We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thornewood Inn

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
453 Stockbridge Road, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Thornewood Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013
JimMorristown Morristown, NJ
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    4
    12
    9
See reviews for
21
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
There are newer reviews for Thornewood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Morristown, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Thornewood Inn for two nights in early August while we attended a wedding of a relative. We stayed on the second floor of the main house. The room with taxes was $250 per night. Great Barrington is a very popular destination in the Northeast (think Tanglewood) and prices tend to be high during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Thornewood, this being our fourth visit, but unless there are some changes, significant renovations / update, management attitude this will be our last stay. The Thornewood is convenient to Great Barrington's restaurants and shops and provides an escape from the more hectic Lenox and Sturbridge scene yet is an easy drive to Tanglewood and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thornewood, Owner at Thornewood Inn, responded to this review

Since they are repeat guests, that tells me they enjoyed returning to our inn, but felt that this time something was not as expected. We strive to keep up with the expectations, and will continue to do so. We hope this guest will give us another opportunity to have them experience the Inn as we would want them to. More 

boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The forward facing rooms face the highway and could be noisy so we took a back facing room that faced the mts. The room at first glance was fine, but after another look..1)the bed felt like it had an old mattress.2)the picture on the wall was falling down, had an old broken frame with bugs on the mat3)the window mount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thornewood, Owner at Thornewood Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that our guest did not enjoy their stay. We do appreciate any comments by the guest while they are here with us to be able to make their stay more pleasant, however if they stay and do not tell us that they need something, we have no opportunity to change their experience. Upon reviewing the room,... More 

Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Kid-Friendly: We stayed in the Garden Suite. It had two separate rooms (one for the kids, one for us), which was perfect. Breakfast had something for everyone. Pool was great for the kids. Classy: Nice decor and furniture. Owners were present/helpful, but not annoyingly omnipresent like you get in some inns. Bar has a decent selection, and stays open until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a truly terrific place to stay. It's got B&B service and friendliness, but the house is big enough that you don't feel you are sitting in the hosts' living room all the time. There is a very very high quality restaurant on site (one of the best in this part of Mass) and the night we were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Furst the good. We made a reservation at the very last minute and they were kind enough to let our large dog stay there. The grounds are really pretty with mountains in the background and flowers in bloom. Someone reviewed them and said something about the path to the house being overgrown and someone else said no one was available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mamaroneck, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have to agree with the other posters who had a less than stellar experience at the Thornewood. The Inn is tired, musty, and depressing. We stayed here for two nights in July 2012 and found it to be incredibly lacking. We arrived on a Friday evening and weren't greeted. Had to hunt around to find someone to check us in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rexford, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I took a trip to Great Barrington with my husband for our wedding anniversary and the area was nice. Many things to do including snowboarding at Ski Butternut. We stayed in the lady troy room and it had a unique and cozy feel to it. The four post bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The lady and gentleman... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pleasantville, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

we just got back from a two night stay at Thornewood Inn. This was our second time there. We love it there. My room was enormous myself and two teenage kids were very comfortable in the room. We ate dinner at the Thornewood Inn and it was delicious and my son had home made pasta that was great while i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albany, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our first time staying in the Great Barrington area, although we live not far away in Albany. As it was a few days before Xmas, and getting ready to snow, the Inn was nearly empty. We received prompt, helpful, courteous service. We found the room quaint and comfortable, with an efficient gas fireplace to keep things warm--and romantic--for our two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question