We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Malden hotels

Econo Lodge

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
4%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Malden
  • Overview
  • Reviews (82)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    9
    14
    56
See reviews for
17
27
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parlin, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm glad we had a lot of activities planned and weren't here much. The first night we were there was a Saturday night and it was so loud and someone kept banging on our door. We were in a second floor room at the back of the hotel so I didn't think it would be that noisy. The TV seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob in NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reason I used this title is that, in terms of hotels, you can't make a silk's purse from a sow's ear. This is an obviously older property in a not very great area. I imagine property values are still extremely high here, there's a lot of traffic congestion, and the hotel is squeezed in on all sides by development.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m very pleased that our hotel served its purpose for you. I’m sorry if we fell short of meeting your expectations in any way, but I’m glad we were able to serve you. We take pride in the property and are always changing and improving to make it better. When you stay again, you can expect it to... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff here. Room was comfortable - wifi worked well. Breakfast was eatable but average. Not much in the way of restaurants close by although there is a pizza takeaway place opposite. I was on the bottom floor, the walls are a bit "thin" as above me I could easily here a couple having "enjoyment time" with each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m pleased that you had a nice stay with us here in suburbia and would recommend our property to other budget travelers. We take real pride in offering a good value. I apologize, however, if any aspect of our property failed to meet your expectations. We satisfy most guests completely and hope you won’t let any minor issues... More

Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Receptionist was nice. Hot water in the morning.. None.. Ok at night. Bed average. No iron blow dryer or coffee pot in the room. Scary crowd hanging around. Under construction rolled up carpet that you had to step over in door way. Never go back there

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for offering your comments. As you saw, we were working to improve our property during your stay, but I’m sorry that our efforts to improve this hotel detracted from your stay. We’ve improved the boiler and made many other changes aimed at improving the quality of the property and the clientele. I hope you will reconsider and... More

Hancock
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on Fri night after attending a track meet at Tufts U. We arrived pretty late at 11:45, so we didn't notice how dirty the parking lot was. Check in was an interesting unsettling affair. Not only do they scan your credit card, they make an old school impression of it. On top of that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about our property. We take security seriously even though we have few problems, but I’m glad you noticed our security measures. We also comply with all local ordinances and regulations regarding guest identification. We have a great working relationship with our city. We’re glad you found the property a good value, but I apologize... More

Berlin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked and payed early but got their last room, stinking of smoke, unbearable for non-smokers.We also complain that your website with frame for a personal mail - question (about how to get to you from airport with public transport) did not work. Was it because our e-mail-addr. ends with " .de"?Breakfast: you have to get up early to catch... More

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with the Econo Lodge during your last visit to our area. We appreciate your review and sorry that it did not match your expectation. We apologize for the inconvenience, but would like to inform that we have ensured that this never repeats. Your other points of observations also have been addressed to. Please do visit... More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I wish I could give this place a negative star rating. Just entering this place is horrible. It's a huge step up to open the door -- not an actual step but the doorway is raised at least a foot. As soon as I entered the room I was unhappy since I could not immediately find the light switch. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry it didn’t turn out to be the enjoyable stay you. Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken: • Management was informed about your suggestion and check the... More

NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had placed reservations for two rooms through AARP. When I drove in, I had a strange feeling about the place. I opened the car door to hear very loud music nearby. We were with our daughters. One room was placed in the front of the hotel and the other was placed in the seedy back of the hotel, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, Malden for your recent stay in our area. We appreciate your review and regret the inconvenience. We take our reviews very seriously. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: • Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees. • The front... More

Claremont, nh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The only thing going for this place is its price, we barely had an internet connection, I asked the clerk for a box of tissues and he woke us up at 11pm banging on the door with them 4 hours later, smoking room without an ashtray, door jam pieced together with no security, bunch of migrant workers hanging outside of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge, Malden during your last to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. We will surely take them for improvement. We have addressed your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit. The hotel staff has been well trained and each room is... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are poor. Lock didn't work properly. Ac broken. Wouldn't swap rooms as hotel was full. Entire place smells bad. Booked non smoking room and it smelled of smoke. Location is scruffy but close to Boston. Price is expensive for the quality of rooms. Check in staff were friendly but entire hotel needs refurbishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. We regret for your experience however unlikely it may be but shall surely take them for improvement. We have checked into each of the aspects which you have mentioned in your lengthy review and have taken action seriously on... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Malden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malden
Econolodge Hotel Malden

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Econo Lodge(R) hotel is conveniently located just seven miles from the Boston Logan International Airport. This Malden hotel is only minutes from the University of Massachusetts Boston (UMass Boston), Tufts University, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Northeastern University and Harvard University. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
51

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer