We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
399 Grove Street, Newton, MA 02462
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
simstar969 Long Island, NY
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    182
    134
    63
    34
See reviews for
125
108
63
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (512)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (172)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Arlington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a poorly conceived, poorly designed, poorly built, and poorly furnished hotel! Noisy inside (doors slam on closure, your door rattles when another opens) and outside (route 128 roars if you open a window). The furniture doesn't fit (can hardly squeeze past the desk chair), ventilation is poor, a/c is noisy...there's no provision for recycling paper and a $4 bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Ugh: Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo Newton and for providing feedback regarding your stay experience. There are many other fine IHG hotels in the Boston Area. I encourage you to try another location that may better suit your expectations because we want you to enjoy you stay in the Boston even it means stay elsewhere to achieve... More 

Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed here for one night during a lacrosse tournament last weekend. We arrived at about 8pm at night, and left by 10am the next day. We did visit 2 other hotels near by- the Marriott and the Crowne Plaza. We were so happy we chose Hotel Indigo and regretted even leaving to visit the other hotels.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Simstar969: Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other Trip Advisor travelers. The Hotel Indigo Staff appreciate your comments and suggestions. We are thrilled that you have an excellent stay experience! The team strives to provide inspirational service in a personal way to each and every guest. Please come and visit us again soon! Sincerely, More 

Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I wanted to go to Boston for a few days but didn't want to deal with driving in the city and the nicer hotels were out of our budget. The hotel had free parking (which you don't get in Boston), was right off 90 and one block from the "T (that runs every 5 minutes). The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Jheals1082: Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. Guest feedback is valuable tool in our continual improvement process at the Indigo. Many guest enjoy the location of the hotel and the access to Boston. The ride on the "T" to Boston does take about 4o minutes, but it does save about $40 in parking... More 

Albany, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel and price was right. Very easy to walk to the T-station, only a 20 min train ride to Fenway, about 40 min into Quincy Market area. Room & hotel was very clean and had a nice, quiet stay. Staff was very friendly. Newton itself is a cute town and the Knotty Pine is a GREAT place in town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear J S: Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience on Trip Advisor. The traveling public really do rely on these reviews to inform their own traveling decisions. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the value of our location and it accessibility to Downtown Boston. Stay Inspired! More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for the second time in a year. This time from 3/20/15 - 3/22/15. Got an advanced purchase deal with very good rates. The hotel provided a small fridge for my husband insulin at no extra cost. Room & bathroom were very clean. Didn't try the restaurant this time. Walking distance to Riverside MBTA Station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Jeanrexach: Thank you for your recent return trip to the Hotel Indigo Newton. It is a pleasure serving you and husband. Please come and visit us again soon! Sincerely, More 

Bloomfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here while visiting daughter At Boston College. About 20 minute drive from school. We have always stayed downtown or at Marriott MIT but price were well ocver 300 for this weekend so stayed at Hotel Indigo for 149 and no parking fee which can be over 30 a night at other places. When pulling up to hotel had immediate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Frefutravelor: Thank you for giving the Hotel Indigo Newton a try when looking for an alternative to higher priced hotels in Boston. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the design, amenities and breakfast experience at our hotel. Please come and visit us again when the pool it open for the season! Sincerely, More 

Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on 4/22 to come see my boyfriend. The hotel was very modern looking, however the lighting throughout the hotel was a bit uninviting. I wanted to thank Saori for being so helpful and informative and Donna for being so accomodating and pleasant. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to do something romantic. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Sean N: Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo Newton and for sharing your experience with your fellow Trip Advisor customers. We are thrilled to hear that Saori and Donna made a positive difference during your stay. They will be excited to receive your comments. The wine list in Bokx 109 is extensive and designed to meet all of... More 

Chennai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was nice, bed was cozy and comfortable. But the restaurant is very costly. I was told that breakfast was part of my booking but turned out it was not (some confusion). However, the guest relations sorted it out for me. I'm a platinum elite member and I always choose IHG for their service. They have a pool that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Sunalive: Thank you for sharing your stay experience with Trip Advisor. We value your comments and suggestions. I understand your interest to have a breakfast buffet offering in the restaurant. Unfortunately it is an Indigo Brand Standard to offer table service and not a standard buffet option that other hotel brands offer. Please come and visit us again when... More 

Seymour, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Indigo is well situated for visiting Boston. Rooms are very clean and decor is nice. It was a bit on the "Hipster" side for me, but I am old (smile) I was quite shocked at the prices in the bar and restaurant. Way over priced in my opinion. I did not eat there, so I can not say if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear DwightDG: Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo for your recent stay in the Boston Area. Sorry that you did not take advantage of our Bokx 109 American Prime Steakhouse. I think you would have been very impressed. The T station is about a block walk down hill from the hotel and staff and guests alike enjoy the access... More 

Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as spectators of the Boston Marathon this past Monday. We had a very nice experience at this hotel. The rooms were modern and clean, and the beds were comfortable. The staff was great! They were friendly and incredibly accommodating. The morning of the marathon they put out goodies for the runners as well as supplies for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Boston - Newton Riverside, responded to this review

Dear Jessieboo: Thank you for choosing the Hotel Indigo for your stay over Boston Marathon. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the goodies that we were happy to provide to our in house "runners". We hope to see you again next year. Sincerely, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities