We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Malden hotels

Econo Lodge

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
3%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Malden
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    8
    16
    57
See reviews for
17
25
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Receptionist was nice. Hot water in the morning.. None.. Ok at night. Bed average. No iron blow dryer or coffee pot in the room. Scary crowd hanging around. Under construction rolled up carpet that you had to step over in door way. Never go back there

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hancock
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on Fri night after attending a track meet at Tufts U. We arrived pretty late at 11:45, so we didn't notice how dirty the parking lot was. Check in was an interesting unsettling affair. Not only do they scan your credit card, they make an old school impression of it. On top of that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about our property. We take security seriously even though we have few problems, but I’m glad you noticed our security measures. We also comply with all local ordinances and regulations regarding guest identification. We have a great working relationship with our city. We’re glad you found the property a good value, but I apologize... More

Berlin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked and payed early but got their last room, stinking of smoke, unbearable for non-smokers.We also complain that your website with frame for a personal mail - question (about how to get to you from airport with public transport) did not work. Was it because our e-mail-addr. ends with " .de"?Breakfast: you have to get up early to catch... More

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with the Econo Lodge during your last visit to our area. We appreciate your review and sorry that it did not match your expectation. We apologize for the inconvenience, but would like to inform that we have ensured that this never repeats. Your other points of observations also have been addressed to. Please do visit... More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I wish I could give this place a negative star rating. Just entering this place is horrible. It's a huge step up to open the door -- not an actual step but the doorway is raised at least a foot. As soon as I entered the room I was unhappy since I could not immediately find the light switch. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry it didn’t turn out to be the enjoyable stay you. Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken: • Management was informed about your suggestion and check the... More

NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had placed reservations for two rooms through AARP. When I drove in, I had a strange feeling about the place. I opened the car door to hear very loud music nearby. We were with our daughters. One room was placed in the front of the hotel and the other was placed in the seedy back of the hotel, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge, Malden for your recent stay in our area. We appreciate your review and regret the inconvenience. We take our reviews very seriously. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: • Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees. • The front... More

Claremont, nh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The only thing going for this place is its price, we barely had an internet connection, I asked the clerk for a box of tissues and he woke us up at 11pm banging on the door with them 4 hours later, smoking room without an ashtray, door jam pieced together with no security, bunch of migrant workers hanging outside of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge, Malden during your last to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. We will surely take them for improvement. We have addressed your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit. The hotel staff has been well trained and each room is... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are poor. Lock didn't work properly. Ac broken. Wouldn't swap rooms as hotel was full. Entire place smells bad. Booked non smoking room and it smelled of smoke. Location is scruffy but close to Boston. Price is expensive for the quality of rooms. Check in staff were friendly but entire hotel needs refurbishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate your review and the observations. We regret for your experience however unlikely it may be but shall surely take them for improvement. We have checked into each of the aspects which you have mentioned in your lengthy review and have taken action seriously on... More

Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The first thing that greeted us was an old or new sick stain on the tarmac at the main front door then the smell and then the security screen at the front desk,we got a downstairs room that you entered by a corridor so there was no outside window in the room,i encountered 3 types of bugs in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement. At the outset, our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever. We have investigated your observations with the hotel staff and have taken all necessary steps to offer the best. Special attention... More

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel is easy to find; we were surprised by the knowledge of the receptionist; he did her best to find the better deal for us for our next stay. Rooms are spacious and very clean; with great amenities with just renovated furniture, bathroom and carpet. The best thing is we could take easy routes via. Public services right outside the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the kind of hotel where you go because you need a place to stay, and all you want is a roof over your head, clean sheets and hot water. The hotel delivers these, and nothing more. The rooms are billed "non-smoking", but by now the smoke is embedded into the carpets, and the place seriously needs a renovation.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malden
Econo Hotel
Econolodge Hotel Malden
Address: 321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Malden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Malden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge(R) hotel is conveniently located just seven miles from the Boston Logan International Airport. This Malden hotel is only minutes from the University of Massachusetts Boston (UMass Boston), Tufts University, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Northeastern University and Harvard University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.