night, please don't make me leave a $5 deposit per beach towel. Private balconies would be nice but we did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay at the Surfcomber. The room was relatively small, but quiet and clean. The staff were friendly, the pool heated, and the beach area not crowded despite it being a weekend in July. It's centrally located in South Yarmouth so it's near Hyannis and all the restaurants and shops spread across Yarmouth, but be prepared for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfcomberontheocean, Manager at Surfcomber on the Ocean, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay at the Surfcomber. I apologize if there was any confusion about our rates. You are correct in that the rates are based on double occupancy and each additional person is $10 per night. Included in this charge is a cot or crib if needed. Regarding the ocean view rooms,... More

new jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was one amazing place. Great location great staff from front desk to pool manger and everyone in between. Housekeeping and young boys taking care of the grounds were hardworking and delightful. Mia was my favorite. Hardworking kind funny helpful and efficient! Tree should be one of her at every resort. The location can't be beat. On the beach, pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night on our way up the Cape. I wish we'd known this is where all the young drinkers stay and party. Two very loud groups were up until 2 a.m., broke into the pool, partied on the outdoor balconies and beach. Staff didn't do anything when we complained nor offer us a discount. Much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stickbug, Manager at Surfcomber on the Ocean, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at the Surfcomber. We pride ourselves on being a quiet and peaceful family and couple focused small hotel. Unfortunately we cannot know in advance the intentions of every guest who makes a reservation. That said, we are sorry our staff did not resolve this issue to your satisfaction. We do hope you... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place is PERFECT for a family with kids. It feels like you have a private beach and pool all to yourself. Service was impeccable from the 1st moment we arrived until we left. The property and the rooms are maintained to perfection. All the food and activities are within 2-3 minutes driving. We are definitely making this a yearly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
surrey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stopped here for 3 nights for some R and R during the middle of our driving holiday and was pleasantly surprised at just how much I enjoyed it there. You're slap bang on a private beach with sun loungers and if that's not for you, there are more around the heated pool or on the lawn. Everyone we spoke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Surfcomber on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Address: 107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in South Yarmouth #1 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth #2 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth #3 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
33

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Surfcomber on the Ocean and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Surfcomber on the Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer