We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belfry Inn and Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
6 Jarves Street, Sandwich, MA 02563
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Belfry Inn and Bistro
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Provincetown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Belfry Inn and Bistro is a wonderful restaurant located inside a remodeled historic church. The space is romantic and elegant. There was a live piano player which adds to the special feeling of the place. Our server was super friendly and accommodating and our entire party of five adults all enjoyed our entrees. In fact, my filet mignon was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell B
cape cod
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived a little before our 6pm reservation and was seated in an isolated corner table for two. I asked to have a better table but my request was denied ! The place wasn't busy at all and I feel I could have been accommodated! Our waitress came and we discussed the menu and proceeded to order cocktails! She was... More 

Helpful?
Thank emeraudeCapeCod
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

Having stayed during Thanksgiving, I only have positive things to say about the Belfry. It is evident how much work, care and attention the owners put into the establishment, and the result is credit to all those involved. The food and room were superb, with the location perfect for someone who, like myself, had come from abroad. The food cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

We were booked into the Abbey part by our tour company and I have to say find some of the poorer ratings here a bit odd. Our room (Thursday I think it was called; it was about 5 weeks ago now) was absolutely charming. Vaulted ceilings, stained glass windows, well appointed bathroom - although see comment below if you are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Belfryinn, Manager at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay and the room. Yes we do have rooms that the showers are more accessible and if an issue we can always try to change a room if requested. Again thank you for your positive comments. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at The Belfry for 5 nights at beginning of October. We were fortunate to stay in the room with the stained glass windows and pretty balcony. Our friends were in Painted Lady. We found The Belfry to be comfortable and clean. Breakfast was fine, however the menu being very limited, became quite boring by the 4th and 5th... More 

Helpful?
Thank Collateral1509
Belfryinn, Manager at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. If we recall you and your friends were upset that both of your rooms were not located in the Abbey. After a lengthy discussion which as the owner tried to show you on your VOUCHER that your tour operator actually booked you in the Village building at almost $100 LESS per night cost. We UPGRADED... More 

Plymouth MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Decided to try for lunch on Veterans Day 2015. Very rainy dreary day. There was no one there to greet us when we came in for our reservation. The place is charming but we noticed a few diners just looking around. Then we noticed only one wait person. Once seated it was ok and we did finally get attention. Ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank nejorob
Belfryinn, Manager at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was a deary wet day and we do have a Hostess on duty who assist in seating as well as helps the wait staff for lunch at this time of year. The front entrance is such that one has to walk to the right as you enter ( there is a sign) into the... More 

Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

A great location and interesting buildings. We stayed in the Painted Lady and appreciated its 19th century charm and many period details. There were however numerous little glitches which indicated that the management is not really keeping on top of things: a noticeable hole in the quilt cover, wall lights needing rewiring so the room was a bit gloomy, meagre... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue F
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Well, not too much to say about the place! And apparently not the first incident of charging customers double! Payed the room (not the tax for the room!) in advance via Visa on booking online using the premises' own booking engine. On arrival no one was able to find that payment. They finally did next morning. I, being a complete... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jens-Michael O
Belfryinn, Manager at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review

We run a fine establishment with fantastic personnel who yes may occasionally make a mistake. It was a mistake in accounting. We made the correction immediately. To be derogatory to our staff is not appreciated. We only did our utmost to make your stay pleasant not to have you lambast us for an honest mistake that was rectified immediately. To... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

i completely agree with the review of 12th August. We are spending 3 nights here and have been very disappointed by the lack of welcome on arrival, lack of any information at all in our room in the Village House and the lack of comfort in our very small and cold room. The heating is inadequate and we had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Belfryinn, Manager at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our focus is not the Bistro it is our guests and we do respond immediately to any issue. This particular weekend the temperature were in transition and the heat was turned on and provided of course immediately. There was never any mention of heat after the initial comment upon check in. We had 8 guests... More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Belfry Inn. Accommodation is across three buildings, we were in the Village House, which we loved. We travelled as a family so were able to have three rooms together. The village house has a lovely porch that you can sit out on and a very pretty garden. All the rooms were comfortable and... More 

Helpful?
Thank KMHBerkshire
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
17.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn
Dan'l Webster Inn
#4 of 12 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
20.5 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
16.8 mi away
Clarion Inn South Yarmouth
Clarion Inn South Yarmouth
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay