We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Rowley B&Bs / inns

Country Garden Inn and Spa

2.5 of 5 Inn   |   101 Main Street, Route 1A, Rowley, MA 01969
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Google Invitation
Save Saved
You added Country Garden Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Country Garden Inn and Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
73%
Ranked #1 of 1 Rowley B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014
AndFreedomFor New York City, New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (71)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Really pretty hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. They're very generous - I never felt like they were cutting corners. Everything is clean and updated. Nice pool, pretty grounds. Had a really great time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

When we booked rooms here we were told that if we canceled with sufficient notice (2 weeks) there would be no cancellation fee. When we did need to cancel, and did so more than 2 weeks in advance, the reservations manager did not indicate there would be any charge. Nonetheless, a $50 charge appeared on our credit card bill. Reserve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnZ3364ZW, General Manager at Country Garden Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Our policy is clearly stated in the confirmation you received from us. To rate our establishment as terrible when you have never even stayed here is unfair at best. If you did not read our policy, we can not be held accountable for that. Have a great Summer. More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I love historic places with character. This place is like an oasis with a variety of room types. Mine was large and modern inside. I did not have a lot of time to spend on property; and will certainly stay again when I am in the area. I can't speak to value for money as my stay was a gift... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Farmington, Pennsylvania
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I was extremely disappointed in all aspects of the inn. Maid service: towels and shampoo removed & not replaced, no coffee and clean cups. Bed:very uncomfortable. All guests had traveled from considerable distances for a wedding, including bride and groom,their parents and grandparents, most of the wedding party and many guests, filling almost all occupied rooms. All were quiet and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
countrygardeninn, General Manager at Country Garden Inn and Spa, responded to this review

As you were with the same person who complained below, I will reiterate. Your party did not block the entire property, though acted as if it had. This is not a function facility, as I told you before you came. You desired to have a party here from 11PM until one in the morning, and I told you no way.... More

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have never written a negative review but the attitude of this motel management was completely unacceptable. We rented more than half the rooms for two nights - family and out-of-town guests for a wedding. We planned to have a farewell picnic breakfast together on Sunday morning before checking out at 11AM. Although a mediocre continental breakfast is included in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
countrygardeninn, General Manager at Country Garden Inn and Spa, responded to this review

We have been doing Weddings successfully for decades, though your desire to turn this place into a function hall with zero notice was unacceptable. We are a small Inn, and as the Manager it is my duty to see that all guests are considered, not just yours. You gave us no warning, and we did not tell you to rent... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed here a couple weeks ago just as a stopping point on our way up to Maine. It is a decent little inn and priced well in comparison to hotels in the surrounding area. Our room was clean and beds were comfortable, although a bit antiquated. We were intereted in getting a massage at the so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countrygardeninn, General Manager at Country Garden Inn and Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again, and will do our very best to accommodate you better next time. We enjoyed having you both and have a great Summer. More

Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend for a wedding about 15 minutes away. Beautiful old victorian home with cottages, nice garden setting. The manager was very kind and welcoming. We stayed in the 2 room suite in the home. We were right on the main road, but road noise was not an issue, it was very quiet and we slept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countrygardeninn, General Manager at Country Garden Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, your daughter was a sweetheart! Serving the needs of our guests is our number one priority, and we strive to provide the very best of service to them. It is gratifying to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you! More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I do say, I thought the rooms could use some upgrading and for the amenities and quality of room I would say I overpaid by $35. The room I stayed in was small and smelled a little odd, not sure if it was mold, mildew or just dusty. The staff was gracious and tried to accommodate my requests and some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
countrygardeninn, General Manager at Country Garden Inn and Spa, responded to this review

I am very sorry that this guest did not enjoy their experience with us. We offer all sorts of rooms and suites to accomodate all sorts of budgets, that is what makes us unique from the cookie cutter variety. The room this guest stayed in is our least expensive option, and for about twenty dollars more you can have a... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a pleasant visit and they accommodated our food-prep. needs. Quiet & relaxing. Being off-season, we practically had the property to ourselves. I would recommend staying there for either an overnighter or extended vacation. Suites are offered w/fireplaces & jacuzzis in either motel style or stand-alone cottage style.

Was this review helpful? Yes
countrygardeninn, General Manager at Country Garden Inn and Spa, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as it was a pleasure to have you both. It is certainly an idealic setting, and we have many guests who return year after year as they did in the old days. We have been in operation as an Inn for 65 years this year, and is... More

Lynn
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked this on a whim because we had planned a different date but plans did not work out. We had a Jacuzzi suite with a fireplace and small kitchenette. We got take out from nearby and ate in the room at our table. Very romantic. Flat screen tv above the fireplace with a dvd player. Brought our own movie,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countrygardeninn, General Manager at Country Garden Inn and Spa, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as we take extra care to see that our guests are accomodated. I am a fitth generation Hotelman, and it is important to me to carry on the tradition of my Grandfarthers. As Lincoln said "You can't please all of the people all of the time" Our view is that... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Country Garden Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Country Garden Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Garden Inn and Spa

Address: 101 Main Street, Route 1A, Rowley, MA 01969
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Rowley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Garden Inn and Spa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Country Garden Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Garden Hotel Rowley

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located between the historic communities of Ipswich and Newburyport, the Country Garden Inn offers 24 distinctively different rooms/suites. All of our rooms/suites have private baths, a.c., flat screen televisions, HBO and wifi. Also, for guest's use there is a heated pool (seasonal), a hot tub and fitness room. There are 3 licensed massage therapists available (with a 24 hour notice) to ease any aches or pains with a Swedish or Deep tissue massage. Parking is free and a morning reception is available in our office between 9 AM and 11 AM. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Country Garden Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer