We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 South Yarmouth hotels

Surfcomber on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Surfcomber on the Ocean to your Saves list
107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weeknight Special - $99!
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
41
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Upper
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Loved this hotel. The room was spacious and felt homey. The bathroom was on the small side but there was only two of us. The owner has obviously paid attention to the fine details, for example the grounds are immaculate. Definitely would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the surfcomber Sept 5-7 and had a great time! The hotel is quiet even at full capacity which we liked, as we weren’t looking for a party spot. We had a 2 queen room with private balcony (room 30) which had a gorgeous view of the grounds, pool, and ocean! The room was basic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Second time my family has stayed here. If you're looking for high end hotel, this is not it. Nor will you find that type of hotel on the Cape. The rooms are kind of old and damp smelling, don't think you can get around the smell being that they are right on the beach. As far as being old, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Surfcomber on the Ocean five nights for a first-time visit to the Cape. My sister-in-law chose the location, and it turned out to be a good one: located mid-Cape Cod, the Surfcomber is situated on on a pretty stretch of beach with several other motels. This location is supposed to offer warmer water, and true... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Our second stay at the Surfcomber. We had a second floor room this time and no kitchen, but every room has at least a fridge and microwave, as well as a Keurig coffee maker. We still had a good view and there was less night time noise with no one overhead. Also had a corner room, so no one passing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great location, convenient access to all the Cape! Our room was small but faced the ocean! The view and sound of the waves all night was just what I wanted! The small private beach was very nice and beach lounge chairs are provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Yes, the location is phenomenal and right on the beach and the small pool was nicely heated. The rooms are just ok. Clean but fairly dated with the smallest bathroom possible. The beach towel process is insulting--for over $300 per night, please don't make me leave a $5 deposit per beach towel. Private balconies would be nice but we did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay at the Surfcomber. The room was relatively small, but quiet and clean. The staff were friendly, the pool heated, and the beach area not crowded despite it being a weekend in July. It's centrally located in South Yarmouth so it's near Hyannis and all the restaurants and shops spread across Yarmouth, but be prepared for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfcomberontheocean, Manager at Surfcomber on the Ocean, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay at the Surfcomber. I apologize if there was any confusion about our rates. You are correct in that the rates are based on double occupancy and each additional person is $10 per night. Included in this charge is a cot or crib if needed. Regarding the ocean view rooms,... More

new jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was one amazing place. Great location great staff from front desk to pool manger and everyone in between. Housekeeping and young boys taking care of the grounds were hardworking and delightful. Mia was my favorite. Hardworking kind funny helpful and efficient! Tree should be one of her at every resort. The location can't be beat. On the beach, pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night on our way up the Cape. I wish we'd known this is where all the young drinkers stay and party. Two very loud groups were up until 2 a.m., broke into the pool, partied on the outdoor balconies and beach. Staff didn't do anything when we complained nor offer us a discount. Much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stickbug, Manager at Surfcomber on the Ocean, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at the Surfcomber. We pride ourselves on being a quiet and peaceful family and couple focused small hotel. Unfortunately we cannot know in advance the intentions of every guest who makes a reservation. That said, we are sorry our staff did not resolve this issue to your satisfaction. We do hope you... More

Do you own or manage Surfcomber on the Ocean?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Address: 107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Near Surfcomber on the Ocean