We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Capricorn House

GreenLeadersPlatinum level
79 Seaview Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
The Capricorn House
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is long overdue, but now that I am planning a return trip to the Vineyard this summer the Capricorn House is the first place I'll be looking to stay. As a female traveling solo to the island (2 summers ago) for only my second time, I was a little apprehensive. My apprehension turned into pure joy, pleasure, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Being from Boston this is a great spot for a good value. It's a hop skip and a bop down to the Wood's Hole pier. Capricorn is an awesome place for good sleep and wake up to a nice ocean view. We had one upper deck ocean view room, simply phenomenal. Across the street out front park your rental car,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deidre D, Owner at The Capricorn House, responded to this review

Thank you ... Glad to know when we are doing things right and helping people to enjoy their time on the island. More 

Foxborough, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Recently stayed for a girl's weekend. Location was great - short walk to Oaks Bluff stores and restaurants, on bus route to other MV towns, fabulous ocean view/location. Very clean and friendly owner and staff - very comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Hope to be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deidre D, Owner at The Capricorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We would be happy to have you come back and stay with us again. More 

w yarmouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We have been coming to The Capricorn House for 3 years now. When we are getting readyto leave every year we book for next year!! We don't want to leave....happy to know we will be back! Deirdre and her staff were especially wonderful this year. My Mom hurt her foot and could not go out the 2nd day...I went out(she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deidre D, Owner at The Capricorn House, responded to this review

Thank you ... We feel that many of our guests are like family, yours included. See you next year ... Room #4. More 

San Diego CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Capricorn B&B has a fantastic front porch, upper decks, and an expansive view of Vineyard Sound. It has a friendly and capable owner and good staff. It is located on Sea View and Pequot, in the heart of one of the most interesting architectural gems in the U.S.--Oak Bluff and its Victorian and Gothic Revival homes. You can walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deidre D, Owner at The Capricorn House, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for your very kind words and nearly accurate review; however I can't help but bring up a few things that are needing to be mentioned. We are a small seven bedroom guesthouse/bed-and-breakfast built in 1876; originally the summer home of a sea captain and his family. The bedrooms are small; it's an old Victorian, but they do... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband booked us without knowing anything about the B&B; I am so thrilled he did!!! After exploring the island(we caught the bus directly in front of the B&B), I would not have chosen any other place to stay! We loved it! Friendly, clean, beautiful view, perfect location across from the beach, great breakfast! Coffee and tea available at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deidre D, Owner at The Capricorn House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear when people appreciate what we give; and love to share our knowledge of this island that we call "home & Sanctuary." More 

Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

It is time for our annual stay at Capricorn House. As always, Deirdre was her usual warm and welcoming self. We had the suite which is comprised of two bedrooms and a sitting room all recently redecorated. Very comfortable for four adults. The porch, with its unobstructed view of the ocean, is a great place to sit and watch the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
capricornbandb, Owner at The Capricorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much Joanne. I look forward to you and the rest of your traveling companions visiting each year. I appreciate hearing that you've enjoyed your stay with us too. More 

Campton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Capricorn House in June 2014. We have never stayed at a bed and breakfast. We truly enjoyed our experience here. We were warmly welcomed and the owner was full of information about the town. The entire house was spotless! The beach was directly across the street. The owner supplied us with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
capricornbandb, Owner at The Capricorn House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. It was my pleasure meeting you both, I look forward to having you stay again in the future. More 

Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We've stayed at the Capricorn house on two prior occasions and we enjoyed it. The main reason was that we had one of the two rooms with a balcony which overlook the beach. Because of the wonderful deck to the outside, the price seemed to be less important. The ability to sit outside with some privacy made me overlook the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wharf34102, Owner at The Capricorn House, responded to this review

It is always interesting to discover a review from a guest that showed no sign of discontent while present in your establishment; and yet have no problem venting about issues that clearly should have been discussed with me directly. Our website is very clear about the size and amenities we provide ... Room #5, the Lighthouse room, (where these guests... More 

Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Capricorn house early in the 2013 summer season. While the very small room was clean and the host put out a few very generic breakfast items each day, our experience can most accurately be described as unwelcoming. The inn was full of the host's children and their friends. I believe only one other guest room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
capricornbandb, Owner at The Capricorn House, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you felt unwelcome during your stay at the Capricorn House last June. It is true that there are often children and teenagers that stay at the house with their families, and my children have come to know them over the years. While my children do understand the restrictions they have as to their usage... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question