We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Hotel

625 Betty Spring Road, Gardner, MA 01440
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Colonial Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    41
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
42
41
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
attleboro, ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Colonial to attend a wedding in Westminster. The bride, groom, and most family members stayed here, too . We had a room with two double beds located on the first floor. The outside of the hotel is very attractive as is the lobby area. The room is very ordinary. Old carpet, a lot of empty wall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good hotel,for events and is best hotel within 40 miles in any direction. Friday night buffet is a must: reasonably priced and very good selection. Have been here a.number of times and eating solo at the bar or with others in the dining room is a good option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nikki149, General Manager at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review! It is helpful for future travelers to hear about enjoyable experiences, especially from repeat customers. We hope you'll join us again soon! More 

Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I first walked in I thought the lobby was dated and was afraid the room would be the same way. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The bathrooms are tiny but spotless. I was a little disappointed that when I called down to the front desk to ask if they had a shower cap, I was told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nikki149, General Manager at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay. Your feedback is appreciated. We hope that overall you were pleased with your experience and that you will stay with us again in the future if the opportunity arises. More 

Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Room was clean and spacious. Staff was very nice. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Complementary breakfast was expansive and delicious. Would recommend this place to anyone who is staying in that area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nikki149, General Manager at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is appreciated and is helpful for future guests to hear what a wonderful stay you had! We hope that you will stay with us again if you have the opportunity to in the future. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I've gone to the Colonial for years. Great restaurant, rooms and pool. I've attended many weddings here, too, indoor and out and even had my own wedding here. Great wedding planner and package. I wasn't disappointed and our guests had a blast. A gem in Gardner for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
nikki149, General Manager at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time with us! Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

My extended family and I chose to stay at the Colonial Hotel following an off site wedding. The hotel was well kept and our standard room suited our needs. It did however have a strong musty or stale smell that was a bit off putting upon entering. Despite our adequate room, our overall experience was a bit sour. When we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nikki149, General Manager at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback as it is always helpful to hear back from our valued customers. I sincerely apologize if you felt rushed out of the lobby area. Although it is typically an area for our guests to gather during check in, it is also the location where our wedding parties have an opportunity to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gardner hotels

Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Stay at the Colonial Hotel due to over crowding at my sister in laws for a function. Room was nice but the room had a funny odor, bed was comfortable. We had breakfast which was very good, service was great. Only other thing I was not to crazy about is the if you use a debt card they hold your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nikki149, General Manager at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate the feedback, and will certainly take it into consideration when setting policies in the future. We do place a security hold on all cards when you check in just in case there is any damage to the room. Obviously on a standard credit card that is not something... More 

massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the colonial on a whim with my family. We stayed in a suite which was most accommodating. Staff was great and the food in the restaurant was very good. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast. We will absolutely be back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
nikki149, General Manager at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let other potential travelers know about your experience. More 

Sayreville, NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

I stayed here for a family wedding, so I will divide this review into different sections. Sleeping Room - Good: The bed was very comfortable, and high. I'm 5'11" and I had to go onto my toes to sit on the bed. - Bad: The bathroom door didn't line up with the frame; With the exception of the bed, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nikki149, General Manager at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Reviews like yours are very helpful to our guests as well as our management staff. Being so specific enables us to make the necessary adjustments to better our facility for future guests. Sincerely, Nikki Moorshead General Manger More 

Gardner, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I wanted to stay at the colonial for my wedding!! Booked two days. Wanted to stay the night before my wedding and the night of the wedding. We wanted to take a few pictures with our own personal camera. And we're told we would have to pay an additional 200.00 to take pictures. How sad that we were told we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
nikki149, General Manager at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately we host a multitude of weddings ourselves here at the Colonial Hotel, and we simply cannot have the staircase used for outside photography sessions unless they are scheduled through the sales office. While we understand that there are often other couples staying on property, we have to accommodate the couples that have their receptions... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardner
3.9 mi away
Wachusett Village Inn
Wachusett Village Inn
#1 of 2 in Westminster
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
9.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Leominster
17.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Devens Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardner
Super 8 Gardner
#1 of 2 in Gardner
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
5.1 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Fitchburg
3.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Westminster
Rodeway Inn Westminster
#2 of 2 in Westminster
3.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay