We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Newburyport B&Bs / inns

167 Water Bed and Breakfast

167 Water Street, Newburyport, MA 01950
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
167 Water Bed and Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newburyport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Welcoming hosts who are happy to give you plenty of good recommendations on the local area. Good location, all within walking distance of the town centre. Nice rooms and breakfast. Good value all round. We would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Be aware that this B & B overlooks the local sewerage works which lies directly between the property and the beach - no surprises about the quality of the air on occasions! The only other room overlooks a busy road. Neither are en suite. We were offered a blow up mattress on the floor despite having asked for twin beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us.. First, the treatment plant has been going through a 26 million dollar upgrade that will be finished by the end of November and will be no problem. During the last month there were two or three days that there was a smell, but this is now completely eliminated.... More

Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Never stayed at a B&B before, was a little skeptic about it, but I'm glad I did. Room was very clean, along with the bathroom. The location is very convenient, walking distance to shops and restaurants. My niece and I stayed here for two days, we went to the Seafood fest in Hampton Beach which is close by. Motels at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very mush for your review. We hope to see you here again soon! More

Chatham, NJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed with friends for two days earlier this month and couldn't have been happier with both the charming accommodations and with the friendly hosts, Anne & Chuck. They are a very well-traveled, warm couple who provide comfortable rooms, a yummy breakfast and lots of creative advice about shopping, activities and restaurants in beautiful Newburyport. The rooms are interestingly decorated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmington DE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's a shame that Trix D had such difficulty with her reservation, as she would have enjoyed her time at 167 Water B&B. It's small, charming, filled with the owner's Peace Corps memorabilia, and has two terrific hosts, Chuck and Anne. Four of us got together for a mini-reunion and had the most delightful time. The problem seemed to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lutz, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked through Expedia six weeks in advance of my stay and received a confirmation guaranteed for late arrival with a note in bold that there was no need to further confirm with the hotel. When I went to check in the owner of the B&B was rude and stated that I did not have a room. She blamed Expedia... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am very sorry about your bad experience, however the problem was with Expedia and not us. You were very upset, as you had every right to be. Though you had a confirmed reservation from Expedia, they had never notified us, and we were booked. It is the second time this has happened and we have cancelled our contract with... More

Averill Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just returned home after a mini vacation to the charming seaport town of Newburyport.. Our time there couldn't have been any nicer thanks to our wonderful hosts, Anne and Chuck. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Anne always recommend the best places to eat and things to see and do and Chuck's coffee was by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westminster, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Comfy bed, friendly people, everything you'd want in a bed and breakfast. We had the river view room, yes there were water tanks ou back, no they didn't stink. It didn't bother us but if you are picky don't be surprised by them. Ann and chuck were very nice, they knew all the best restaurants! If we are ever up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
loudmilo
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. My mother, husband and I spent a few nights here and it really suited our needs. The house is a charming, historic house conveniently located in walking distance from downtown Newburyport. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. Ann and Chuck were very welcoming and helpful with recommendations. For breakfast we had a selection of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Warm and comfy B&B, stay here every year when we visit Newburyport. Easy walk to down town with lots of shops and restaurants. Also nice walk along the river. Breakfast always ready when requested. Looking forward to next year for two weeks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we hope to host you again. More

Been to 167 Water Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 167 Water Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
167 Water Hotel
167 Water b&b
167 Water Hotel Newburyport
Address: 167 Water Street, Newburyport, MA 01950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Newburyport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Bed and Breakfast in an 1845 riverside home in Newburyport, MA. Located a short walk from the historic downtown, our B&B offers two guest rooms decorated with European and African art and a shared bath. A generous breakfast is included. Parking is available behind the house. Non smoking. No pets. Check in after 4:00. Cash only - no credit cards. Cancellation policy is 72 hours in high season.Go to our web page to see availibilty and reserve with a credit card. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 167 Water Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list