We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Newburyport B&Bs / inns

167 Water Bed and Breakfast

167 Water Street, Newburyport, MA 01950
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
167 Water Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Newburyport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newburyport
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly atmosphere, comfortable, great location. All the fabulous restaurants and shops are a pleasant walk away. Beach around the corner. Hosts could not be sweeter. Continental breakfast perfect. Can't wait to return. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rye, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good place to stay for July 4th. It is very convenient to both the town and the beach. Lots to do !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

It was great to meet you and so glad you had fun in our beautiful town. Sorry the wind was so strong! More

Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This time I spent two weeks at 167 Water Street. It was a wonderful time. It was within easy walking distance of everything. Anzie and Chuck gave me the names of several local restaurants that turned out to be great. What a warm and welcoming couple. The room was nice and clean and had wonderful breezes. I will return next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Wonderful to see you again as always! See you next June :) More

Gorham, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast in Newburyport, MA this past weekend. It was a great experience. It is in downtown Newburyport, MA in a section of colonial era row houses. It is right on the river which can be accessed through the garden area. This particular 'house' had what appears to be the original... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Great to meet you both - especially as you are "old" Newburyporters. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Welcoming hosts who are happy to give you plenty of good recommendations on the local area. Good location, all within walking distance of the town centre. Nice rooms and breakfast. Good value all round. We would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Be aware that this B & B overlooks the local sewerage works which lies directly between the property and the beach - no surprises about the quality of the air on occasions! The only other room overlooks a busy road. Neither are en suite. We were offered a blow up mattress on the floor despite having asked for twin beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us.. First, the treatment plant has been going through a 26 million dollar upgrade that will be finished by the end of November and will be no problem. During the last month there were two or three days that there was a smell, but this is now completely eliminated.... More

Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Never stayed at a B&B before, was a little skeptic about it, but I'm glad I did. Room was very clean, along with the bathroom. The location is very convenient, walking distance to shops and restaurants. My niece and I stayed here for two days, we went to the Seafood fest in Hampton Beach which is close by. Motels at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very mush for your review. We hope to see you here again soon! More

Chatham, NJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed with friends for two days earlier this month and couldn't have been happier with both the charming accommodations and with the friendly hosts, Anne & Chuck. They are a very well-traveled, warm couple who provide comfortable rooms, a yummy breakfast and lots of creative advice about shopping, activities and restaurants in beautiful Newburyport. The rooms are interestingly decorated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmington DE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's a shame that Trix D had such difficulty with her reservation, as she would have enjoyed her time at 167 Water B&B. It's small, charming, filled with the owner's Peace Corps memorabilia, and has two terrific hosts, Chuck and Anne. Four of us got together for a mini-reunion and had the most delightful time. The problem seemed to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lutz, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked through Expedia six weeks in advance of my stay and received a confirmation guaranteed for late arrival with a note in bold that there was no need to further confirm with the hotel. When I went to check in the owner of the B&B was rude and stated that I did not have a room. She blamed Expedia... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am very sorry about your bad experience, however the problem was with Expedia and not us. You were very upset, as you had every right to be. Though you had a confirmed reservation from Expedia, they had never notified us, and we were booked. It is the second time this has happened and we have cancelled our contract with... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to 167 Water Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 167 Water Bed and Breakfast

Address: 167 Water Street, Newburyport, MA 01950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
167 Water Hotel Newburyport
167 Water b&b

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming Bed and Breakfast in an 1845 riverside home in Newburyport, MA. Located a short walk from the historic downtown, our B&B offers two guest rooms decorated with European and African art and a shared bath. A generous breakfast is included. Parking is available behind the house. Non smoking. No pets. Check in after 4:00. Cancellation policy is 72 hours in high season.Go to our web page to see availability, male a reservation and book with a credit card. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
2

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added 167 Water Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list