We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Malden hotels

Econo Lodge

1.5 of 5 Motel   |   321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
4%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malden
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    11
    16
    57
See reviews for
18
28
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I don't want to say bad things about this city or discourage ppl from visiting Malden.there are plenty of good restaurants in the city and the city has a lot to offer.the neighborhood is not bad but I see reviews saying they don't feel safe.as long as i have known this location to be a hotel it has had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good. The owner did everything he could, successfully, to get me on the 1st floor. I had a ton of stuff to bring to the room and there is no elevator. He was extremely nice and I appreciated his helpfulness and demeanor. The hotel has clearly tried to update their rooms, and didn't do a half bad job. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for providing us with this elaborate review. Your concerns mean a lot to us. We would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciations about our staffs and customer service. Also, your recognition about our efforts to improve our infrastructures means a lot to us. Once again, thank you for your kind words.... More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check-in clerk is isolated behind (bulletproof?) glass. That's pretty much all you need to know. 15-minute drive from airport is the only plus. "Non-smoking" room reeked of cigarette smoke. Ladies should avoid unless you are travelling with your karate team.

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased that you liked our great location. I’m sorry, however, that we failed to satisfy you in some ways despite our efforts. We provide clean, safe rooms for guests of all types each night and regret that you didn’t have a guest experience that satisfied you. I hope you’ll try us again next... More

Yantis, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

If it was not for the fact that we paid online for this room and that it was nonrefundable and we knew no other place to stay nearby we would never have chosen this place. It was not in the best of areas and was not a clean enough place. There were no outlets to use as they had them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that you found fault with our neighborhood and with the property itself. We take real pride in this hotel and find this neighborhood to be safe night after night. I regret that your experience was different and sincerely hope you will try us again to see this hotel through new eyes. Sincerely,... More

Parlin, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I'm glad we had a lot of activities planned and weren't here much. The first night we were there was a Saturday night and it was so loud and someone kept banging on our door. We were in a second floor room at the back of the hotel so I didn't think it would be that noisy. The TV seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m terribly sorry that you were not as satisfied as most guests because of actions by another guest. I hope you reported the banging on the door to the front desk and to the police. We have no record of it. If you had eaten breakfast, I believe you would have been satisfied with that amenity. Still, I... More

Bob in NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The reason I used this title is that, in terms of hotels, you can't make a silk's purse from a sow's ear. This is an obviously older property in a not very great area. I imagine property values are still extremely high here, there's a lot of traffic congestion, and the hotel is squeezed in on all sides by development.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m very pleased that our hotel served its purpose for you. I’m sorry if we fell short of meeting your expectations in any way, but I’m glad we were able to serve you. We take pride in the property and are always changing and improving to make it better. When you stay again, you can expect it to... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff here. Room was comfortable - wifi worked well. Breakfast was eatable but average. Not much in the way of restaurants close by although there is a pizza takeaway place opposite. I was on the bottom floor, the walls are a bit "thin" as above me I could easily here a couple having "enjoyment time" with each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m pleased that you had a nice stay with us here in suburbia and would recommend our property to other budget travelers. We take real pride in offering a good value. I apologize, however, if any aspect of our property failed to meet your expectations. We satisfy most guests completely and hope you won’t let any minor issues... More

Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Receptionist was nice. Hot water in the morning.. None.. Ok at night. Bed average. No iron blow dryer or coffee pot in the room. Scary crowd hanging around. Under construction rolled up carpet that you had to step over in door way. Never go back there

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for offering your comments. As you saw, we were working to improve our property during your stay, but I’m sorry that our efforts to improve this hotel detracted from your stay. We’ve improved the boiler and made many other changes aimed at improving the quality of the property and the clientele. I hope you will reconsider and... More

Hancock
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on Fri night after attending a track meet at Tufts U. We arrived pretty late at 11:45, so we didn't notice how dirty the parking lot was. Check in was an interesting unsettling affair. Not only do they scan your credit card, they make an old school impression of it. On top of that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about our property. We take security seriously even though we have few problems, but I’m glad you noticed our security measures. We also comply with all local ordinances and regulations regarding guest identification. We have a great working relationship with our city. We’re glad you found the property a good value, but I apologize... More

Berlin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked and payed early but got their last room, stinking of smoke, unbearable for non-smokers.We also complain that your website with frame for a personal mail - question (about how to get to you from airport with public transport) did not work. Was it because our e-mail-addr. ends with " .de"?Breakfast: you have to get up early to catch... More

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with the Econo Lodge during your last visit to our area. We appreciate your review and sorry that it did not match your expectation. We apologize for the inconvenience, but would like to inform that we have ensured that this never repeats. Your other points of observations also have been addressed to. Please do visit... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Malden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malden
Econolodge Hotel Malden

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay