We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Hotel deals
Hotel website
8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Special Offer
Rates from $99!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    175
    130
    73
    50
See reviews for
189
67
25
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (551)
  • Mar-May only
    (163)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (159)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
See the most recent reviews
Baton Rouge, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The rooms are not very sound proof, and there was a youth conference there at the time I stayed - so sleep was hard to come by for the first night. The staff handled the noise complaints well, and they did not recur on night 2.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry for the additional noise created by other guests. Happy to hear you had no issue the latter part of your stay. Hope to see you return soon. More 

Glendive, Montana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed last week of April 2014. Interior and exterior construction taking place which was annoying, smelly and inconvenient. Was on 4th floor where there was an ice machine but no vending machine(s). Had to go to 9th floor, as advised by hotel staff, to use vending machines. Pop machine wouldn't take dollar bills. Had to attend meetings while construction work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the post and I am happy to report that the multi million dollar renovation has been completed. I appreciate your patience and understanding as we completed the enhancements. Hope to see you return again soon. More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Needed a place to stay after a long road trip. Got a good deal online and ended up here. It was a comfortable room. The best part were the free cookies downstairs at the desk. I would stay here again if I am in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the post and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.... More 

San Jose, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel does need a little work but overall, we were very happy with the service. We checked in late and requested a room away from the elevator as other reviewers suggested. They only had one right at the elevator so we got upgraded to a suite. Very happy with the accommodations. The room was big, clean and comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review and please keep us in mind should your travels bring you back our way... More 

Valley Stream, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great service, clean room - yummy cookies. Plenty of towels already in the room. Billing mistake corrected immediately and with a smile. Forgotten item quickly retrieved. We had a suite which was very roomy and nicely arranged. Would stay here again since they give a nice AARP room discount.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you return again soon! More 

Richmond VA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The folks at the front desk were great. Very attentive. The room was a bit small & the bathroom had a slight mildew smell. There are no vent fans in the bathroom which may contribute. I made the front desk aware when we left & they said they'd jump right on it.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and notes about the staff. Hope to see you return. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed for two nights on business and agree with other reviews, this property needs work. The positives of my stay was the staff. The night manager who checked me in (I regret that I don't remember his name) provided great customer service! The employees of the hotel were all very nice, so no complaints there. The valet personal were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff and will certainly review the shortcomings with our housekeeping department as all of these items should have been taken care of before the room was assigned. I do apologize and hope to see you return. More 

New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I'm a high level Hilton Honors customer. I expect Hilton properties to be well maintained and well appointed. Sadly, this Double Tree not only does not meet Hilton standards, but is in urgent need for a total gutting. This hotel is a disgrace to the Hilton name. For starters, the room sofa was well worn and dirty. The bathroom fixtures... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

I do apologize for all of the issues you encountered during your recent stay as that is certainly not the standard we wish to present to our guests. I have shared your review with various members of our team and hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust. We do value your business. More 

Bethlehem, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great hotel and very convenient to the Metro and easy trip to DC -- hotel front staff was excellent and extremely helpful. Clean rooms and easy parking also. A real gem in the Hilton chain and priced right.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice post and hope to see you return soon should your travels take you back our way! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel was very nice, I stayed with my husband for one night for a banquet. We were greeted very nicely at the front desk, the rooms are a pretty big and they also gave us complimentary cookies as an added bonus to our stay. We allso had express check out-they slid the bill under the door and I was... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and hope to see you return. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question